We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
28
36
15
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
36
15
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge hotelmekong riverchinese owned hotelswimming poolnight markethotel is locatedtuk tukbreakfast buffet ismin walknoodlesexcellent hotelother guestsother hotelsspathailandconferenceairport
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Where do you start? It's MILES away from any where - you have to haggle with tuktuk drivers every night for them to take you back to the hotel and they want to charge you extra cos there's no pickup for them out there. It's designed to be a convention centre and it feels like it. There are no restaurants or anything to see within reasonable walking distance (other than a fancy French bistrot which sort of defeats the purpose of going to Laos. Staff are friendly and are helpful and the breakfast buffet is pretty awesome (though they tone everything down to suit old foreign tourists and new Chinese tourists). Rooms are as per usual for a big hotel - though the broken lock on the balcony door was a security issue. There was a wedding on the grounds which rendered sleeping almost impossible - thank god for the 12 am curfew. And then there was no water for 2 days which was rather annoying - first there was no water then there was HOT water but no cold water then there was just luke warm water - and no toilet flushing, no showers - you just filled up the bath tub with hot water and waited for it to cool down. Staff were apologetic and that was about it. There are better (and far cheaper and more convenient) places to stay.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pleasedtomeetyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landmark Mekong R, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear, pleasedtomeetyou
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, our sincerest apologies for having a bad experience during your stay with us.

We disappointed to read of your comment for the water problem you encountered. It is true that we did have an infrastructure breakdown and ended in a situation with guests being inconvenienced.

We would like to apologize again for the inconveniences you had to experience during your stay, would love to get a second chance to welcome you again and we make sure that you will get more convenient layout for you! Should you have any future enquiries, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly. We will be happy to assist you.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here whilst it was my girlfriends birthday and we couldn’t have picked a nicer hotel. On arrival the staff were so good and very professional. You don’t have to lift a finger as every door is opened for you and every bag is carried.

Our room was fantastic. So clean, modern and comfy. A great view of the pool, grounds and the river. The bed was one of the comfiest I’ve stayed in. Once we checked in we had a knock on the door and one of the workers provided us with a bouquet of flowers and a fruit bowl, and there was also a complimentary slice of cake in the fridge along with a note saying Happy Birthday on behalf of the hotel.

The spa, gym and pool facilities were amazing. If only it had been a bit warmer we would’ve spent more time in the pool.

Breakfast was also good. 5 different stations with a huge range of different foods - traditional Vietnamese, pastries, breads, eggs, cereals, fruit, salad, juices, the list goes on.

The free shuttle to and from the centre is fantastic. Always on time and really comfy vehicles. The times are quite spaced out but this makes time for an explore, food and evening drinks.

A great 5* hotel and at an affordable price, would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank CAS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landmark Mekong R, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear, CAS
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, we are so glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and was a memorable one.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to being able to welcome you again in the near future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

My family stayed in the hotel December 27 and 28. Overall the hotel was fine but on the second night a water pipe broke and there was no water available. So no flushing toilet, tap water or shower.
When we asked the front desk to be compensated for the USD150 per night we paid all we got was a free USD 10 taxi ride to the airport and a free can of beer Lao from the mini bar (USD 2).
I think the hotel should do more for guests when the basics can't be offered.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landmark Mekong R, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear, Kate F
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel. It is always our aim to ensure that we meet, if not exceed the expectations of our guests and that they had a pleasant stay.

We extremely regret to read your comment for the water problem you encountered. It is true that we did have an infrastructure breakdown and ended in a situation with guests being inconvenienced. For the negative impression reflected on this occasion as it is not our normal standard.

We are sorry that we did not handle your comment in the most appropriate manner and have learnt out of the mistake.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and we hope to have an opportunity to show ourselves in a better light on some other future occasion

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights here which to be honest is at least a night or even 2 nights too long in Vientiene. However the hotel is comfortable and well appointed. It is a huge place which is mostly empty. Their main income seems to be weddings. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We had a booking issue which had nothing to do with them but they went out of their way to help. The hotel itself is getting tired though and is a good 20 minute walk from the centre. Our river view room saw the smallest squint of the river which was disappointing. Breakfast was good but pretty much the same every day. They do have a shuttle service but it isnt often enough, such as 8am and then 11am. The pool and gym are stunning though.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landmark Mekong R, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear, Oamaruvian
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, we are glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable
Your feedback is appreciated and we will be sure to pass along your review to our staff, Please do let us know if you were to come back in Vientiane and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future with the nice of Mekong River view.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

I stayed three days in this beautiful hotel overlooking Mekong river with Thailand being across the river. Large rooms with terraces, large bathrooms and walk-in closets. The breakfast area has a terrace and a beautiful view on Mekong river. The breakfast offers a variety of foods including a good selection of breads and fruits. The receptionists were very friendly and kind, spoke good English and French and seemed to be very efficient. There are a few restaurants in the hotel - I dined in the Japanese restaurant and the food was fresh, tasty and very elegantly served. I haven't explored the other amenities - spa, gym, swimming pool, offered by the hotel too. Hotel provides free transportation from and to the airport.

There is a nice walking path along Mekong river for jogging or strolling and can be taken for the evening stroll to the Vientiane's Night market or for watching a sunset or a moonrise.

Room Tip: West looking rooms offer a beautiful view across river and amazing sunsets and moonrises.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kovacmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landmark Mekong R, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Mekong Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear kovacmil, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews