We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
17
9
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
17
9
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Clean, friendly staff. Quite. Excellent location, good wifi. Warm water, room cleaned every day. Would stay again.
The room where a little old looking and the tv had no English news channel.
The conversion from
Nzd to dont was good when we where given the bill as we booked in nzd by booking dot com

Date of stay: January 2017
5  Thank DJ-it-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We had stayed at Mai Charming hotel (highly recommended) but they had no rooms when our travel plans changed, instead bringing us here to their 'sister hotel.' The room was $21 not including breakfast, which was a complete rip off and more than we'd payed there.

Everything gross, old and dirty. Bathroom especially was unclean and mouldy, shower awful. Very loud singing (?!) from the street below. Staff were ok but not very friendly.

Very bad value for money!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank charlotte d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussiness2015, Manager at Camellia Hanoi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear,
Thank you so much for your comment to us.
Yes, as any some of your wortting, our hotel is one old hotel but inside room is ok. I have been show you come to this room to see room first before you accept that and you check via booking.com and the price is not included breakfast, you were ok and I gave you a deluxe room, with balcony and biggest window. You checked in and no any trouble. We are located inside the Hanoi Old Quater Center so this price is cheapest for one deluxe room with other hotel.
You also have time to change if you do not like them ( 30 MINUTE), We will still funny about that and not charge you pay fee more. You checked in and now you tolk us not good. That is not fun and not happy.
But we are still want to thank you and we will care and safely more for next wellcoming new guest.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I was very disappointed after reading so many reviews to find out for myself how terrible this hotel was.
The photos on sights are falsely advertising it as it looks nothing like the pictures.
Firstly, the room wasn't what we booked. We are a couple and got there to a room with 2 single beds, sheets were dirty, TV didn't work, bathroom and bedroom are old and smell of mould.
Our room was by reception, had no windows and was VERY noisy early in the morning. My family members that stayed upstairs in a room with a window didn't sleep all night as it was raining and the windows were rattling, were drafty and leaking. Another had trouble breathing with all the mildew in there.
I also booked transport for us and that was a no show which was pretty disappointing considering we all arrived very late at night.
The only reason we didn't leave on the same night was that we were tired and it was very very late.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaneM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We spent four weekends at Camellia in February and March. Thuy and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to help us have a terrific vacation. The hotel is basic, but very clean and perfectly located for exploring the Old Quarter. Thuy helped us book tours to Ha Long Bay, Tam Loc, and night trains to Hue and Sapa. She also arranged taxis and a private car to pick us up in Sapa. Corresponding via email before and during our travels was easy and efficient. Wi-Fi connection was excellent. But the best part was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff at Camellia.

Room tip: Some of the rooms open to an inner atrium/stairwell. The rooms that open to the street are preferable.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank sim-heidi-2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed at the Camellia Hanoi a total of 3 times as we toured Vietnam over three weeks. This is a budget hotel so don't expect top end rooms, they are adequate to very nice and are clean. The hotel is located on a quieter side street with reliable restaurants and street food vendors nearby. The big plus with the Camellia is the staff, they are very friendly and knowledgeable and happy to help out with bookings, suggestions and general travel advice. Email communication was excellent; they always got back to us promptly and were eager to make our experience a positive one. If you are coming into Hanoi from either the train station or airport, don't hesitate to ask the staff to arrange for pick-up. Its inexpensive and makes getting to and from the hotel easy and worry free.

Room tip: Ask for rooms facing the street, they tend to be roomier and have balconies. They cost a little bit more but it's worth it.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank keelcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews