We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
147
167
42
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
167
42
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspirit housethe riveran aussiebreakfast is servedtuk tukdry seasongarden viewthe hotel was fully bookedcharming hotelfree bicyclesspent two nightsgordonmekongthailandspritbeeriverbank
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This boutique hotel has the rambling charm that I remember of French hotels in my childhood. Don't expect the polished gloss that you can find in 5 star chain hotels, but find instead a very charming hotel with a laid back atmosphere.
All the hotel rooms are individually decorated with a specific colour scheme. The furniture is light, with rotan screens and blinds and cast iron details. The beds were a little bit too hard for my liking. All rooms have airco and a fan, a minibar and an unlimited supply of mineral water.
The superior rooms have a view over the Mekong and its flood planes. They are at the street side, but traffic is very light so that is not really an issue. At the back is a garden with garden chairs, and it is amazing how silent it can be in the garden.
The road works that have been mentioned by other reviewers must have finished, because we did not see any trace of them.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the neighbouring 'House of Spirits' is very nice.
The hotel organised our taxis, which worked out very well.
Hotel staff was courteous and always available to give advice.
We used the hotel bikes to get around the city. The bikes are well maintained and have two locks and a basket. Most attractions are well within cycling distance, although cycling in the afternoon was very warm.
I regret that we couldn't stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: Every room seems nice. Choose a superior room if you want a view over the Mekong.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karoh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed a week here and really enjoyed it. The rooms are neat and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location is great. Not quite central - but a short walk to the main esplanade - and worth it to be right on the river. Our room had beautiful views.

The Spirit House next door served good food and the staff are also friendly and happy to practice their English with you. We only ate there once but that was because you could make a career out of trying out all the eateries in Vientiane.

Recommend it as a value-for-money base for exploring the city.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river and the street immediately below.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had room 2/01, a standard one. Including airco, fridge, coffee/thee facilities. Bathroom ok, but somewhat outdated. Our room was on the back of the hotel, no terrace but we had a view to the garden. Rooms at street side have Mekong view. Location of the hotel was good, only 5-10 minutes walk to the night market, some restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the Mekong have all day sun.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingemuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at BRMH during our stay in Vientiane, hotel is lovely with spacious rooms and really charming decor and furnishings, and very clean. Taxi was waiting for us at the airport, even though we were last out through taking a while getting visas, we thought they might have left but he was still waiting for us! No problem with taxi on way back either, arrived before the time we'd asked for.

Staff at reception really helpful, we arrived pretty early (10.30am-ish) so our room wasn't ready, but they said it would be about an hour and directed us to the bar to wait - and came to get us once it was ready which was under an hour later, was really impressed the effort they went to to get our room ready for us quickly, even though check-in wasn't until the afternoon. Staff were also happy to point out where various things were in Vientiane, and give advice on the best way to get around.

Only a couple of cons about this hotel (hence the very good rating rather than excellent)... firstly as other reviews have said, there are roadworks going on outside the hotel so it is rather dusty and we got woken up at 6.30am on our first morning by very loud drilling, although second morning was fine. I'm sure this will only be temporary though. Secondly it is a bit of a walk from the centre of town, and given how hot it gets (especially in the afternoon) it's not a very pleasant walk with very little shade - I would recommend getting a tuk tuk in the daytime!

All in all though would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again if we were ever back in Vientiane!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, river facing - I expect these rooms suffer most from the roadworks noise, but view of the river is lovely (and imagine would be even better in the wet season when the river is higher).
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just came back from one night stay in this nice and cosy place.
Room was clean nicely arranged with many little details for the pleasure of our eyes, overlooking the Mekong and Thailand on the opposite side.
Staff is friendly and helpful as well the manager/owner Gordon who is willing if you take two minutes or more of your time to discuss with him to give you many info about sleeping Vientiane who is not really anymore.
The Spiritual House, just near by is a great place, bit trendy for a meal as well a drink. they have a great happy hours with plenty of cocktails.
Internet is working fast as well plenty of TV channels.
Only little point to make it better is the breakfast, no buffet only a la carte and two choices included in your room rate to choose from their menu...
Our room was pink and it was just great!

Room Tip: Luang Prabang is great room if you like pink....
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews