We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

From arrival to checkout - there was nothing that we could fault. Service from all staff was excellent, food amazing and very reasonably priced. Location is central. We tried the Tapas, buffet in Nineteen. room service and drinks at the rooftop bar Saigon Saigon. All really good. Breakfast was extensive and delicious. I even made time to try out the spa. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Judi07,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed our central location, culinary offerings, sumptuous breakfast and were pleased with our authentic hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 2,819 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

The caravelle is one of the top hotels in HCM. This doesn't say much, as the city is 20 years behind the rest of Asia when it comes to good hotels.
The lobby lovel is gorgeous, but the rooms are very dated. I reckon the last room renovation was at least 15 years ago.
The staff, however, are miles beyond anywhere else I have stayed in Vietnam. Extremely helpful and professional. Top notch.
the pool area is great, the gym is great.
The bar on the 7th floor ( I think ) has, as so often in Asia, live 'entertainment', and if you like golden oldies belted out at 180 decibels, this is the place for you. It's busy, since they have happy hour, though. There is another little bar tucked away somewhere else (can't remember where), which looks like a fake English club, with the usual leather armchairs and brass bits, but the two times I stuck my head in there there wasn't a soul. The staff seemd chocked when we walked in; I don't think anyone has been there since the late 1980's....we stuck to the lobby bar in the end which is great. Lethal cocktails!
A word of warning: the F&B is outrageously expensive. 700,000 Dong for breakfast; any other hotel in Asia would be embarrassed to charge that kind of money. Ditto room-service prices.
My advise? Make sure you book with brekkie included.
I have stayed in 5-6 hotels in HCM over the past two months and this is by far the best.

Room Tip: Don't take the executive rooms. They are identical to the normal ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nils w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear nils w,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your detailed review following your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear you appreciated our passionate and friendly colleagues and were pleased with our signature cocktails at Café de L’opera. Our iconic Saigon Saigon Bar locating on the rooftop floor of the Heritage Wing is a great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. According to our recent market survey of 5 star hotel breakfasts, we are moderately priced compared to our competitors in Saigon. It is also with great pleasure to share with you that we will be commencing a comprehensive room’s renovation project later this year, which will add a new flair into our iconic hotel, something to look forward on your next visit. Your endorsement on our positioning and authentic hospitality is not only a pleasure to receive, but also further motivates the whole team to keep providing outstanding service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We just returned from 3 nights at the Caravelle. Overall, I thought it was a good hotel in a good location. I did not think the service was superior -- it was good, but not great. I was surprised to find out that the breakfast served in the restaurant is only buffet; a la cart meals can be ordered to the room. Our room was very large and comfortable, but I did not think the hotel had much character. The roof top bar, on the other hand, had a lot of character and was one of the highlights of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Barak P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us. As a convenience for our guests to enjoy breakfast, we as you mentioned provide two options including the buffet at Nineteen Restaurant or a la carte in Café De L’Opera. We are glad to hear you were pleased with our spacious and comfortable room and appreciated our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar, one of the best entertainment venues in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Great hotel in a wonderful location at a great price. Service was excellent. The room was clean. I did not try the breakfast, but the restaurant looked well-kept. The hotel is in easy walking distance to major central attractions. Will definitely stay here again on future trips to HCMC.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank RunAround8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear RunAround8765,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear you appreciated our dining venue and enjoyed our authentic service and central location, which is close to many of Saigon’s key landmarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

If you find yourself here on a Sunday try the rooftop bar at the Caravelle and opt in doe the free flow package. Great music excellent staff with a very special mention to Anh who looked after us and made our stay memorable. Best Mojito in town !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NatRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear NatRobbo,
Thank you for your kind review on our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar. Our range of Mojito’s are one of our signature drinks and the Sunday’s free flow package is also a great option for our guests to experience a wide variety of our cocktails tailored made by our talented bartenders, definitely not to be missed. We are happy to hear when our colleagues went above and beyond to provide truly authentic hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,744 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,562 reviews
0.3 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,462 reviews
0.1 km away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,139 reviews
0.3 km away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#11 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: €102 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing