We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dim Sum spot in HCMC, the BEST service I ever received in a Dim Sum restaurant”

Tien Phat Dim Sum Restaurant
Ranked #483 of 4,458 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Came here around 11 AM and place was not that busy.
Restaurant has a nice decor and tables are nicely placed.
All of the dim sum dishes come in smaller sizes compared to ones from the Bay Area.
This is a good thing because you can actually taste them. I found ones from US with too much skin on the dumplings and just too big. Food is definitely legit and authentic. Food in Vietnam is already awesome but they even do dimsum better.
Now, the service.
The best I have ever received in a Chinese restaurant.
Waitstaff were attentive, friendly, knowledgeable...and spoke English.
By the way, this is also one of the cleanest Chinese restaurant I've ever been to.
So, there you have it.
If you had enough pho, bahn mi, com tam, or other Vietnamese dishes and want to try something else, this is definitely worth a trip down to Chinatown HCMC.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank junp408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Born and bred Cantonese, this place is the place you will go to if you’re craving for some authentic dim sum! Superb quality, value for money, authentic environment, great service and not too far from District 1! Will definitely return with an empty stomach!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank winkyc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing food. Highly recommended if you love dim sum. Well worth the visit and effort to get there. Steamed buns and chicken feet awesome.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 802aaronp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The location of the restaurant is great ....at the heart of China town, this is my second visit to the place and still this restaurant amazes me with new taste from freshly made dumplings. Yes you have to ready that your food will be served late and to climb the stairs upto floor 3 because it gets busy on weekends for obvious reasons.
One of the other reason that I love the place is that the restaurant kept the core values of Chinese taste and traditions including the decor of the place with a reasonable pricing on the food items (very reasonable comparing to other Chinese restaurants)

Greatly recommended

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank vish195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived mid morning on a Sunday, perhaps the busiest time? We waited about 10 mins for a table after putting our names on the list. They gave us cold tea while we waited. We got a table on a narrow terrace on the 4th floor. Be prepared for a very busy, cramped and hectic environment. It took a while for the table to be cleaned from the previous diners and the food took about 15 mins to arrive. We ordered a variety of typical dim sum and each dish was executed extremely well. It was on par with London China town. The tea was free too. It seemed that noodle soups were a specialty there as most of the locals seemed to be having a noodle soup each and a few dim sum to share.

To summarise, I would say that the food is excellent and the prices are competitive but be prepared to wait for a table and for food. The tables are rammed close together and the environment is quite hectic. Although the staff were rushing around and took a while to serve us, they they were very polite and just seemed overwhelmed with the quantity of customers.

Opening times: 6am - 12.30pm (morning only!)

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank robynemmalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tien Phat Dim Sum Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Tien Phat Dim Sum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing