We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Pillar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pillar Hotel
Ranked #239 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last couple years and it is usually a good place to stay. The $40 rooms comes with a nice view of the river, airport transfers, free breakfast ,and a daily massage. Rooms are modern and clean. Staff very friendly. Close to all the bars and restaurants. On 1 of my visits i did manage to "lose" a $100 bill i had tucked away in my luggage tho. My own fault for not using the safe box room. Book this place via email or telephone.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, we hope to make you more comfortable the next trip you going to visit Cambodia again. For the lose of money we are so regrading to know that you had that issue if we had know about that before you left for sure we will find the solution for you no matter what it take. Thank you so much for your understanding again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Yesterday I stayed in The Pillar as my previous hotel couldn't host me for another night anymore. I choose this hotel for the convenient location as it was in walking distance to my bus early the next morning.
The staff is very friendly and the room is spacious and very clean. It has tv, a stocked fridge and an en-suite bathroom with seperated showercabin. Unfortunately the airconditioning was pointing towards the bed which caused some cold, soar backmuscles the next morning. The room is quiet and Wifi is strong.
Breakfast is included for one person and the girl was so friendly she made me a sandwich to-go the next morning. Also included in the roomprice ($40) is a massage. However, since I didn't need one I feel it would be reasonable when the roomprice would be reduced, but that is not their policy.
The hotel is located at the river and has many bars, restaurants, shops and the nightmarket very close by. Next door is Limoncello restaurant where you can get the best Italian food (see my review).
Overall I found the hotel and everything of good quality and I would definitely rate it higher when the price would be more in line. Before this hotel I stayed in another hotel where I paid $25 a night and that one even has a swimmingpool (see review).

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Paulus_de_Kalebouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for your great review, it mean a lot to us. We will try to provide the better service for our customers. Again thank you so much from our heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

i tried to book 2 times at this hotel / guesthouse as its really close to the places i need to visit

both times really poor customer service , 1st time i gave up and 2nd time i got as far as viewing the room then had so much trouble booking the nights i needed i again gave up

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Angkoriana516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borath P, Owner at Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are sorry to know you had trouble with booking, right now we are improving on very part of our system for the better service to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

I stayed here for a five nights, and paid $25 a night - I was told after i had checked in that the room was worth $45. Actually the room was fantastic, big, clean, with balcony, TV, fridge, kettle etc.
I stayed in two rooms - cause i checked out then went back when i couldn't get a bus that day. The 4th floor has a great view of the river, the 1st floor doesn't! It looks out at the building opposite which is a nice coffee shop!

The food served is nice - but limited - less than is on the menu, so basically sandwiches.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view - but i think even 2nd floor would be ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aliensorcerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

Didnt realise it changed owners. Was looking forward to its breakfast there. To my dissappointment it was a failure. "Expedia.com.au"stuffed up my booking! After it guaranteed my paid booking and no need to contact them to confirmed paid booking. On arrival they had one room paid for according to expedia.com.au.Still waiting for its response.
This is not for familys and be warned that the hotwater is bouling hot. But was warned from the reviews. Free Breakfast is now downed graded to a samdwhich roll. The Security Guard although minimal english is a mature and reasponsible man and cares for your welfare. Especially warning you of bad tuk tuk drivers trying to scam more money of foreigners that are friendly "Mr Sar" you've been made. You have been warned about this guy outside the Pillar Hotel. Generally my focus is all about the staff and there hospitally. They make up the bad points of this hotel. Just remember as I have always mentioned. English is not their first language and they do try, so be patient. The hotels location is all about bars etc and so near to the bus a ferry terminal which is across the road.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank BrudaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.2 km away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 276 in Phnom Penh
894 reviews
1.8 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 276 in Phnom Penh
2,588 reviews
1.3 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 276 in Phnom Penh
375 reviews
1.2 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 276 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
0.9 km away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 276 in Phnom Penh
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillar Hotel

Address: No. 87, Sisovath Blvd, Phnom Penh 85523, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: €24 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pillar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PILLAR part of Hotels by Chhaisour(C) shows exquisite tastes in the interior as directed by the owner, inspired by internationally recognized interior designs. All hotels offer a perfect balance of style elements combined with modern amenities. The hotels are inspired by the Asian and European architectural treasures of 'The Strand Hotel' of Yangon, 'The Raffles Grand d'Angkor Cambodia" & the 'Oriental Hotel' of Bangkok while still maintaining their originality. The Hotels owner recognizes the needs of the 21st century business traveler & offers free wi-fi, and an excellent 24 Hr concierge service in all Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pillar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing