We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour!”

HanoiKids Free Tour
Ranked #8 of 229 Food & Drink in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hanoikids, established in 2006, is known as a student-run organization based in Hanoi, Vietnam. By voluntarily taking city tours for English speaking travellers in Hanoi, we hope to bring travellers from all over the world an insight into our culture, tradition and beautiful sight-seeings. Each member of the club can explore their full potential through cross-cultural experiences and extracurricular activities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We had a tour with SuSu and Duc - two wonderful and very kind Vietnamese students who showed us a great time in Hanoi. We already had an itinerary in mind in terms of what we wanted to see (Temple of Literature, Hoa La Prison) - and Susu and Duc helped get us there and had excellent knowledge about the history of Vietnam as we walked around. They were so friendly and we enjoyed exchanging information about Vietnamese and American culture. We ended our tour by grabbing some coffee and chatting at Cong Caphe - which we loved! Overall, a fun and unique experience to share with university students in Vietnam. Would highly recommend this opportunity to anyone visiting Hanoi!

7  Thank Ronak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Our club was delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our members. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us. We too enjoyed getting to know you better. You are always welcome to go on tours with us when your travels bring you this way. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hanoi kids"
in 599 reviews
"egg coffee"
in 270 reviews
"university students"
in 119 reviews
"travel mates"
in 27 reviews
"old quarter"
in 441 reviews
"ho chi minh complex"
in 96 reviews
"hoa lo prison"
in 132 reviews
"quan an ngon"
in 24 reviews
"french quarter"
in 106 reviews
"cultural exchange"
in 31 reviews
"their lives"
in 60 reviews
"young ladies"
in 33 reviews
"practice their english"
in 53 reviews
"ethnology museum"
in 31 reviews
"hotel lobby"
in 31 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 26 reviews
"visiting hanoi"
in 69 reviews
Filter

135 - 139 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, the guide was extrovert and enthusiastic. You will eat where the locals eat, at a much lower price than what tourists usually pay

5  Thank SultneKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for trusting us to be your travel mates while you are in Hanoi. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for the recent tour. Thank you for choosing Hanoikids to provide you a tour around Hanoi. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Kevin took us around Hanoi and showed us places we never would find by ourselves. Excellent food and company, would recommend and would repeat.

6  Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Our club was delighted to receive your note, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our members. It made us happy to know you feel at home with us. We too enjoyed getting to know you better. You are always welcome to go on tours with us when your travels bring you this way. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We had a tour with 2 young Vietnamese college kids-- Phuong and Thu (also goes by Daniel). Phuong was a confident young woman navigating the streets of Hanoi and knew how to cater to our kids (ages 10, 10 and 6). She was able to navigate her way from our hotel and create a 3 hour tour for us (we went to the prison and the temple of literature). Thu met us at the temple and had excellent knowledge about the historical contexts as we walked around. We then were taken back to our hotel when my husband realized he left his phone in the taxi. Both Thu and Phuong could have left to go home, but instead they helped us find the taxi driver, talk to him about bringing it back and waited until we had the phone back, which was 2 hours more than the tour was booked for. They were knowledgeable, responsible and made it fun for the kids. I would HIGHLY recommend Hanoikids.

6  Thank mehtaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

We are very glad that you enjoyed the day with our members. Hopefully, we will get to be your travel-mates again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Hanoikids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We made a booking request on Hanoikids.org website only a few days before the tour. They were fully booked but put us on waiting list and said they would notify us by email by a certain date if guides became available. We were very lucky to get a slot and confirmed the night before our tour.

Our tour guides, Linh and Son were waiting at our hotel when we returned from breakfast. We chatted briefly on what we wanted to see and they also made some suggestions. We did a half day tour - combination of walking and taxi. We visited Temple of Literature, St Joseph's Cathedral, tried Coconut Coffee at Cong Caphe, walked around Hoan Kiem Lake. As Linh and Son had some time and didn't have afternoon activity, we suggested they join us for lunch and they took us to have Bun Cha at a stall in an alleyway somewhere in Old Quarter. So our tour lasted from 9-2pm. It was a fantastic experience! Linh is a 1st year student and Son is 5th year student - they shared some aspect of their student life and knowlege about Hanoi. They also interacted with our 5 year old and kept her entertained throughout the sightseeing. Both of them spoke excellent English and we learned Linh was studying Mandarin and Son worked at a Japanese restaurant and spoke Japanese. After our tour, they showed us how to use Grab to call a car to go to the Museum of Ethnology.

Thank you Linh and Son for sharing your city with us. We highly recommend Hanoi Kids tour for insider view of Hanoi.

7  Thank jewel838c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoikids, Người quản lý at HanoiKids Free Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for trusting us to be your travel mates while you are in Hanoi. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for the recent tour. Thank you for choosing Hanoikids to provide you a tour around Hanoi. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HanoiKids Free Tour also viewed

 

Been to HanoiKids Free Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing