We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German food”
Review of Tell Restaurant

Tell Restaurant
Ranked #640 of 1,468 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, Austrian, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good German food”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you are looking for something a bit different then Tell is a good choice. It is a bit out of the way being hidden behind Le Royal hotel but it is worth finding as the food is sublime. Not really a place for vegetarians but for meat lovers it is a paradise, really great servings of meat, plus the home made bread is also very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good Pig Knuckles that are enough for two”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A little hard to find and a little expensive, but the food is worth it. The pig knuckles are excellent and there is plenty for two to share. I would also say to try the fondu - very good. Follow that with a few cold beers and a few shots and you are good to go.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stool-Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

a bit pricey but worth every penny. Typical German and Swiss food for the homesick expat.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank 662Zippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pathetic hospitality - arrogant owner”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The food was very good - service was less then average. We ordered a particular red wine and were served a different one with now explanation. When we questioned staff, only then did they admit that they ran out of the wine we ordered so they just swapped for something they had without telling us or giving us an chance to pick something else. When we refused to pay for the partially drunk wine suddenly the owner appeared even though when we asked to speak to him earlier we were told he was unavailable. Owner was VERY arrogant from the start and threatened to call tourist police straight away rather than try to work it out. We offered to split the difference and pay for one and still owner refused. We payed in the end for the whole lot. I would NOT recommend to anyone. Owner is the MOST arrogant, rude and self righteous restauranteur we have ever come across. Arrogance at it's best

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phnompenh
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The real authentic swiss, german, austrian Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We went in the Tell restaurant several times and very satisfied ! Of corse because of german / swiss food and a very good real german beer from munich. All this german Sausages, Sauerkraut, Mash-potatoes, Vienna-Schnitzel, Pork-nukles, swiss-raklett, cheese-fondue very delicious ! You will find also spaghetti, Lasagna and other international dishes including khmer Food. The rastaurant is big with private dining rooms upstairs and a large beergarden mit childrens-Playground and enought parking space. The service is very good and attentive ! Just go and try, if you are tired from all the rice-dishes. Prices are normal !

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredPhnompenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tell Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Tell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing