We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue River II Hotel
Ranked #197 of 986 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My partner and I booked three nights here. We needed to escape our terrible hotel in the backpacker area and we are very happy that we managed to find this place!

Check in was very straightforward and the staff were very friendly (they also spoke good English, which was a bonus). The cleaner (his name is rain) is a really funny guy too!

The rooms are basic and we had no problems, except from the infestation of ants (which soon got bored after eating me alive in my sleep the first night). The shower was more on the cold side too, which was a shame. I think the rooms might just need a bit of love and care and they could be a lot better.

Wifi is occasionally good and occasionally bad (on floor 5).

The hotel is based within a very working class area, about ten minutes walk to the busy backpacker area. The streets around the hotel are full of mechanics and lighting shops (not much food around, but you will be able to find stuff if you walk around). All of the mechanic men in the streets were undressing my girlfriend with their eyes; but that tends to happen anywhere in Vietnam anyway.

Overall, a good stay and I'd recommend this place for budget travellers looking to stay in a quieter area.

Who can say no to free breakfast too!?

Room Tip: Lower floors seem to have better wifi (maybe less ants too?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in a neigborhood which you will not notice the first time. Good thing, an old lady showede me the way. Currently staying at this place. The hallway is dingy and needs for the light to be replaced. The room is small but with the things you need, fine with me. But the main reason I gave this a 2 stars is because of the receptionist that does not know how to smile and seems bored with what he do. I will not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank ERQESCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived by taxi. I think by your own have to be really difficult to find it. When taxi driver stopped at the door we thought: this has to be a mistake!!! There is a very old gate with stairs on the left and There is a narrow corridor full of vietnamise men on the right. They pointed to the narrow corridor. Inside is like a living area full of children playing and backpackers hostels.

The day recepcionist was very nice. The room is big, beds confortable and more or less clean. Great value for the price. We were visited by a crockroach, but this is a common problem in budgets hotels in Vietnam. When you want to take a taxi they offer you to order a Ubber taxi that it is the cheaper one.
It is close to the city center, 10 minutes walking. You don't need to take a taxi to visit the tourist attraction s. The breakfast is fine eggs, bread and you can choose between coffe or tea (for the price you can not complain).
Night recepcionist doesn't speak English, but he is a lovable guy. We were waiting at night to go to the airport and we were teaching him English and he taught Vietnamese. It was a great experience, thanks for that!

I really recomened this hotel for backpackers with low and middle budget.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pilaryjuan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Got a deluxe double room for few nights, discounted because there were not many guests (12 USD). The room was spacious, clean, and very quiet. It was not immaculate, but adequate for the price.
Mattresses was big and comfortable. Air con worked well.
The location was okay, 10-15 mins from the busy touristic road and all its amenities.
Breakfast was very small (bread, eggs, jam, coffee or tea).

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

It's a decent place for the price you pay.

The room is pretty small and not so well kept but there's pretty much everything you need.

The location is slightly off from the main city area but getting around is not difficult in HCMC itself with cabs and Uber available.

If possible, request for the rooms in the 1st floor! They are slight bigger than the ones in the upper floors.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 km away
Bali B Hotel
Bali B Hotel
#380 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
207 reviews
0.9 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#102 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
820 reviews
2.5 km away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#111 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#51 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
534 reviews
0.9 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,222 reviews
0.2 km away
Phuc Khanh Hotel
Phuc Khanh Hotel
#490 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River II Hotel

Address: 54/13 Ky Con St | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 986 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: €9 - €12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing