We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for families but not really 'boutique'”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #17 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It's a nice place in a quiet street. We booked the deluxe double room where we stayed with our two teenage kids. The room was big enough and clean but a little dark, we paid 105 us dollar per night. The staff was really friendly and helpful.
There were quite a few cats on the property but we love cats and they did not bother us so we did not mind. I would value the hotel three stars, instead of four stars. It needs some maintenance. The staff deserves the fourth star!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marrjolein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for The Kabiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel needs a lot of maintenance. Floors were dirty, room had a weird smell, shower was moldy, towels were old. There were cats around then property.
Hotel is located in a residential area, so taxis/tuktuks are not allowed to drop you off by the lobby.
Customer service was good, breakfast was average.
Wifi didn't have good signal.
I don't recommend this hotel. It is expensive and not worth the money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management882, General Manager at The Kabiki, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ale,

Thanks you for taking the time to share your impressions on The Kabiki.

Indeed the Kabiki street is closed to traffic which allow us to get a peaceful and quiet environment. There is only 50 meters from the barrier to the Kabiki entrence and porters stand by to assist our customers with their luggage.

The cats around the property are Kabiki's cats and are vaccinated and dewormed.
They keep the Kabiki free of mouses and we thank them for it.

the breakfast is unlimited with 4 options : American/Healthy/Continental and Asian.
We use only fresh or home made products and Kayser bread.

Best
Estelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We were planning on stopping at the Kabiki for three nights but after arriving we checked out after one night and took the hit on paying a nights accommodation as it was pretty grotty.

We arrived at reception to find a wild cat sleeping on the reception table, the reception area smells of cat urine and we saw three other wide cat sleeping on the reception chairs - yuk

We were stopping in a double room. The bathroom was pretty dirty, apart from a new sink the rest looks like it had seen better days. There were no shower condiments just two large filled hard of shampoo and shower gel.

We had one towel so had to request more eventhough we had booked for three people

The air conditioning was quite poor.

The pool area is looking very worn, the water is a murky green colour

All the pool furniture is old and tatty.

The only good thing I have to say is we had some lunch before we left at it was pretty good.

How this is rated as one of the best boutique hotels in PP is beyond me. Basically it has huge potential and 5 years ago it was probably very good but need a lot of TLC to bring it up to scratch!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gmlatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management882, General Manager at The Kabiki, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gmlatic,

Thank you for your review and let me clarify some points for others guests :

-There is no wild cat at Kabiki, our cats are borne and raised in the garden and are well taking care of, vaccinated and dewormed.
They are actually very useful as they keep the garden and grounds free of mouses and rats.
-We do provide shampoo and shower gel in all our bathrooms. Toothbrush and toothpaste are provided on demands.
-The laundry was late to deliver our towels on your check in day, we apologize about that and provided the necessary towels as soon as the laundry delivered to us.
-The pool is green indeed but not because it is dirty but because the tiles are emerald green !!!

We are very sorry you didn't appreciate your stay with us and hope to be able to make it up to you whenever you pass by Phnom Penh.

Best
Estelle


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We have stayed in this hotel on about 4 occasions with my wife and son (now 6 years old). The location is near perfect and, being close to the Prime Minister's house, adds a level of security that it is difficult to find anywhere else. The walled gardens and swimming pool allow the children to roam quite freely without any fear from outside.

The hotel pool is available to anyone willing to pay 5$ and so it can get a little busier at the weekend with people wanting to share the facilities. I have also used the hotel facilities as a 'day guest' and must say that it is a great p[lace to have a swim when staying in hotel with no pool.

When we first stayed our son wanted to only play in the childrens' pool but he has now progressed to the larger pool and happily swims up and down and back and forth where we can see him from the comfort of the comfy loungers on the side.

In the times we have stayed there we have experienced problems with
a) tuk-tuk not knowing where the hotel was so we had trouble finding it the first time we stayed
b) no staff present at entrance barrier on arrival so we had to carry our bags from the barrier to the hotel desk
c) minor issues with the room

Despite these problems (and remember we have been there on several occassions) I would still go back and stay again and again if we could afford it as it certainly is not the cheapest hotel in Phnom Penh.

Despite Phnom Penh having lost some of its charm over the years and now being a little overrun by expensive cars this hotel provides a space that is great to retreat to that is quiet and safe..

We have stayed in the rooms on the ground floor 'outsde' (best value) as well as the ones near to the desk (overpriced) and the ones upstairs 'outside' (a little small and dark). The use of the gardens and pool still made the stay enjoyable even if we were not overly impressed with the room.

Would recommend to any family with children coming to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Downstairs in the 'outside' block
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is situated near the most interesting parts of Phnom Penh and close to some of the highlights, amongst which tthe royal palace. Very friendly staff and a reasonable breakfast for a very good price. Nice swimming pool and suitable for families.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Henk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 272 in Phnom Penh
2,508 reviews
0.6 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
1.1 km away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
206 reviews
2.0 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 272 in Phnom Penh
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: €32 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing