We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
1
3
0
1
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
0
1
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is by far one of the worst establishments in the whole of Asia that I had the misfortune to encounter. My partner and I arranged an airport transfer for 7 in the morning in order to catch a flight to Thailand and like many of the posts previous, they failed to send any taxi in spite of making full payment the previous day. On that morning, I ran over the hotel and found that the metal gate was shut over the hotel/ shop front and they obviously had no intention to open until we departed. As a result, I had to book another taxi last minute and lost my money. Never give money to these scammers or perish the thought, consider staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Willisson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked a so-called luxury tour to Halong Bay and had a terrible experience. We were booked on the wrong day then arrived to find we had been changed to a substandard boat and a hotel that stunk of fish. The staff at the Hang Be/Bamboo travel office assured us on the phone throughout that they would sort 'the best hotel' but all turned out to be lies. Everyone else on our boat had paid half the price we had.

When we returned to the Hanoi office to confront the owner he immediately started shouting loudly and acting in a threatening manner. He refused the refund we were due so all we can do is implore anyone else to avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt6983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were booked transportation to the AirPort at 5 am. We waited for 30 minutes and after that try to call to them. No answer and now back home try to email, both adresses are fake!!! Don't go even if they are offering cheaper price, it will cost you more anyway.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

As newlyweds, my husband and I have been planning to go to Hanoi and visit Ha Long Bay as the peak experience of our honeymoon. As students, we had scrapped money together so that we for once could enjoy a luxury cruise on a 4 star boat for 3 days. We even paid for the honeymoon suite which included tv, stereo, bathtub, wine, fridge, air conditioning, fruit and on top of that our own privat balcony on the boat. All of this was happily booked by the owner of Hang Be Hotel in the hotel lobby.
The only thing we where unhappy about then was that he "forgot" to tell us about the 10% extra charge, which already then gave us a bad feeling. How little did we know...
It happened to be that the boat was a completely normal one, meaning 3 star and all the rooms where very dull. All the above described room facilities where somehow missing - or had never actually been on the boat. We where on a standard boat, where all other backpackers had paid half of what we paid. The boat was small and cozy, but simply did not contain any of the promised facilities and we where very disappointed.
As soon as we returned to Hanoi we went to the hotel to get a refund. He wasn't even at the office, but spoke to us through the phone, whom the receptionist arranged for us. He simply denied to give us any more than 10$ back and called me a liar!
We ended up getting 20$ back from a very angry man on the other end of the line..
This has been the worst experience in Vietnam! Don't ever go there, not even for the hotel. The travelers who stood in line after us where there to complain about the laundry, which they apperaently tried to overcharge them for as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I had the unfortunate experience of booking a tour through these Jokers (3 night 2 day in SaPa see attached picture of promised services) they managed to book us the night bus, but failed to book the hotel in SaPa. we got in at 7AM with no room and no reservation. after 2 hours trying to call Hang Be with no one picking up the phone we called the bus company that we had rode in with (luckily we had retained a ticket stub with the number) they informed us Hang Be had used a 3rd party travel agent to purchase the ticket so we got the 3rd party's number (agent X) and called them. Agent X had the cell number of the owner of Hang be and called to try to sort it out for us after a couple more hours of them talking amongst themselves (with us waiting in the hotel lobby still without room) agent X informed us they had booked a different cheaper hotel across town without letting anyone know. the agent was nice enough to give us the cell number for Hang Be's owner ( i think he was tired of dealing with the BS) however the owner would not answer the phone for us when he saw our number come up. after speaking with several people related to the hotel and travel agency it turns out this is common practice with Hang be. the story we got was _ The owner of Hang Be owes money to the hotel we were promised and can not book there anymore (even though the hotels name and pictures still appear all over the walls of Hang Be's Office) bottom line was we paid for the hotel AGAIN out of pocket ended up checking an AT 4PM and were only able to get a fraction of a refund out of Hang Be after going back into the office upon our return to Hanoi and creating a scene. I personally waited outside the front door dissuading others from coming in and making the same mistake we had. STAY AWAY- THERE ARE PLEANTY OF OTHER ROOMS AND TRAVEL AGENTS AROUND THE CITY!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jonah_358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews