We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically just what we needed for our trip”
Review of Royal 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal 2 Hotel
Ranked #414 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A friend of ours booked us into this hotel so we didn't actually choose it. Before arriving we were a bit worried as many reviews for this year had some bad reports so we were kind of expecting a bad experience. However we were pleasantly surprised as to how well it suited our needs.
We found the hotel more like a home than a hotel. The staff were friendly and NOT pushy at all regarding the excursions to Halong Bay etc. We just wanted to spend ten days in Hanoi and walk everywhere and they understood that.
The breakfast really suited our needs too. It was so nicely set out each morning and the lady cooking it became our friend or like an older sister cooking our eggs and coffee as we arrived so that they were freshly made each day. She also made the noodles on arrival as well if we wished. There were two nice dining tables in the hotel kitchen/dining room where she also cooked and the kitchen was very clean and not with lots of junk lying around as is often the case in other hotels in Vietnam.
The room we had was large and plenty of space to walk around the room. We also had a balcony which we sat out on frequently and watched the world go by. Yes the hotel is old but the quaint furniture, cabinets and chairs made and the shutters on the french doors of the balcony made you really feel like you were staying in the old quarter of Hanoi. Of course a room with windows will be noisier than one without but traffic almost ceases about 11pm and then starts again about 6.30 am. You can choose a room without windows if you want it quieter. Which were our sleeping ours anyway.

Plenty of hot water and even take a hot bath if you want.

Mr Sinh was very helpful and an extrovert and the young boy that worked with him was so friendly. The staff seemed more like a family working together than employees tolerating each other so that was great to see.

The only complaints we have would be that the hotel could invest in some softer pillows and maybe an extra one in the room. One of our sheets was torn also.

TV had a number of English channels. including HBO CCN BBC and Star Movies.

The hotel staff ordered taxis for us whenever we needed to and communicated with the taxi drivers of where we wanted to go.

A great deal for what we paid for and also I didn't see a single insect or a rat as others had written. Which is unusual for Asia even in the cleanest place.

Aircon worked well and had a thermostat with remote control.

Mattress very comfortable

Excellent internet connection.

As soon as you walk out the door of the hotel you are in the midst of everything... a short walk to the lake.

We would return here if we go back to Hanoi.

Room Tip: The room we had was large and plenty of space to walk around the room. We also had a balcony which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Staying at this hotel was fantastic! The guys looked after us really well organising washing and even looking after our motorbikes whilst we went to Halong bay!

Will be staying here again after I travel to Sapa!

Thanks again!
Steve

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevefigjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a very nice hotel right in the middle of Hanoi old town. It is extremely clean and the staff are very helpful. There are lots of scams in Hanoi and the hotel staff were good in warning us about these and in ordering us taxis that were scammers etc.

Room Tip: We Will come again, this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was not amused by this hotel.
18€ for a double bed room which has dirty sheets with holes.
The room looks quite clean but it is not nice to find a cockroach walking in the bath when you are taking a shower...
The hotel provides towels and toothbrushes but this is just to appear as nice hotel which is actually pretty far from that definition.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A friend and I stayed three nights at The Royal 2 Hotel in Hanoi and found the staff quite pleasant and very friendly. The room was very clean and spacious with a balcony that was perfect for us seeing were both smokers. It's in a great location, close to many shops and restaurants with free WiFi and computers for all hotel guests. It's all over a great place to stay at a low price.
P.S Key to any hotel in Hanoi don't let them bully you into booking tours through them if you don't want to..... oh and we still can't believe we missed breakfast!!!! Even with the morning phone call (That we slept through)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo3Natty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
1.1 km away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.4 km away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
3.4 km away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.7 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal 2 Hotel

Address: 11 Hang Manh Street, Hanoi 84, Vietnam (Formerly Duc Huy)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: €20 - €28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal 2 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal 2 Hotel (formerly Duc Huy Hotel) is situated in downtown Hanoi, near major office buildings, popular shopping areas and ancient sites. Along with its spacious rooms, elegant furnishings and sophisticated facilities Duc Huy hotel is a place where you can feel relaxed, comfortable and well-looked after. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal 2
Royal 2 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing