We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable 3 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #221 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

This is a solid 3 star hotel and the many 5 star reviews are merely reflective of getting more than what you pay for, since the prices are extremely reasonable.
We stayed in room #6.

Positives:
The location is great. Right on the riverside and within walking distance of the national museum and palace.
Friendly staff.
Nicely decorated rooms with big bathrooms.
Complimentary good quality WiFi.
Great a la carte breakfast.
We liked the ceiling fan.
Sound insulated rooms. Quiet in the evenings.

Negatives:
Both the lobby and the room smelled damp.
Rainfall shower head only meaning ladies have to wear a shower cap unless they want to get their hair wet every time they shower.
Entire bathroom flooded with about 1 inch of water because water didn't run and we had to request this to be fixed multiple times.
Standard rooms a bit claustrophobic.
Although the staff was really friendly they could do with some training.

If it's within the budget I highly recommend getting the larger rooms.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank platybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in this stylish hotel. The suite was very spacious, clean and tidy. Breakfast was ggod, too. The only thing we did not like, was the fact that there was _no one_ at the reception during night time. This happened 3 nights in a row during our stay at around midnight - 01 am. Sometimes in Cambodia there might be someone sleeping behind the front desk, but here the lobby was totally empty all of these nights when we came back to hotel. It could not possibly be just a coincidence that the person was just temporarily visiting the back room. - Not good in a nice hotel like this!

Room Tip: The suites face the busy road. Balconies offer a nice view but there is also noise from the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liiperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

While in Cambodia for Xmas with family and friends we stayed at the Quay Boutique Hotel.
Upon arrival the man behind the desk showed little interest in us arriving and made me feel like I was disturbing his peace.
I asked for a second key to room and was refused.
When we entered our room it was stifling hot and the aircon was slow to cool room. I also noticed there were several dimmer knobs for lights that had no knobs and they didn’t work again the man behind counter didn’t care.
The following day the staff all two of the were rude and very unhelpful, breakfast menu was one that you tick what you want like for breakfast in your room. This had been ticked in pencil and rubbed out several times making it hit or miss as to what you got. Then they try and tell you that’s what you ordered.
The staff member in the bar was never where he should be, he tells you its happy hour then charges full price, due to us not being mind readers. There was nothing to let you know what was happy hour drinks and what was not and the bartender didn’t tell us.
We made a discussion to change hotels at our cost!

All in all I would not recommend this establishment it was like Faulty Towers.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PhilJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

I normally avoid hotels described as boutique but this is an extremely stylish hotel and I loved my visit here.
Great location, fantastic room with balcony looking over the river.
Enormous bathroom. The breakfast was excellent also as were the staff.
The pillows didnt suit me but not enough for me to bother to ask for replacements.
Will most certainly return here when in P.P.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Quite a nice little hotel, all the staff were very helpful. They offer a airport shuttle service for $15, believe me - take it. The roads are crazy and $15 was a steal.

Breakfast was fine, especially considering it's included in the price. Wifi was ok, nothing amazing but could stream.

Lots of mosquitos, mainly in the bathroom, oddly. There was burner next to the bed, but I had nothing to light it with. Happily I already had spray.

The hotel is facing the waterfront, so there is traffic noise ALL night.

Bathroom area was great with a deep bath and excellent separate shower area. The towels smelt really nice.

Only real downside was being told I had taken a bottle of water from the mini bar, that I hadn't. Only $3 but kind of annoying.

Room Tip: If you want vibrant life ask for a room facing the river, if you want to try for quiet (don't kn...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lemonparty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 km away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#19 of 281 in Phnom Penh
656 reviews
0.7 km away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#39 of 281 in Phnom Penh
292 reviews
0.1 km away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#37 of 281 in Phnom Penh
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#59 of 281 in Phnom Penh
512 reviews
0.3 km away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
1.4 km away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Boutique Hotel

Address: 277 Sisowath Quay | Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#74 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: €51 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quay Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quay Boutique HotelChosen by Travel + Leisure Magazine as one of its favorite green hotels, this property in Phnom Penh is a fusion of tranquility and innovation. Located just steps away from the vibrant riverfront, the hotel is a short walk from the National Museum, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, and quaint streets dotted with charming cafes, designer shops, and art galleries. The hotel heats its water with solar power, recycles its waste water, and uses energy-efficient lighting. Each of the sixteen guestrooms feature minimalist design combined with modern amenities for a convenient and comfortable stay. The exquisite on-site Chow Restaurant offers Southeast Asian dishes to delight the palate. The Quay Boutique Hotel provides a tranquil and relaxing stay for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Quay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel Phnom Penh
Quay Phnom Penh
Quay Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing