We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best hostel in Hanoi! Perfect place to stay. Warm & honest staff!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #10 of 327 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best hostel in Hanoi! Perfect place to stay. Warm & honest staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here when we first arrived in Vietnam and were so pleasantly suprised when we were greeted with such warm and friendly staff.
Unfortunately my fiance was quite sick with tonsilitis for 3 days so we were confined to our room while I nursed him back to health! The lady at reception (I can't remember her name but we'll never forget her) took us to the nearest pharmacy and translated our problem to them so we could by some medicine. Also they asked me every day if he was ok and gave advise and concern. Nice touch when in a strange new City!
All the staff speak perfect English and are very honest and helpful when advising tours...not pushy at all and respect your budget and wishes.
The food here is very good! We ate there every night as my fiance Ryan wasn't up for any Asian food while he was unwell. Great western food and Vietnamesse too!
We arranged a 2 day and 1 night boat trip to Halong Bay which was great. Although I would advise you to take your own drinks including water, beer, soft drinks! As NO drinks are free OR CHEAP on the boat! A small water is normally 5,000-10,000 Dong and on the boat they are double the price. Even the tea and coffee at breakfast isn't free and the readily top your cup up without telling you then charge you for it later. We relayed this info back to the lady and she wasn't aware at all and promised to warn future travellers, infact she was quite annoyed and shocked by it!
The hostel safely stored the bulk of our luggage while we were away on the trip which made life alot easier as we only needed to take 1 small over night bag with us.
We can't fault this hostel!
Choose this hostel or Little Hanoi 2 as we also stayed there - see review.
Loved it!!!!!
Otherwise it was fun and well worth seeing!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0byn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    156
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
40
159
166
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Love Little Hanoi Hotel and will be recommending this to friends! Stayed a few nights here and booked my tours to Sapa and Halong Bay with them. The staff are super helpful and nothing is too much of a problem. You get fresh fruit in your room and tea and coffee in reception at any time. There is wi-fi and computers in reception which is also great. Breakfast is pretty standard, but if you have absolutely any questions the staff are willing to help.

Rooms are really clean with air con and fan, fridge and modern fittings. No window's but it doesn't seem to matter.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

It was my first bed in vietnam and i really enjoyed. They are nice people in a crazy city

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our first hotel on our three weeks stay in Vietnam and well learnt how professional stuff can ease travelling and sight seeing. They booked us train and bus tickets, also two trips with good travel agencies. Rooms are clean, with A.C. and Cable TV. Hostel is 10 minutes walking from the centre. Go head and book this hostel & you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stay in this lovely small Hotel for just a few days. We would highly recommend it to those looking for a relatively cheap spot almost in the centre of the Old Quarter.

The staff were excellent. We booked a Halang boat trip with them. This turned out to be as advertised, which is not something you can say often in rip off laden Vietnam.

We booked a hotel and train tickets through them to Sapa. No the hotel in Sapa tried to pull a fast one on us when we checked out. However, we called little Hanoi who had booked the hotel for us and they sorted it all out and got the rate back to what it should have been.

The reception staff even sorted out the odd rip off taxi driver for us too.

In short, if you need a good clean room, with great friendly helpful and honest staff go here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPT_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#59 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.7 km away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 327 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#12 of 327 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.3 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 327 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#5 of 327 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hanoi Hostel

Property: Little Hanoi Hostel
Address: 48 Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 327 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hanoi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED AND COMFORTABLE! The Little Hanoi Hotel is located in the old quarter of Hanoi.There are rooms from: Singles, Doubles, Twins, Triples and even a Dorm room with BUNK BEDS for the budget minded traveller. AlL rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with hot water 24 hours, cable TV, A/C, and modern bathtub bathrooms. Those are just the necessities - as a special extra: Free TEA, COFFEE, FRESH FRUIT and FLOWERS everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Little Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing