We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love staying at Mithona - keep going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor Mithona Guesthouse
Ranked #202 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2016

we have stayed at Mithona heaps of times & have never had any dramas. in fact we feel very safe & comfortable in this guesthouse. the staff are efficient, friendly & would do anything to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable & streamlined. we always feel welcome on arrival & departure. rooms are clean with good tv coverage both in the room & downstairs in the restaurant. the tuk tuk driver, Mr pha is courteous & polite with excellent tuk tuk driving knowledge. look forward to returning to Mithona 2017.

Room Tip: i hav had a room on the balcony, & also a room away from the balcony, all provide access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank blueocean247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I live in Cambodia since May. Whilst I wouldn't dare to live in Phnom Penh, I like to go there pretty often to meet friends and hang out. The city doesn't lack budget accommodations, but it can be tough to find one which is not in an overcrowded backpacker street - i.e. st 172 - nor too far away from the center. To me Mithona has the perfect location, which comes together with a very friendly staff.
Just one tip: if you go there, ask not to sleep in any room at the ground floor - noisy ac, no windows, smelly toilet.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LorenzoLapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

If you need fancy, this isnt for you. However, the people at the desk are polite and helpful and location is pretty great. The rooms themselves are kind of basic and gross and we had some trouble at the bar with price quoted vs price charged. Overall I would recommend for people on a tight budget and for whom aesthetics aren't a big deal.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

i was stayed at this hotel on september , and the room its smelly and also no elevator or lift overthere, i must to climb in the stairs very narrow, but has a staff make us always comfort he is work at the reception but he is not cambodian, he is always talk with us and reccomendeed some place to our visit, helpfully and great. and this hotel has a restaurant sell the food very delicous. the location close from the river, and royal pallace so everything can by walk

Room Tip: ask for the receptionist from another country he is very friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beldazip94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

If you are backpacking or just simply cash strapped, this hotel might be great for you. The price is really low for a hotel which is located near the street alongside Mekong river which hosts some of the best restaurants in town. It is also quite near the Royal Palace and a Museum.

Do not however fall for the Photos in its website. The rooms are so cramped that almost all sides of a queen sized bed are already at the edges of the walls, leaving you only a very small space to walk through. The bed is also covered with a very thin sheet, that you could see through it.

There are also no windows in the room, and it gives that damp smell with some hint that someone has been smoking inside although the hotel prohibits smoking inside their rooms.

There is no lift. Instead, you would have to walk towards the back side of the hotel as if you are in some Mafia underworld film. Then you would have to go climb a narrow and steep staircase which would make you wonder if you really booked a hotel. The steps are so small, they are comparable to the steps in the temples of Angkor Wat.

Also the floor and room numbers in the hotel are quite misleading, i.e. you would have to climb at least three to five flights of stairs and walk through narrow corridors before reaching the room. This, according to the staff is the "low-level" room.

While the staff are quite friendly, they tend to overcharge other services like a "tuk-tuk" pick up, for which they charge you Five (5) USD for picking you up from the bus station which is less than a kilometer away from the hotel. Tuk-tuks usually charge you only 3 USD.

My girlfriend and I also tried their SPA but it felt like we were scammed. While my therapist was giving me a massage, my girlfriend's therapist merely focused her massage on one portion of her body. This actually started an argument between my therapist and my girlfriend's therapist, since my therapist was not at all happy about her colleague's job.

To be fair, not everything in the hotel was bad. They served good food at a very fair price, and they are very near some NGO shops which serve some of the tastiest food in the city.

They also offer you a city tour via "Tuk-tuk" for only 20 USD, which you can haggle to include other destinations which you might fancy.

Over-all, the hotel is not really that bad for the 20 USD which I paid for 20 days, I just wish they would stop posting photos of relaxing rooms which they unfortunately do not offer.

Room Tip: they do not offer low level rooms, and there is no lift, so if you are bringing a heavy bag with whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rojusandino Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 km away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 277 in Phnom Penh
895 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,588 reviews
0.4 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#85 of 277 in Phnom Penh
376 reviews
0.4 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
1.5 km away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Mithona Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Mithona Guesthouse

Address: #19 Ly Yoak Lay, corner street 172-13 | Chey Chumneah, Daun Pen, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: €9 - €15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Mithona Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Mithona Guest House now offers a range of simple, newly built and elegantly furnished well-appointed 37 rooms and suites, designed to bring affordable comfort and convenience to business and leisure visitors, The Angkor Mitona Guest House is located in the heart of Phnom Penh, The Capital city of kingdom of Cambodia, Approximately between 20 to 25 minutes drives from the Pochentong International Airport. For budget Travellers or those who want to enjoy the warm, Friendly hospitality that comes from staying in a Khmer bed and breakfast lodge-the Angkor Mithona is for you. The Guest House is perfect for budget-minded holiday makers seeking comfortable, clean and sage accommodation close to Phnom Penh city's attractions, activities and shops such as the Royal Palace, Wat Phnom, Central Market, Russian Market and the National Artefacts Museum. If you are looking for general touristy information inside Cambodia we suggest you to the most interesting place of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Mithona Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing