We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Expedia.com
US$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Vio.com
US$68
View deal
Hotels.comUS$89
Agoda.comUS$69
TravelocityUS$89
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,148)
Filter reviews
3,148 results
Traveller rating
2,199
737
138
50
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,199
737
138
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an oasis royal palace the heart of the city killing fields pools cambodia pp driver museum phnom riverside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,192 - 2,197 of 3,148 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Having stayed in 2 beatiful boutique hotels in Saigon and Siem Reap so far, we were expecting alot from the pavilion, as it was the most expensive stay of our trip. After 10 minutes my husband declared it a 'dump'!
We had room 20 the jacuzzi room - not worth the extra money. The water was murky and the jets, pardon my phrase but I could have created more bubbles myself under water!!!
The pool guy cleaned it and repaired the jets the day before we left so we used it once.
The room was dingy. Admittedly, a nice big 4 poster bed and the room was spacious. But it isn't really a bungalow - it's a glass house made of glass walls, covered on the inside by dingy drab curtains which of course you have to keep closed all the time for privacy and so you don't fry!
I pulled back the curtain but it was too dusty and dirty so just left them be for the rest of our stay.
The bathroom was crawling with bugs and the floors/walls splattered with dead ones - husband immediately marched us out to get bug spray before he'd use the shower.
The bedsheets had holes in them and the towels were a grey white, they felt old.
However, on the huge plus side the food is fantastic - I'm not sure if the little bar/bistro is separate to the hotel management, it seemed to be. Nicest food of our holiday for sure. The homemade quiche and the salads are great, breakfast was lovely too. We thought the staff all around the hotel were really nice, especially on the security/gate.
We didn't mind the pool being a bit busy, good for people watching and a good chill out.
A disappointing end to our holiday in some ways, luckily we only wanted to use the room as a base so didn't spend that much time there anyway. If you want the same, then it's worth a try here, but if you want plush, this isn't it. I wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thepavilion, owner at PAVILION, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2010

As soon as I read this review earlier today, I called for a general meeting of the front desk, cleaners and maintenance staff which took place in the afternoon.

The thorough inspection of that room indeed reflected quite a few things that needed immediate improvement, those have been planned for this coming week. But it also led to an in-depth inspection of all the rooms. We have now a third full-time maintenance officer for our 21 rooms and hope this will improve - as we cannot afford that this would be the general perception of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We chose this hotel for two reasons. Onc, because the majority of reviews were so positive. And secondly, because the manager takes the time to read and respond to any negative comments. That's worth a lot in my book.

And what a brilliant decision it was. This hotel is fantastic. It's hidden away - you'd never find it unless you were really looking - but that just adds to the charm. As soon as you open the doorway you are presented with the most stunning pool. Surrounded by trees and foilage you'd really believe you were miles from cilivization, not in the middle of Phnom Penh. The pool in itself is reason enough to stay. But there is so much more. Beautiful rooms (we were in number 5), powerful hot showers, free internet access, very helpful and friendly staff, superb breakfasts, the list goes on. I would really, really recommend staying here at the Pavilion.

I know the manager will read this, so to you I say the following: Thank you! Your staff are a huge asset and I hope you will thank each and every one of them for their friendliness, helpfulness, and professionalism. Your hotel is an absolute delight and if we ever come back to Phnom Penh (which I hope we do) we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_The_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thepavilion, owner at PAVILION, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

This is indeed very kind for all of us, but unfortunately, the water pressure in the showers is not that strong... For policy reasons, we decided to use a gravity based solar water heating system which unfortunately limits the pressure.

Sincerely hope all the rest is true!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I have to second the views of the reviewer below who said book a private pool room - we did, and the pool was lovely - a very good size for a plunge pool and completely private. We were glad that we weren't using the main pool as while we were there it was always very full (although they do reserve the day-beds round the pool for guests staying at the hotel, rather than those who pay to use the pool for the day). The room was pleasant but rather mismatched - the enormous flat screen TV partly blocked the door to the bathroom and there was a pretty canopy on the bed which we had to remove in order to get any air from the fan when we slept. Breakfast (which we only had on our first day, we were leaving for the airport on the second, so didn't bother) was an interesting experience - fruit, bread and coffee supplied by surly staff and although all the other tables were having egg orders taken we were presented with one omlette between two. The location is good - you're a few streets away from the tuk tuk mayhem of Sisowath Quay, but it's still very easy to walk around town (and tuk tuks outside if you need one!) So, overall a good experience but not sure I'd recommend it but for the private pool.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tibblesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thepavilion, owner at PAVILION, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Trying my best to make this place a special one. Indeed, we have private pools and jacuzzi, very (too?) large TVs in some rooms and a jungle in the middle of the city. Since March, the access of outside visitors has been significantly tightened. I hope the "over crowded" problem is solved now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Very good value ($90 for a room with a plunge pool and breakfast included) and a very good location. The room was small though and pretty spare except for a hugely disproportionate TV. Breakfast was so-so. Guests worthy and slightly sneery,

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONUK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
thepavilion, owner at PAVILION, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2010

Usually the place has more "low key" guests than anything... would it be a matter of bad luck?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed for 3 nights mid-March in a pool room. First of all, the pool is huge and fabulous. You also have complete privacy, which is very nice. The main part of the hotel is absolutely lovely, with a nice shaded pools and day beds for guests (which can be reserved).
On the low side, the room was a bit run down, quite small and the bathroom spartan, with old utilities. One thing we found particularly unappealing was a HUGE flat screen TV taking up a lot of space in the room, and actually blocking the way into the bathroom. We did not understand the point of having this as a smaller TV would have fit much better in the room and have been nice enough.
If you are looking for a Tuk-Tuk while in Phnom Penh, do not hesitate to contact KEN, who is stationed in front of the hotel. We used his tuk tuk for 3 days, and he even organized a taxi to Kep for us, with a very good price. He is very knowledgeable, trustworthy and drives safely, which is not a given.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewels_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews