We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't like tours!”

Les Rives - Authentic River Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“I don't like tours!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Usually I prefer to do my own thing but was encouraged to do the Mekong Delta tour and it was brilliant. Showed us the real rural life of the mekong and no shopping stops or boring speeches that sound like they are doing for the 150th time. Our guide was informative on every aspect of life in Vietnam, the Mekong and rural life and answered all our questions in detail. It was expertly undertaken and I would reccommend totally.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,596
    392
    76
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well organized”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Been on a couple of trips with Saigon River Express. Well organized, good English and on time - above average for the region.

Helpful?
1 Thank ThenTryThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“No traffic or hard-sell shopping for a whole day... BLISS!!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We decided to spend a little more money and see the Cu Chi Tunnels with Saigon River Express instead of the standard bus tour and we were so glad we did. At the end of the day, we felt it was good value, given that we were treated so well. The biggest plus was that we had a whole day without any road traffic or hard-sell shopping and it was a nice retreat.
Everything about our day ran efficiently and comfortably. We were picked up at our hotel by a driver and guide, escorted on to the boat and served fresh fruit and drinks. The boat travels fast and it was a thrilling ride up the river. We loved having the cool wind in our hair and iced water on hand on a hot day. There are three different areas to sit, depending on your desire to feel the elements. (Bow - windy; stern - breezy; cabin - protected)
The tour of the tunnels was very informative. Our guide was knowledgable, friendly and passionate. Sure, the narrative borders on propaganda, but you have to admire and marvel at everything about the tunnels, regardless of the politics. The tour was very comprehensive and the pace was just right, neither boring nor rushed.
We were served a sit-down lunch by the river, which was fresh, delicious and plentiful. Drinks are available to buy. At lunch we got to know our fellow travellers: all interesting and polite professional types. It's a small group, so you can really connect with each other and the guide.
Overall, we felt that spending around $80pp on this day tour was good value if you can afford it. The mode of transport is unique and fun, the Cu Chi Tunnels are well-worth visiting, we were treated like VIPs all day, and it was a welcome break from the bustling roads and shops of Vietnam's cities.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brekatosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic guided tour to Cu Chi Tunnels on a speed boat with a lovely lunch”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was one of the many highlights on our trip to Vietnam in February 2012. The tour consisted of a light breakfast, hour-long trip up the river on a speedboat to the Cu Chi tunnels with a good English-speaking guide, followed by a gorgeous lunch on the trip home. The group was small - only 8 people, and overall it was an excellent experience. I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Saigon.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandraleaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Something a bit different. The boat picked us up, the staff were firendly and had refreshments on board. The trip down the river was absolutely beautiful, the scenery was spectacular and we were able to watch so much local water action. We stopped and had a beautiful lunch and then went on the see the tunnels. The tunnels themselves were a bit average however a fairly important part of the history if your interested. The explanation that was provided to us about the Vietnam war was in itself worth while - watch out, us Aussies were referred to as tunnel rats. Apparently the men were thinner than the Americans and were more able to climb into the tunnels. Heheheheh, propagander remains strong however it was interesting to later talk to other locals about the reasons for this....all extremely interesting, and spoken in hushed voices.

I absolutely reccommend the boat trip, far better than doing it all by bus. We had two children with us and they loved it also.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HedgesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Rives - Authentic River Experience also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives - Authentic River Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing