We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 QS beds (family room). Neat. Good location”
Review of Pillar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pillar Hotel
Ranked #237 of 333 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

This family of four enjoyed our stayed at the Pillar Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and the complementary breakfast was lovely (eggs on toast ). It's also in a good location. Good value for money. Like most of the budget accommodations we have been staying at throughout Asia, the room was dated, but the bottom line is, the shower was nice and hot, the sheets and towels were clean, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was nice too! I think some people need to re-calibrate their expectations when travelling to countries such as Cambodia, that have little to no infrastructure.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank rtwfof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for this great review it mean a lot to us, we are trying to keep it up the work for our customers satisfied. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

I travelled to Phnom Penh several times in the past and lived in Hotel Casa and Lance Court. This pillar hotel was the worst I have ever had because of the following points:

1/ I was given a room next to the corridor and everyone passing by my room could see me through the glasses. Curtain was available but you cannot cover the glass door when you are out.
2/ Hot water was not available for showers. I have repeatedly requested staff to take care of but I was told in the next day that because I was not there in the morning! It came to a complete nonsense to me because I was never told that I needed to be present and, more importantly, the room key was left at the reception counter for their access of inspection.
3/ Water pipe burst in the early morning hours and I was forced to take showers in another room. The male staff member has difficulty to understand my issues and only came when I forced him to come upstairs.
4/ No refill of body soap and shampoo unless you requested.
5/ Staff members did not communicate internally at all - I requested staff in the afternoon shift to help book a taxi next morning. However in the next morning, no one knew if a taxi was booked until the taxi driver arrived before I finished my breakfast.
6/ The English fluency of staff was poor. I barely could communicate with them. While I understand you cannot expect too high in Phnom Penh, I did not assume staff at the reception counter could not understand what a postcard means.
7/ My question of whether or not I could have sandwich as breakfast was simply ignored.
8/ The lift was not available but luckily enough I backpacked so it wasn't really a problem to me. However, the stairs wasn't even but in steep slope.
9/ Air conditioner was placed next to my bed so the room temperature was not even - severe coldness when you slept but you will feel hot if the air-con was not turned on.
10/ The spa service listed in the description did not exist at all.

Room Tip: Make sure you requested a room with real window and door.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for your review, I am sorry for your inconvenience for the time that you had stay with us, I am truly sorry from my heart to make your trip in Cambodia so uncomfortable. We are going to improve everything according to your review for us for the better for our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last couple years and it is usually a good place to stay. The $40 rooms comes with a nice view of the river, airport transfers, free breakfast ,and a daily massage. Rooms are modern and clean. Staff very friendly. Close to all the bars and restaurants. On 1 of my visits i did manage to "lose" a $100 bill i had tucked away in my luggage tho. My own fault for not using the safe box room. Book this place via email or telephone.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, we hope to make you more comfortable the next trip you going to visit Cambodia again. For the lose of money we are so regrading to know that you had that issue if we had know about that before you left for sure we will find the solution for you no matter what it take. Thank you so much for your understanding again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Yesterday I stayed in The Pillar as my previous hotel couldn't host me for another night anymore. I choose this hotel for the convenient location as it was in walking distance to my bus early the next morning.
The staff is very friendly and the room is spacious and very clean. It has tv, a stocked fridge and an en-suite bathroom with seperated showercabin. Unfortunately the airconditioning was pointing towards the bed which caused some cold, soar backmuscles the next morning. The room is quiet and Wifi is strong.
Breakfast is included for one person and the girl was so friendly she made me a sandwich to-go the next morning. Also included in the roomprice ($40) is a massage. However, since I didn't need one I feel it would be reasonable when the roomprice would be reduced, but that is not their policy.
The hotel is located at the river and has many bars, restaurants, shops and the nightmarket very close by. Next door is Limoncello restaurant where you can get the best Italian food (see my review).
Overall I found the hotel and everything of good quality and I would definitely rate it higher when the price would be more in line. Before this hotel I stayed in another hotel where I paid $25 a night and that one even has a swimmingpool (see review).

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Paulus_de_Kalebouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, it mean a lot to us. We will try to provide the better service for our customers. Again thank you so much from our heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

i tried to book 2 times at this hotel / guesthouse as its really close to the places i need to visit

both times really poor customer service , 1st time i gave up and 2nd time i got as far as viewing the room then had so much trouble booking the nights i needed i again gave up

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Angkoriana516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are sorry to know you had trouble with booking, right now we are improving on very part of our system for the better service to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 km away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#36 of 272 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#105 of 272 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
0.1 km away
De Art Hotel
De Art Hotel
#24 of 333 in Phnom Penh
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lucky Ro Hotel
Lucky Ro Hotel
#136 of 333 in Phnom Penh
26 reviews
0.0 km away
One Stop Hostel
One Stop Hostel
#9 of 246 in Phnom Penh
227 reviews
0.0 km away
Sundance Riverside Hotel
Sundance Riverside Hotel
#51 of 333 in Phnom Penh
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillar Hotel

Address: No. 87, Sisovath Blvd, Phnom Penh 85523, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: €22 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pillar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PILLAR part of Hotels by Chhaisour(C) shows exquisite tastes in the interior as directed by the owner, inspired by internationally recognized interior designs. All hotels offer a perfect balance of style elements combined with modern amenities. The hotels are inspired by the Asian and European architectural treasures of 'The Strand Hotel' of Yangon, 'The Raffles Grand d'Angkor Cambodia" & the 'Oriental Hotel' of Bangkok while still maintaining their originality. The Hotels owner recognizes the needs of the 21st century business traveler & offers free wi-fi, and an excellent 24 Hr concierge service in all Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pillar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing