We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All they say about this hotel is true....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #14 of 573 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All they say about this hotel is true....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Hanoi Elegance Ruby is indeed an excellent hotel. For the last few trips I have changed from the security of name brands to the recommendations of fellow travellers via Tripadvisor. And my travels are so much more enriched.

Hanoi Elegance is a group of 4 hotels in Hanoi and Ruby is clearly the best (though I may be a little biased having only stayed there!). The location is simply superb - right in the middle of a busy noisy and fascinating section of the Old City. But it is the attentiveness of the staff that takes the cake. They went out of the way with the local arrangements and the little tips that made the trip for us.

If in Hanoi on tourism, the Old City is definitely the place to stay, and if you can manage to get a room at HE Ruby, count yourself lucky.

Room Tip: High floors will be quieter seeing as it is a busy dustrict.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shankar_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,503
    234
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
479
1,417
183
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Okahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Superb management, central location in old city, inexpensive. Add it all up and you cannot go wrong with this little hotel. Get a suite on upper level. The manager can arrange all activities from Halong bay to dinner reservations. Spend an afternoon however at the old colonial hotel Metropole, for lunch and drinks. An interesting city, lots of young people, not much memory of the war and more motorbikes than you've ever seen (look both ways twice before you cross)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FCLOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We usually stay at fancier places, honestly, but I can honestly say that we have NEVER, EVER, EVER had better service ANYWHERE in the world!!! The staff at the Elegance Ruby is second to NONE. I can't even believe what they did for us, from booking airline tickets and tours to mailing a birdcage purchase that I knew wouldn't fit in the overhead bin on the plane - nothing was too difficult!! Also, I am a bit OCD on room cleanliness, and I was happy!! It was a great stay, great location, and amazing staff. Breakfast was excellent, too. No complaints from our family! Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: The family room was HUGE and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestarstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is everything all the other reviews have mentioned. Smack bang in the middle of the Old Quarter, the staff are amazing and helpful, great breakfast, the rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a laptop or wifi in the rooms.

My only complaint is we were on the second floor which has a mezzanine level which can make it a bit noisy at times, so try and avoid if possible.

We had organised a airport transfer from the hotel and were met by our driver with out having to callas mentioned in some of the other reviews.

You can book Sapa or Halong Bay tours through the hotel, but we did this independently and definitely saved some money.

Room Tip: Avoid the second level if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms are not large but adequate. On the up side they are clean and comfortable. Considering that it is in the middle of the buzzing old quarter, the rooms were surprisingly quiet. The room also came with its own laptop and good internet connection. The staff at reception helped us organize a cooking class, a trip to Halong Bay and tickets to the water puppet show. Breakfast was very good...specially the banana pancakes.

The hotel is part of a small chain of "Elegance" hotels in Hanoi. We walked past two of them and from the outside they also looked pretty good.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and that was quiet. I think that the second floor may be a bit noisy beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hola_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 km away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.7 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#15 of 573 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.6 km away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing