We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
90
53
25
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
53
25
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halong bay noodles old quarter the staff were extremely helpful light sleeper explore hanoi comfortable beds great room the hotel manager tour vietnam heating
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The room itself was very basic, and maybe even a little dirty. The walls were a bit damp in places, and the air con was leaking. The beds were firm and did become uncomfortable. The shower was hand held which was unusual for us, but it did the job!

However, the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and helped us with our trip to Halong Bay which was reasonably priced and went off without any problems. They really tried to be as accommodating as possible. I think the hotel just needs a bit of TLC and it would be a great spot for travelers. It's a good location and the staff are wonderful!

We only tried their breakfast once, and we were a little disappointed. Again the cleanliness wasn't up to scratch, one plate of food had bugs crawling on it... But the options themselves weren't bad, toast, meat, cucumber, rice, noodles.

If you're looking for somewhere cheap in a great location, and want to take a tour elsewhere during your stay then I would highly recommend. If you want comfort and frills then do avoid.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_sanghanoi, Manager at Bodega Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear EMMA , Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. However I am very so sad to hear that the room and breakfast did not meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in Renovations. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon. All the best from Vietnam, Wind and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had booked the double deluxe room which looked pretty good according to the pictures and facilities on Hotels.com. Unfortunately, we were gravely disappointed as the room we were given was nothing like advertised and both looked and smelled old and unclean. I appreciate that there will always be slight differences between what is advertised and what you actually get but this hotel took the biscuit for poetic license. The major discrepancy was that there was no balcony to enjoy the city views (something which is advertised on all kinds of rooms) - our room did not even have a window!!
When we complained to the front desk that the room we had been given was not what we had booked, we were told that it was the last room available so our only option was to cancel the booking via Hotels.com (which was not an option according to the website's cancellation policy's deadlines).
As it was late, we reluctantly opted to stay the first night and lose out on the remaining nights which we had prepaid for and find somewhere else..
The mattresses were uncomfortable and during the night, there were several strange gurgling noises coming from the dated bathroom (which by the way still had the previous guests' waste in the bins when we arrived).
The WiFi signal in our room was non-existent.
When leaving the next morning we saw several cockroaches on the landing outside our room.
This hotel, and its advertising policies, could do with a serious makeover!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DamienF200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_sanghanoi, Người quản lý at Bodega Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

dear Mr. Damo

thank you very much for your stayed with us, but i don't belive you can wrote that our hotel too bad, when you arrived we told you everything clear how about your room and you happy and ok. but i don't know big laugh after that everything to bad and you can wrote more something from your idea. but our hotel fault i'm sorry about that. thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I used bodega as my transit hotel while returning from a trip to ha Giang. For 21 USD and a simple bfast for 2 it was not bad. Room was clean and it's close to lake. I recommend this to budget Traveller. BTW, they also have dorm for backpackers and they also promote themselves as a hostel

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mac_Don2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Nice little spot
Friendly and helpful staffs
Walk about 10-15mins to HoanKiem lake
It s about $20-$25 per night, pretty low than avarage prices in central Hanoi. Therefore:
- room wall and ceiling is old and dirty
- toilet door is chipped and partly broken
- room accessories are very boring and old so we hardly used
Oh well, maybe lots of travellers are happy with that price though, but in heart of Hanoi. I think they should not let things turn so old, rather upgrade it and charge a few more bucks
*** our friend booked the room so i was not bother changing once i arrive.
Just from my experience, if you just wanna pay that money, then thats ok, otherwise should go for a nicer one if seeking for comfort
Thanks
Khoi

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KhoiN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_sanghanoi, Người quản lý at Bodega Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017
Google Translation

cảm ơn quý khách đã ở lại khách sạn của chúng tôi và cũng rất xin lỗi về về phòng của bạn khi ở khách sạn chúng tôi. mà đúng hơn phòng bạn đặt khi đó có 1 gia đình nguời mỹ có con nhỏ ở lại thêm 1 đêm vì lý do con nhỏ của gia đình bị ốm nên khách sạn đã có lời xin lỗi và nhờ nhóm của quý khách ở giúp phòng tập thể. nhưng dù sao đây cũng là lỗi của khách sạn đối với đặt phòng của quý khách và cũng cảm ơn nhũng ý kiến quý báu của quý khách đến khách sạn, điều này giúp ích cho khách sạn thêm những gì cần cải thiện tốt hơn để ngày tốt hơn nữa đón chào quý khách hàng.

chúc quý khách hàng có kỳ nghỉ vui vẻ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful with suggesting tours around Hanoi. We book a tour to Sapa and to Halong Bay through this hotel, prices are relatively reasonable as well. Room is clean and spacious!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SpringC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews