We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Sungkai”
Review of Pondok Sari Wangi

Pondok Sari Wangi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Went on Monday Sungkai dinner with my family. Plenty of food but average quality. Oysters looked a bit unhealthy. (Even tho was fresh.. pictures included)
This restaurant was very popular. It filled up very quickly in the evening.
The food tasted more Indonesian style than Malay. I love their ten Tarik. I was so looking forward for the crab but they were over- fried. The flesh was dry. The rest of the menu was average. $24/pp but week day, using Baiduri credit card get 30% off. It was a good deal

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 228alicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2018

Pondok Seri is a household name in the Brunei food scene and now has a few branches. The JP branch is the largest and got a lot more choices in the menu, literally hundred of choices of Indonesian, Malay and Western dishes. But bottom line this is a good place at reasonable rate for seafood lovers. Our favourites are the fried crab with salted eggs and ikan bakar seri wangi or ikan bakar sunda.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Azhar2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We ate here on business. We all had seafood mains with piles of Indonesian noodles or rice. the rise was liberally mixed with vegetables and chicken. it was very filling and tasted good. Seven of us cost about $120 - although the lack of any alcohol will always make bills seem cheap!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donaldf673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This review is for the Jerudong Park branch.

After reading so many unflattering reviews, I was in 2 minds whether to proceed with the dinner booking at the PSW JP. In the end, I decided to give the restaurant a chance. This branch serves fresh seafood i.e. fish from tanks. We were a big group approx. 15 people and I had pre-ordered all the dishes beforehand to avoid long waiting time. The highlight was the seabass in supreme soy sauce and the prawns in signature sauce. Service could be lapsed at times but overall, everyone enjoyed the dinner and it was a success.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Visited Jerudong branch during Ramadhan. There's 5 of us. Buffet not refill, food tastes too sweet, they might want to cater for Muslim customer only to suit their taste. Service was weird, need to raise the hand for quite long only the waiter/waitress will actually serve us, for customer side, they pretend didn't see us as actually, we did eye contact for few of them.

With the price to pay for, overall food and service were yuck.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ATTLWSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pondok Sari Wangi also viewed

Gadong, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Pondok Sari Wangi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing