We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Morning ”

HanoiKids Free Tour
Ranked #8 of 229 Food & Drink in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hanoikids, established in 2006, is known as a student-run organization based in Hanoi, Vietnam. By voluntarily taking city tours for English speaking travellers in Hanoi, we hope to bring travellers from all over the world an insight into our culture, tradition and beautiful sight-seeings. Each member of the club can explore their full potential through cross-cultural experiences and extracurricular activities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We had such a fantastic time with our 2 guides, we were brought around the French and old quarter but the most enjoyable part was sitting and chatting for nearly 2 hours while enjoying an egg coffee and learning more about life in Vietnam. Would highly recommend booking a Hanoi Kids Tour.

6  Thank Fionaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for trusting us to be your travel mates while you are in Hanoi. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for the recent tour. Thank you for choosing Hanoikids to provide you a tour around Hanoi. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hanoi kids"
in 599 reviews
"egg coffee"
in 270 reviews
"university students"
in 119 reviews
"travel mates"
in 27 reviews
"old quarter"
in 441 reviews
"ho chi minh complex"
in 96 reviews
"hoa lo prison"
in 132 reviews
"quan an ngon"
in 24 reviews
"french quarter"
in 106 reviews
"cultural exchange"
in 31 reviews
"their lives"
in 60 reviews
"young ladies"
in 33 reviews
"practice their english"
in 53 reviews
"ethnology museum"
in 31 reviews
"hotel lobby"
in 31 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 26 reviews
"visiting hanoi"
in 69 reviews
Filter

126 - 130 of 2,172 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We did both the food and old quarter tour. They were the highlight of our visit to Hanoi. The guides were friendly well informed and a treat to spend time with. A great way to learn about Vietnam and the people.

6  Thank jimnorthbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Our club was delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our members. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us. We too enjoyed getting to know you better. You are always welcome to go on tours with us when your travels bring you this way. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

A family of four were greeted by two keen eager university students Luong and Liahn. Their English was very good and their knowledge about Vietnam and the local sites was exceptional. They were very friendly and responsive in answering all questions. We visited the first university and the Ho Chi Minh complex followed by the best chicken noodle soup in town. Thanks again to the club and to Luong and Liahn for an unforgettable day.

6  Thank X9971ELbrandonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

We are very glad that you enjoyed the day with our members. Hopefully, we will get to be your travel-mates again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Hanoikids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We decided on the food walking tour on the evening we landed. We are in our 50’s so we were concerned we would be met by a lacklustre 16 year old. Instead “Kevin” arrived at our hotel prompt and well groomed. He introduced himself and asked about us and what we wanted to do. He was a civil engineer university student in his 4th (?) year and had taken a 2 and a half hour bus journey and a half hour walk to get to our hotel for 6pm. He took us to restaurants we wouldn’t have dreamed of entering, trying local specialities such as a Bun Cha, Bun Bo Nam Bo and egg coffee (yum, yum & yuk).
The Uber taxi was summoned to take us back to our hotel so we paid for him to get back to his accommodation.
Brilliant concept. Unlike any other ‘corporate’ tour and better English and more fun than the one arranged by our agent for the next day.
Thanks “Kevin”

6  Thank jlw5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for trusting us to be your travel mates while you are in Hanoi. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for the recent tour. Thank you for choosing Hanoikids to provide you a tour around Hanoi. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

My family and I had the privilege of spending an evening with Lucy and Frank from HanoiKids on their street food tour. We were in the area on a river cruise and land tour package with AMAWaterways and I had my 16 yr old daughter with me and thought this would be an eye opening experience for her. I had originally requested the tour a little over a month before we were scheduled to be in Hanoi, and we were waitlisted for a while, I followed up a few times via email and about 4 days before we wanted to go i got an email from them we had cleared the waitlist.

I think their entire concept is one of the best ideas in tourism development I've ever seen (and full disclosure, I do work in the tourism industry, but not in this region). Our HanoiKids escorts met us in the lobby of our hotel and then we walked from there to the Old Quarter of the city, stopping at one of the parks to do Zumba with a crowd that was there on the way. They took us to 3 different spots in the area where we tried papaya salad with beef jerky, pho ga, spring rolls, and then my mom wanted meat skewers so they found us a vendor that sold those. We bailed on the sweet stop, as my folks were tired and took a taxi home. We spent about $15 on everything (insane because we ate so much) Lucy and Frank hung out with me and my daughter and we did some night market shopping and then back to the central plaza to listen to Vietnamese pop artists performing and just in general soak up all the activity that was going on - they even managed to find me a clean restroom! Our hosts are engaging energetic young ladies and the conversation was fast and ongoing. I'm surprised they were able to keep up because we threw the kitchen sink at them language wise (lol - you remember everything but the kitchen sink girls don't you??), but their english was fantastic, their stories even better and omg the food was incredible.

We've been home for a few days and spent over 18 days in SE Asia and we were lucky to meet some truly special people along the way, but this was really our favorite evening of the whole trip. our snapchats, facebook and instagram are all filled with great pictures and amazing memories of the evening. Our dinner out with HanoiKids exceeded all expectations and is truly a unique and wonderful way to get to know the real Hanoi.

Tips:
1. Book early and have some flexibility- the waitlist thing seems to be pretty common
2. If possible, schedule for a weekend - Friday night -Sunday a large portion of the riverside and old quarter are blocked off for pedestrian traffic only, which makes getting around easier, but also is an event unto itself with pop up karaoke, ballroom dancing, zumba, public concerts, more street vendors and a general festival atmosphere for the denizens of Hanoi. This is apparently an every weekend thing there.
3. Don't be afraid to ask for what you want! The students are really flexible and open so if there are specific things you want to try or see, ask for it! They will do their best to find it for you.
4. Don't be shy - ask questions about anything and everything, the benefit for the students is to practice practical conversational english - not the formal structure they learn in school which is vastly different.
5. This is especially a great tour for families with older children and teenagers who may find the societal differences between home and Asia overwhelming. Kids relate better to people their own age, so discussing personal tastes in music, social media, movies, etc is really eye opening for everyone

We as a family have traveled extensively all over the globe, and there aren't enough superlatives for the quality of this experience and what it meant to our family. Cam Un/Thank you so much HanoiKids!

13  Thank gringagirlATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Our club was delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our members. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us. We too enjoyed getting to know you better. You are always welcome to go on tours with us when your travels bring you this way. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HanoiKids Free Tour also viewed

 

Been to HanoiKids Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing