We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great healthy lunch (meat optional!) ”
Review of Backyard Cafe

Backyard Cafe
Ranked #10 of 1,747 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: Healthy
Description:>> The home of healthy food in Cambodia>> Backyard is a healthy flexitarian cafe serving vibrant, nutritious, fresh food and drinks for breakfast, lunch and dinner>> Many vegan, vegetarian, raw and gluten free options>> Specialising in nourishing bowls, smoothie bowls, raw desserts, organic coffee and cold-pressed juices>> We focus on locally sourced, organic ingredients and make as much as possible in-house>> We also sell wholefoods for you to take home and offer a range of juice cleanses>> Sister to VIBE Cafe, a 100% plant-based cafe in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap
Restaurant details
Description:>> The home of healthy food in Cambodia>> Backyard is a healthy flexitarian cafe serving vibrant, nutritious, fresh food and drinks for breakfast, lunch and dinner>> Many vegan, vegetarian, raw and gluten free options>> Specialising in nourishing bowls, smoothie bowls, raw desserts, organic coffee and cold-pressed juices>> We focus on locally sourced, organic ingredients and make as much as possible in-house>> We also sell wholefoods for you to take home and offer a range of juice cleanses>> Sister to VIBE Cafe, a 100% plant-based cafe in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Close to royal palace and waterfront

Westerners piece of food sanctuary Having eaten 3 weeks of Vietnamese and Cambodian food

Can add meat to any dish for your meat eating companions

Juices , walnut & raw choc brownie , cheesecakes , quinoa and loads roast veg salads

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Y437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Went there for a bfast couple of times - great food, service and staff. I loved both this and their sister cafe named Vibe.

The entire team of staff makes your eating experience great - of course matched with the ingredients and food preparation.

Although price is on the higher side - considering the good quality - I would encourage people to try this to promote healthy eating lifestyle.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank animesh_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

It is the perfect place if you want to skip the asian food and go for a healthy meal. You can choose between a lot of options, from healthy bolws for breakfast, salds, toasts, healthy deserts etc. It is a bit expensive, but the food and the coffes are so good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank miquelam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We dropped by for lunch on a Saturday.
The place is not far from the Royal Palace. The dinning room is nice, with plenty of natural light.
The menu is obviously inspired in western vegetarian dishes and the majority of the ingredients are local organic and seasonal.
I had the Earth bowl, with rice, lentils, salad, including rocket, beetroot, avocado and grilled almonds and a passion fruit fresh juice. My colleagues had the soup, veggie lasagna and salmon salad. Food was delicious, served in generous portions!
They use bamboo straws instead of plastic.
Highly recommended for all the vegans and vegetarians looking for healthy choices!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We dropped into the Backyard Cafe for an enjoyable summer lunch. The salad vegetarian bowl was delicious . Staff were also excellent. A great place to visit if u happen to be a vegetarian.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard Cafe also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Backyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing