We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockroaches, toilet seat problems, OCD owner.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fancy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fancy Guest House
Ranked #16 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mebourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cockroaches, toilet seat problems, OCD owner.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I highly do not recommend staying at the fancy guesthouse. Staying there recently as part of tour group, we were subjected to switching off our power (and not switching it back on unless asked), obsessive compulsiveness for cleanliness i.e. wiping computer immediately after I have used it, despite this I still had cockroaches in my bathroom. Furthermore, fellow travelling companions had an incident where the toilet seat was removed by the owner and it was claimed broken by the guests when infact the owner had deliberatly removed it himself. He acted in a quite rude and confrontational manner infront of other guests. I WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS GUEST HOUSE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Fancy Guest House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    149
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
34
193
85
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Spot on! There to meet us at the bus, helped to organise our trips to The Killing Fields, S-21 and The Russian market all at a cheap price. Great restaurants nearby, including 'Friends'- our favourite restaurant out of all the ones we've visited in S.E. Asia.
Then helped to sort out a bus and accommodation in Siem Reap- all the staff really went above and beyond all expectations!

Room Tip: The rooms with no windows are absolutely fine- and much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I have been to Phnom Penh on three different occasions, and the Fancy Guest House is always where we choose to stay. Its very positive TripAdvisor reviews took us there the first time, and we were so delighted with everything about it that we have been back twice.
Its location could not be better. Yes, the street in front is not paved (I was told that there are plans to fix that in the near future.), but almost all the sights and lively bits of PP are within easy walking distance. The riverside (cafés, evening dance sessions) is a five-minute walk through a bustling, authentic, and totally photogenic market. The Royal Palace and the Silver Pagoda are a short walk south along the river; Wat Phnom 20 minutes walk in the other direction. Central Market is also close by. The only time we needed a tuktuk was for our visit to S21.
The rooms at the Fancy are comfortable and very clean, simply and tastefully decorated and lacking for nothing. We always choose one of the back rooms, as these are the quietest, especially when the neighbourhood disco is livening up. I understand that the balcony rooms are very pretty, but a good night's sleep is most important to me, so a lack of (real) windows is absolutely fine. Guests leaving their shoes downstairs also makes for a peaceful stay, especially with all the tile used in Cambodian establishments.
Above all, it is the warm welcome by Mr. Phannak and his colleagues that makes this a wonderful place to stay. Mr. Phannak remembers his former guests, answers his emails quickly, and is always interested in his guests' experiences and impressions. We needed no tours or drivers - we tend to do all our organising via Internet and through local travel agents - and although I think Fancy management might have been happier had we done it through them, they remained polite and attentive.
The Fancy is a great little Guesthouse for a great price. I hope we'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the back. The twins are spacious and quiet, so perfect for a light sleeper like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_vdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

After a few mishaps the first night in Phnom Penh I decided to change places and called the Fancy Guesthouse. Right from the beginning Phannak was nothing but courteous and friendly. I have been here a few days and a few more to come. The whole experience has been terrific and the location could not be better and the area and guesthouse are safe. This is a small family run guesthouse and they take great pride in their establishment. The rooms are clean and because I was not feeling well I asked for a quiet room which is exactly what I got. I also did not want to pay more than $15US (beyond my budget since I am traveling solo for a few months and he agreed to give me a room that he normally gets $20US for $15 so that I could have the peace and quiet I needed). I highly recommend the Fancy Guesthouse. And... as a little bit of trivia, the first week that the guesthouse was open Elton John stayed over, unbeknownst to Phannak. Finally, I have heard that tuk tuk drivers sometimes do not take you to the place you want to go to in Phnom Penh so.... if you really want to get to the Fancy Guesthouse call them and they will send a driver to the airport to pick you up. I have been very pleased and hope you will too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We are long time supporters of The Fancy Guest House - they made our stay last year so enjoyable. If you are reading this then you might be considering staying there. If you are a web page designer then Mr Phannak needs some help. His web page was built and is hosted by an Aussie guy who has fallen off the edge of the radar! Phannak can't get hold of him and being Aussies we thought we could find him but after 12 months of trying we can't find him (even his Facebook friends can't find him!) So if you know how to reclaim a website and fix up a minor email link issue from the form submission then you will be Mr Phannak's friend for life ;-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 km away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 km away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.1 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Europe Guest House
Europe Guest House
#2 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.6 km away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 km away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#3 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancy Guest House

Property: Fancy Guest House
Address: 169B, Chan Reachea (St. 15), Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fancy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancy Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing