We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guides and organisation”
Review of HanoiKids Tour

HanoiKids Tour
Ranked #2 of 212 Food & Drink in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hanoikids, established in 2006, is known as a student-run organization based in Hanoi, Vietnam. By voluntarily taking city tours for English speaking travellers in Hanoi, we hope to bring travellers from all over the world an insight into our culture, tradition and beautiful sight-seeings. Each member of the club can explore their full potential through cross-cultural experiences and extracurricular activities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 9 January 2018

HanoiKids is a brilliant way for tourists to have a local guide and for the guide (uni students) to develop their English speaking skills. The tour is free (HanoiKids do not charge a fee), but you must pay for your entry tickets to the sites, attractions visited and also pay for food/drinks for yourself and your guides (which you have to do regardless of being guided or doing seeing the sites yourself).

My daughter (15 years) and I arranged two tours with HanoiKids - a street food tour on our first night in Hanoi and tour of the Temple of Literature and Mausoleum. Our guides, Anna, Lan and Lim were absolutely fantastic. We were extremely comfortable spending time with them, learning about Hanoi and their lives (it was terrific to learn that Lim had visited Australia and we were able to discuss places her had been to). They all explained the history and architecture of the various places we visited to us patiently. Their English is very good and they were always happy to repeat information if we didn't understand.

It was nice to have locals take us around and share their hometown with us . We asked about the Vietnamese lifestyle, traditions and religions, and we learned a lot from our guides. We have made three great friends in Hanoi, and we wish them every success with their university studies and look forward to seeing them next time we visit Hanoi or they visit Australia.

I highly recommend HanoiKids and would definitely use their services again.

5  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We are very glad that you enjoyed the day with our members. Hopefully, we will get to be your travel-mates again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Hanoikids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hanoi kids"
in 582 reviews
"half day tour"
in 233 reviews
"egg coffee"
in 265 reviews
"university students"
in 117 reviews
"waiting list"
in 40 reviews
"travel mates"
in 27 reviews
"old quarter"
in 430 reviews
"ho chi minh complex"
in 91 reviews
"hoa lo prison"
in 125 reviews
"quan an ngon"
in 24 reviews
"french quarter"
in 103 reviews
"cultural exchange"
in 29 reviews
"their lives"
in 58 reviews
"young ladies"
in 33 reviews
"evening food tour"
in 34 reviews
"practice their english"
in 52 reviews
"free tour"
in 39 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

We had a tour with SuSu and Duc - two wonderful and very kind Vietnamese students who showed us a great time in Hanoi. We already had an itinerary in mind in terms of what we wanted to see (Temple of Literature, Hoa La Prison) - and Susu and Duc helped get us there and had excellent knowledge about the history of Vietnam as we walked around. They were so friendly and we enjoyed exchanging information about Vietnamese and American culture. We ended our tour by grabbing some coffee and chatting at Cong Caphe - which we loved! Overall, a fun and unique experience to share with university students in Vietnam. Would highly recommend this opportunity to anyone visiting Hanoi!

5  Thank Ronak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Our club was delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our members. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us. We too enjoyed getting to know you better. You are always welcome to go on tours with us when your travels bring you this way. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, the guide was extrovert and enthusiastic. You will eat where the locals eat, at a much lower price than what tourists usually pay

4  Thank SultneKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for trusting us to be your travel mates while you are in Hanoi. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for the recent tour. Thank you for choosing Hanoikids to provide you a tour around Hanoi. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Kevin took us around Hanoi and showed us places we never would find by ourselves. Excellent food and company, would recommend and would repeat.

4  Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Our club was delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our members. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us. We too enjoyed getting to know you better. You are always welcome to go on tours with us when your travels bring you this way. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We had a tour with 2 young Vietnamese college kids-- Phuong and Thu (also goes by Daniel). Phuong was a confident young woman navigating the streets of Hanoi and knew how to cater to our kids (ages 10, 10 and 6). She was able to navigate her way from our hotel and create a 3 hour tour for us (we went to the prison and the temple of literature). Thu met us at the temple and had excellent knowledge about the historical contexts as we walked around. We then were taken back to our hotel when my husband realized he left his phone in the taxi. Both Thu and Phuong could have left to go home, but instead they helped us find the taxi driver, talk to him about bringing it back and waited until we had the phone back, which was 2 hours more than the tour was booked for. They were knowledgeable, responsible and made it fun for the kids. I would HIGHLY recommend Hanoikids.

5  Thank mehtaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

We are very glad that you enjoyed the day with our members. Hopefully, we will get to be your travel-mates again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Hanoikids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HanoiKids Tour also viewed

 

Been to HanoiKids Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing