We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed a couple night at the Billabong hotel last week while in Phnom Penh.
The small hotel is very comfortable. Rooms are a little small, but comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was nice and refreshing after a hot day of looking around Phnom Penh. Food was pretty good, and poolside bar was great.
Location is in a little lane, but once you figure out where you are it is easy to walk almost anywhere. Central market is very close, riverfront only like a 10 min walk. If you don't want to walk hotel can arrange a tuk tuk or taxi to take you anywhere fairly cheap.
All and all a very relaxing and pleasant stay, would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    396
    108
    25
    13
See reviews for
187
281
200
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I picked this hotel out as it was towards the end of a long trip and thought we might need a bit of a pick-me-up after some basic homestays out in the country.

We had a room on the second floor, with a balcony, which was great. I wouldn't pick a ground floor as the hotel is bigger than it looks in the pics, and the pool area can get noisy and busy from early on.

Breakfast was pretty basic, a choice of eggs in different ways, but adequate and well-cooked.

We brought our mosquito nets, PP seemed to be home to some of the hungriest insects on our trip!

Room and pool really clean, the shower was one of those 'monsoon rain' types, and the water pressure just great, never went cold whatever time we got a shower.

Overall, a good place to stay.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady-Bettina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in the one of the Superior Rooms on the 2nd floor and had a balcony with nice view of the pool. The room was spacious and clean the only minor issue was the bed was a bit too firm. Good facilities in the room including a number combination safe. Staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Breakfast was juice, a choice of eggs, toast, tea or coffee cooked to order. The pool area was a great place to relax and sunbath as a break from exploring the city. Good location in the heart of the buzy city but supprisingly quite once inside the walls of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Amazing value for money, we paid $32 per night for bed and breakfast. Pool was great to have and always clean. Our room was more than adequate. The bathroom has the shower , toilet and sink all in one cubical but this happens alot in S.E. Asia. We found the Billabong to be well located for our needs.
Breakfast was lovely by the pool and outdoor space has a a cool relaxed feeling. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

When we first arrived we learned that we got an upgraded room for no extra charge. The second part was that breakfast was served the whole day. We then got a big room with a wonderful balcony overlooking the warm pool.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, me and my mom aren't the best planners (mostly because we don't wan't to be this trip) so the day before we wanted to depart to Ho Chi Minh we talked to the hotel who fixed tickets for us by calling different buscompanys (it was almost totally full) and then, free of charge, went to pick the tickets up. The only complaint would be that they don't have any real covers (we froze if we had the airconditioning on and was hot when we didn't) and that the beds were hard.

One more plus for me is the wonderful geckos that comes out by night by the pool and the cheap drinks at the hotel (food you might want to eat somewhere else because of the price). 5/5!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.0 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.3 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#40 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 km away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.8 km away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hotel & Hostel

Property: Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hotel & Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst landscaped gardens, Billabong Hotel is located in Phnom Penh, a 5-minute drive from the Royal Palace and National Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi and a freeform salt-water outdoor pool.Air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a cable/satellite TV, minibar and personal safe. En suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and hot water showers.The tour desk can arrange day trips to attractions in and around Phnom Penh. The hotel also provides laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel's restaurant serves a selection of Asian and Western dishes. Refreshing cocktails are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billabong Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing