We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see - step back in time”

The Independence Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fascinating government building, significant for its role in the Vietnam conflict, is preserved almost exactly as it was in 1966.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Must see - step back in time”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Historically this place is so significant and yet it's also a perfectly preserved slice of 1960s/70s kitsch. We loved visiting the palace not just to see the place where on 30th April 1975 the civil war effectively ended but also to visit a time capsule of 1960s diplomatic life. Loved the 'war bunker rooms' juxtaposed with the rooftop dance hall and gaming room! Large, airy and very cool.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,970
    3,030
    1,765
    278
    71
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go It Alone”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Don't go with a tour guide as you can do this in under an hour. Going at your own place will allow you to visit parts of the palace without anyone else around. That's the big benefit when touring the basement where you can see the creepy, abandoned tunnels.
There is one air conditioned room on the first floor which served as a welcome break.
Go see the helicopter on the rooftop helipad. It's neat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mufashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice touristy place”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was a palace with a lot of history; there is a war room and the grounds had been bombed during the war. This was included in our ground tour but it was something I could give or take. We had had enough of this sort of attraction by the time we visited, so maybe a little slanted.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Palace”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I think that they should keep this place a little bit cleaner, i was a bit disappointed at the Palace. Seen much nicer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jewels59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“been there many time since 1994”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nothing really has changed since I first went there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mlb0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Independence Palace also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Independence Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing