We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smiles make you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
Ranked #166 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 26 March 2010

From the moment we entered Mini Hotel...it was fab! They upgraded us because they had no standard room available!! Breakfast was great, rooms were quiet and comfortable. Just ask and you'll get what you need! Great walking location to most attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fakowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 428 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

We arrived by nighttrain at about 6 am and the staff had to tell us, that we can't check in before 1 pm. That was the only thing to complain about. Room was nice with luxury glas shower, there is an elevator and free internet. Breakfast is provided on the 10th floor. Only thing to think about - if you just stay 1 or 2 nights, you'll find other hotels without a shower cubicle that might cost less than a half - we would stay here again, but is was a little expensive though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butchfabienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Until we got home and realised we had items 'missing' (mobile phone and baseball hat) I would have recommended this hotel.

Unfortunately, depsite emailing the hotel to check lost and found and giving them a chance to respond, they have not emailed me back. We actually believe the items were stolen by housekeeping but I was willing to discuss things with the hotel but as they have not responded, I can only assume this happens a lot or they don't care. The funny thing is they emailed me asking me to write a review on tripadvisor about the hotel - but I don't think this is the kind of review they wanted! Unfortunately, until staff in Vietnam stop digging their heads in the sand about problems, tourist are going to continue to have less than positive experiences.

The location and room are fine but I think better value could be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashmanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binhnguyen, ceo at Saigon Mini Hotel 5, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2010

We are really sorry to hear about your missing items and your blame to the hotels you had been to can be understood as most people did. For thief reasons which is rare to our chain hotel management, we had a similar incident about 6 months earlier in another establishment of ours, in which a guest reported that his camera was missing. The camera recordings and the questioning by our security men determined the perpetrator . We were able to get back the lost item for our guest and fired the housekeeper involved with her claim and police records. Your incident was quite unfortunate for us, as it was reported six days after you left for other traveling site and our management could not find any glue of the lost from the hotel even with our security system and the camera recording. We don’t know how to solve the problem as you left quite some time to different places to had the possibility to loose things as some of our guest did. It happens, and some people also write feedback to us and and then theirs apologize when they found them back or the loss was not in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lost items. Could you please let us know the most convenient and most satisfying way we should do to make it all up for you ?

Our GM did sent a detail email and is still waiting for your response. We do wish the best for you

Saigonminihotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We will defiantly return to this hotel on our next visit to Ho Chi Minh City. Although our room was a bit on the small side, it was spotlessly clean, really comfortable, had a terrific shower and was in a good location. The staff were also very hospitable and accommodating. The breakfast I wasn't nuts about, but there were a few amazing restaurants with good breakfast selections and delicious coffee on the same block. A great value overall.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodie-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I stayed at the Saigon Mini 5 for 4 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were friendly, and always quick to help. Breakfasts were more than adequate, and always served with a friendly attitude. The room was clean and well maintained. The hotel is centrally located for access to tourist sites. If I return to the city I will certainly stay at this hotel again, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdntraveller066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 km away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#170 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
29 reviews
0.2 km away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#73 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,114 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#97 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#41 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,124 reviews
0.1 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
0.3 km away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#156 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Mini Hotel 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Mini Hotel 5

Address: 196 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: €21 - €28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly convenient and accessible, SAIGON MINI HOTEL 5 is centrally located in the heart of the backpacker area on BUI VIEN Street. The location offers varied choices of eateries and shops, as well as various sightseeing offices and departure points for out-of-town tours and short trips, all within walking distance (some are just across the street). So, there are plenty of choices even late into the night. Also, the famous Ben Thanh market (around 15 minutes walking) and other well-known places of interest are all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Saigon Mini Hotel 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing