We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats!”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #263 of 651 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who didn't speak English but he brought us a heater and chairs and showed us a google translate, that the manager will be here in a few minutes. A very good first impression.

The "manager" came and seemed nice as well, asked were we're from and had a little small talk before the sales pitch came. It was already late, because the requested transfer from the airport did not arrive, which we never mentioned to him because we were happy to save money by taking a minibus. He kept going on with his halong bay cruise tour. We really didn't want to take it but he kept offering us his new ideas.

I finally told him that its late and we want our room key, luckily he gave up and the friendly guy took our bags and showed us to the room. On the way in the restaurant area, there was a big fat rat running around, which didn't bother the staff at all. Seemed like a normal thing there. We saw more rats every time we passed the area, but only after dark.

We checked the brochure he gave us about the tour company. The original website did not exist, but there was one with almost identical name, with the same pictures, but a little broken and a business address that pointed to the hotel - very strange.

Breakfast was included but only til 9am, but we wouldn't eat where those nasty rats have been running around anyway.

Our room was at the far back, top floor, which had no wifi connection.

On the good side - the room had heating and it was in a perfect location of the old quarter. minus the rats and pushy sales pitch, it would have been a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Do not get the back side rooms, unless you want to pass the rat park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reimo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2016

Me & my boyfriend stayed here on our first night in Hanoi on 12th December for 2 nights.

The staff were brilliant with us and the rooms were clean and comfortable.The hotel is in a brilliant location too!

Our baggage got left in the UK and the airport arranged to drop it off at our hotel. The staff rang the airport a couple of times for us to check where it was/how long it would be and were so helpful!!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We just stayed here for one night which was good, I don't think I'd really want to stay here a long time as the rooms aren't huge and are a bit damp. Staff are very friendly and helpful, they offered to carry our bags for us. Location is really good and the included breakfast was nice - eggs, toast and coffee.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank harriethoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Mr kelvin at blue moon was excellent. He is an outstanding person. Did more than was required. He helped plan n organise our entire vietnam tour. Checked in on a daily basis to ensure everything was upto standard and we were happy. Thank you Mr kelvin we would definitely recommend your services

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Sharkz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

We landed in Hanoi without any clear itinerary. We stumbled across blue moon hotel and asked if they could help us with our tour. We were helped by Mr Kelvin Dai, he went out of his way to plan our trip and gave us a very good deal. He made sure we were comfortable and also checked with us to make sure the hotels were fine for us. Overall we had a wonderful time and enjoyed Vietnam.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Yumnah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 km away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#128 of 600 in Hanoi
283 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#130 of 600 in Hanoi
1,320 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Zesty Hotel
Hanoi Zesty Hotel
#77 of 651 in Hanoi
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#12 of 651 in Hanoi
1,064 reviews
3.6 km away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 km away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 90 Cau Go | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: €14 - €20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Moon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Bluemoon Hotel is managed by Hanoi’s famous and popular hotel brand. Our hotel is an ideal resting point with 29 en-suite exclusive guest rooms. All rooms are equipped with the comfortable pillows, wooden floor, bathtub, standing bath, 19 inch flat screen TV and opened windows with great view of city, free wifi Internet and public internet accessible computers for free usage in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing