We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge
Ranked #9 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Beautiful location on riverside in forested rural area of Laos, in genuine ecolodge. Cabins basic but comfortable, reasonable price. The floating restaurant was perfect spot to relax and watch the river go by. Good breakfast included; evening meals delicious with huge varied menu. Staff friendly and helpful, and cats entertaining. Barnaby was an excellent host who took us on trips to a Hmong village, and to the village on opposite bank, where there was a lively local festival when we stayed there. Thank you Barnaby for a memorable stay, a highlight of our holiday.

Room Tip: Wifi available in the office only. Detached bungalows are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

We loved staying at the Rivertime Resort! We stayed in a private bungalow looking over the river and the price was super reasonable. Barnaby took such good care of us and was incredibly helpful! Normally it seems to be a quite & relaxing place, but we met some other young travelers staying there so we all went out to the local bar and had a blast! Just lovely! Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Luigi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Myself and a fellow volunteer stayed for one night at this resort and we really wish we could have stayed longer. We were welcomed by the manager Barnaby and shown to our guest houses which were spacious with very comfy beds. There are lots of different activities to do like tubing, kayaking and taking a dip in the pool, as well as other boat trips to places which can be organised if you just ask. We did the cookery class which was so much fun and great value - we cooked so much we had to share our food with 4 other guests.

We took the boat over to the neighbouring bank to see a beautiful Budhist temple. Then one of the ladies from the lodge restrurant, took us on a 15 minute walk to meet about 20 members of her family and cooked us food. It was such an experience, as it was a Saturday night we got to see lots of the locals enjoying the beer Laos and dancing in their houses - I had no idea they loved to dance so much!!

The next day we took a walk in the forest behind our lodge, I have never seen soo many butterflies - we saw over a dozen different species.

So to sum up our stay - the Rivertime Lodge is definately one to visit to relax and learn more about Lao culture, cooking and to meet the lovely local people, who were so welcoming :)

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We spent 3 nights at the rivertime and would have stayed much more if we had more time. The place is a little paradise in itself, perfect to chill out near the river while discovering a little bit more about Laos and it's culture ( half the staff are pure Laos and are happy to help you learn about their country, or even teach you how to cook local, they don t speak a lot of English but it just make the experience more fun, and Barnaby is never far if we need help). It s easy to take a bike / moto and discover the real Laos, it's beautiful landscapes, get lost in small villages and meet some locals. And at night, if you re in for quite a party, there s a famous karaoke bar around. you ll probably be the only western but, that s why you re in Laos no? so go take the mic and make us proud! Locals are very nice and welcoming! If you re too shy, the floating restaurant is also a very nice place to chill, with tasty meals. anyway, I strongly recommend this place and thank you again Barnaby!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraschram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 lovely restfull days in our lodge and on the floating restaurant. We had the the feeling to be almost part of laotian life. The place does need some work done, true, but as Barnaby stated, this is Laos. The grilled fish with vegetables was absolute perfect said Margot.
Hope to visit again Marianne

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
26.2 km away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#6 of 202 in Vientiane
518 reviews
26.1 km away
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Souphaphone Guesthouse
#15 of 202 in Vientiane
159 reviews
25.5 km away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#3 of 202 in Vientiane
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
26 km away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#26 of 97 in Vientiane
530 reviews
26.1 km away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge

Address: Ban Thadokkam, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: €8 - €16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a riverside ecolodge resort only 30 km outside of Vientiane which offers a true taste of rural Lao life but with most of the comforts of home. We have a floating restaurant on the river and offer a range of activities such as local village tours, tubing, cooking classes, massage, a sauna nearby, boat trips, fishing, free bicycles etc. We do our best to live in harmony with both the local people and the surrounding forest. We also donate $2 per guest night to local education and community projects. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivertime Resort And Ecolodge Hotel Vientiane
Rivertime Hotel And Ecolodge
Rivertime Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing