We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Chinese food”

Phongmun Restaurant Sdn. Bhd
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Come try our delicious dim sums and Cantonese cuisines at one of the oldest authentic Chinese restaurants in Brunei since 1980s!
Reviewed 31 January 2015

More than decent Chinese food with views of Customs House waterfront. Interior is somewhat worn with less than current decor.

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank leesh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

If you are a tourist to brunei and staying somewhere in bsb then phongmum is a good place to go for Chinese meals and breakfast dim sum

It is regularly frequented by the owners of the shops in downtown

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulianF584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel L, Manager at Phongmun Restaurant Sdn. Bhd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2015

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your meal at Phongmun! It is our pleasure in serving you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Pros : decoration was superb. Environment top notch. Food was ok. Especially the radish cake. The best I've ever had. Cleanliness is good. Reasonable pricing.

Cons : can't think of any

Thank DarkBoyZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel L, Manager at Phongmun Restaurant Sdn. Bhd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2015

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your meal at Phongmun! It is our pleasure in serving you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had dined here a few months ago and as our American friends were visiting us, we thought it would be a good experience for them to try Dim Sum. A table reservation was placed before we arrived. Walking in about 8.30am, we were surprised to find that we were the second group there. After seating, we were told to order from a menu and the staff would bring us the ordered items after heating the food. That was kind of odd as we had expected the normal push cart with a great variety of Dim Sum display. We ordered a good number of steamed, baked and fried items. Their Dim Sum was not all that great unlike those found in other Chinese restaurants in Asia. Food was rather bland and the presentation of item was simply shoddy. Even the Hong Kong Chee Cheong Fun (we ordered 2 portions of the prawns) came literally covered in a very dark soya sauce! The Fried Carrot Cake was also bland. We had expected a tasty delicate morning meal but instead it turned out to be a farcical breakfast!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went to have dimsum on the weekend with the family just before the Hari Raya kicks in. The place is usually packed and the dimsum are really good. It is one of the oldest dimsum restaurant around in Brunei, aside from Lucky. This place hold many old memories where a lot of people used to (and currently still) held their wedding functions here. Overall the food is great as it taste like before and for a competitive price.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank coldmist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phongmun Restaurant Sdn. Bhd also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Gadong, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Phongmun Restaurant Sdn. Bhd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing