We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean ,quiet hotel in a busy area”
Review of Luan Vu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luan Vu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Great little hotel in the backpackers area.Room was clean,except one of our rooms kept attracting ants on the table tops.The other room didn't have that problem.Simple breakfast is provided.Restaurants and convenience stores just round the corner.Ben Thanh market?Saigon Square is walking distance away but crossing the roads are a problem ,as in every where in Saigon.
Drinking water not provided but can be bought cheaply at the reception.Lady at the reception speaks good English and other languages.Very helpful if you ask for help.May be a bit hard to find for a first timer as it's located down an alley.There were 5 of us ,so we took the airport transfer offered by them for USD 17 .It saved us a lot of hassle and driver led us to the doorstep.
Only downside,it has no lifts ..not suitable if you have heavy luggage or mobility problems.It's tough climbing up the 4th and 5th floors.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Choong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located in the backpackers area of Ho Chi Minh. It is so easy to join tour, get transport to another area of the country or even beyond the country.
The hotel is a little set back from the Main Street, the entrance is in a lane.
I stayed there on 5 April 2017. My room was a superior twin, the room was spacious, it made me quite comfortable. It had free wifi but in my room I stayed was not good. The wifi in the lobby was much better.
The staff was ok, they were not initiative but if you had question, they were helpful.
The breakfast was egg and toast, it was not a rich breakfast but it was ok. The only defect was I found a dead Cockroach in the toilet.
Jump to conclusion, it is worthy to stay there as the location is good, spacious room and the price is not high. My room was 22USD.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wingc633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

They organized an airport pick up and drop for $15 (you can get it cheaper if you shop around).

Rooms were lovely and had a colonial feel to it. While the place is located in the heart of backpackers land, that is full of places to eat (and it's great at night to walk around), it is slightly off the main street, so it is quiet.

Bathrooms are clean, hot water. Wifi works great.

The staff was very helpful, one of the girls sent us to eat Pho at a Phenomenal place close by (turned out it is one of the best places to try it in HCM).

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in this hotel.
The room was on the 2nd floor and had twin double beds. The bedroom was clean and tidy and the same could be said of the en-suite bathroom, which had a powerful hot shower at all times.
We arrived at 0600 having spent the previous night on the southbound train to HCMC. The reception staff were very accommodating, allowing us to deposit our heavy bags and to use a bathroom prior to an early departure on a previously organised tour.
The reception staff were pleasant and knowledgable (in particular they provided me with advice regarding the whereabouts of a good quality barber).
I would recommend this place as a good place to stay within the central backpacker district, which had a tariff equating to $12/pp per night, which was good value.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my two siblings. The room was big and the bathroom was clean. They have free wifi and they offer free breakfast. Location was nice too. Very near convenience stores, etc.

The staff is very friendly, they helped us booked our tour to the Cu Chi Tunnels and Mekong Delta. On our last day, they also helped us book a taxi to the airport and hugged us as we said our goodbyes.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,216 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#95 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
816 reviews
0.5 km away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#2 of 695 in Ho Chi Minh City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#8 of 695 in Ho Chi Minh City
169 reviews
0.5 km away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 695 in Ho Chi Minh City
744 reviews
0.4 km away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#5 of 695 in Ho Chi Minh City
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luan Vu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luan Vu Hotel

Address: 35/2 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 695 Speciality Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: €15 - €22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luan Vu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with LCD screen, cable TV, desk, coffee/tea maker in each room. Luan Vu hotel has room service daily, business center, wifi at lounge and room, airport transfer. With a full range of popular amenities and a friendly, caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Luan Vu hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luan Vu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing