We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$181
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$114
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$79
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverland Yen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$121
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$139
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$152
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Huong Sen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$70
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,994)
Filter reviews
2,994 results
Traveller rating
1,776
924
216
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,776
924
216
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature loungeopera houserooftop barvietnam warpillow menuexcellent locationbreakfast buffetwithin walking distanceluxury hotelfantastic hotelthe ground floorcentral locationpark hyattan upgradenotre dame cathedralthe heart of the citypost office
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 2,994 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The caravelle is one of the top hotels in HCM. This doesn't say much, as the city is 20 years behind the rest of Asia when it comes to good hotels.
The lobby lovel is gorgeous, but the rooms are very dated. I reckon the last room renovation was at least 15 years ago.
The staff, however, are miles beyond anywhere else I have stayed in Vietnam. Extremely helpful and professional. Top notch.
the pool area is great, the gym is great.
The bar on the 7th floor ( I think ) has, as so often in Asia, live 'entertainment', and if you like golden oldies belted out at 180 decibels, this is the place for you. It's busy, since they have happy hour, though. There is another little bar tucked away somewhere else (can't remember where), which looks like a fake English club, with the usual leather armchairs and brass bits, but the two times I stuck my head in there there wasn't a soul. The staff seemd chocked when we walked in; I don't think anyone has been there since the late 1980's....we stuck to the lobby bar in the end which is great. Lethal cocktails!
A word of warning: the F&B is outrageously expensive. 700,000 Dong for breakfast; any other hotel in Asia would be embarrassed to charge that kind of money. Ditto room-service prices.
My advise? Make sure you book with brekkie included.
I have stayed in 5-6 hotels in HCM over the past two months and this is by far the best.

Room Tip: Don't take the executive rooms. They are identical to the normal ones.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nils w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear nils w,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your detailed review following your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear you appreciated our passionate and friendly colleagues and were pleased with our signature cocktails at Café de L’opera. Our iconic Saigon Saigon Bar locating on the rooftop floor of the Heritage Wing is a great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. According to our recent market survey of 5 star hotel breakfasts, we are moderately priced compared to our competitors in Saigon. It is also with great pleasure to share with you that we will be commencing a comprehensive room’s renovation project later this year, which will add a new flair into our iconic hotel, something to look forward on your next visit. Your endorsement on our positioning and authentic hospitality is not only a pleasure to receive, but also further motivates the whole team to keep providing outstanding service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We just returned from 3 nights at the Caravelle. Overall, I thought it was a good hotel in a good location. I did not think the service was superior -- it was good, but not great. I was surprised to find out that the breakfast served in the restaurant is only buffet; a la cart meals can be ordered to the room. Our room was very large and comfortable, but I did not think the hotel had much character. The roof top bar, on the other hand, had a lot of character and was one of the highlights of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Barak P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay with us. As a convenience for our guests to enjoy breakfast, we as you mentioned provide two options including the buffet at Nineteen Restaurant or a la carte in Café De L’Opera. We are glad to hear you were pleased with our spacious and comfortable room and appreciated our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar, one of the best entertainment venues in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Great hotel in a wonderful location at a great price. Service was excellent. The room was clean. I did not try the breakfast, but the restaurant looked well-kept. The hotel is in easy walking distance to major central attractions. Will definitely stay here again on future trips to HCMC.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank RunAround8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear RunAround8765,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear you appreciated our dining venue and enjoyed our authentic service and central location, which is close to many of Saigon’s key landmarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

If you find yourself here on a Sunday try the rooftop bar at the Caravelle and opt in doe the free flow package. Great music excellent staff with a very special mention to Anh who looked after us and made our stay memorable. Best Mojito in town !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NatRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravelleSaigon, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear NatRobbo,
Thank you for your kind review on our iconic rooftop Saigon Saigon Bar. Our range of Mojito’s are one of our signature drinks and the Sunday’s free flow package is also a great option for our guests to experience a wide variety of our cocktails tailored made by our talented bartenders, definitely not to be missed. We are happy to hear when our colleagues went above and beyond to provide truly authentic hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location next to Opera House and within walking distance of all main city sights.
Rooms were extremely clean with all extras including toiletries, hairdryer, iron and board. After late arrival our room had turned down beds, bedside lights on and slippers at the ready; such a welcoming touch.
Breakfast was fantastic! Usual buffet all very fresh, and with added extras such as fresh coconuts and honey in the honeycomb.
Staff are extremely helpful including making sure our lost suitcase was delivered straight away to the room.
Roof top bar is beautiful bonus. The view is tremendous and cocktails (especially during happy hour) are delicious. There are also lots of photos from the war as the war correspondents frequented here.
Would definitely stay again if in HCM.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sawales12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravelle S, General Manager at Caravelle Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Sawales12345,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive review and recognize a wide variety of positive aspects of our truly authentic hospitality. I was glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, comfortable room, sumptuous breakfast and were pleased with our little touches and the efforts our team went through to support you with the unfortunate luggage incident. Your endorsement on our attentive service, demonstrated by our friendly and helpful colleagues is not only a pleasure to receive, but also further motivates the whole team to keep providing outstanding experience. I trust you had an enjoyable time with a few sips of our signature cocktail, tailor made by our talented bartenders. Thank you for appreciating a piece of our history, Saigon Saigon Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From the Heart of Saigon,

Michael Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews