We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansara Hotel(Vientiane)
US$108
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avalon Hotel(Vientiane)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ali Backpackers(Vientiane)
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$35
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon B&B(Vientiane)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Backpackers Garden(Vientiane)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ali Hotel(Vientiane)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
4
25
22
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
25
22
9
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Maybe, as another reviewer wrote, this hotel caters more to a Chinese clientele (and, in fact, the hotel was full of those nationals), but for American standard, the hotel was 1 star, maximum 2, if you'd be gracious. Carpets were filthy, there were little bugs and insects in 3 walls + the restroom, curtains were dirty, old and smelly, the little sandals they leave in room stank, the bathroom seemed like it was never washed or sanitized, in other words, avoid, avoid, avoid. See pictures, they speak for themselves.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank RobertMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

It's an unexpected stay after my flight was interrupted and I was checking to Lane Xang Hotel. I wish I knew about this hotel services before I came to Vientiane but that unfortunate after I spent 10 days in a hotel close by. The services here is remarkable and the breakfast was just great. Room service, hotel maintenance service just know their jobs and are readily available within a seconds call.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Shequeri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This hotel with character would be very grand if it had a big makeover...... inside and out.
Many basic things are missing that we now expect in 3 or 4 star hotels.
Staff very laid back and breakfast was less than inviting.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

The choice of this hotel was from a visa run agency not mine. I actually arrived in Vientiane one day earlier and stayed in a much much better hotel, which was cheaper too.
So in short you will have to be a fool or a Chinese man to stay in this place for what they are charging.
Like i said in the title this was i am sure a good hotel and well located back in 1980.
It is a fairly large hotel, but it's maintenance is minimum and no refurbishing has been done in decades.
This hotel needs some TLC and room/ floors upgrades.
The rooms are well sized, but everything is outdated. Old carpets, old tv set with a terrible signal quality, old furniture's with minimum cleaning.
Bathroom is ok but try to take a shower without flooding it, good luck.
Beds are ok, but pillows, bed sheets, curtains should have been replaced like 12 years back....helloooo !!!
Food is so so. Not great, just passable.
Staff is ok, but one can tell they don't really take pride in what they do.
Having said that, that hotel would have been ok for 45$ a night. But at 60$, sorry this is a scam.
The main reason why i think the owner could not care less is that it is used by loads of Chinese's tourists and these guys don't care as this is much cleaner and fancier than their own homes.
I would suggest to go such hotel at the intercity down the road or then the fantastic S park design hotel further up town. Same prices and way way better.
Seriously avoid...too much money for what it is even if it located just opposite the Mekong.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank Zeflyingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

It's over 12 years since I first stayed at the Lane Xang Hotel in downtown Vientiane. It has had a bit of a makeover since then inside the rooms and the reception area was altered some time ago. The beds are comfortable and bathroom serviceable. At about USD49 per night, and being right in the downtown area not far from a wide selection of restaurants and entertainment this isn't the worst choice you could make. The breakfast spread used to be the very best in town but is not quite mediocre. Parking is available at the front and rear and there is an easy walk to Nam Phou, Mix Restaurant area and Champa Spa #1 is right next door.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank StephenInLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews