We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE and TASTY”
Review of Madras Darbar

Madras Darbar
Ranked #72 of 1,271 Restaurants in Pattaya
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 2 March 2017

good and tasty south indian food ( veg and non Veg ) . Specifically prefer their dosas and Idly/vada/sambar and they taste the best here in pattaya ( my peronal tastes) very similar to ones you get in their namesake city , MADRAS. Thali meals is one more item that is really good . Pricing and service are decent .

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank krish27n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

This used to be my favourite Indian restaurant in Pattaya in the past.
I went there again in January 2017 with the hope to get the similar kind of food that this restaurant used to serve in the past.
I must say that I was quite disappointed with the taste, size of dish, price and service.

It has become a much bigger restaurant of late and has a lot of service staff but
they just keep roaming around in past restaurant doing nothing.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Surender-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Have visited this place each time while visiting pattaya and the decor gets better each time. The food is awesome as always the chutney they serve with idly or dosa is out of the world. The ladies serving food are too helpful and prompt, the price has gone up a bit but still reasonable considering the decor and location. They have opened another unit just beside for north indian food. The filter coffee is one of the main highlight of the place which is highly recommended but the food department rests primarily on south indian delicacies. Must visit for indian travellers.

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We came here late in the evening just before they were closing but they agreed to seat us. We ordered a chicken vindaloo, a chicken jalfrezi, a garlic naan bread and some pilau rice. The food came quickly and the service was good but the food was very average. The jalfrezi was one of the strangest versions I've ever eaten and it was greasy too, as was the garlic naan bread. They've obviously spent a of money on this restaurant because it looks good but I'd been craving Indian food for a while and this experience left me feeling disappointed so we won't be going back here in future.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Samuel_J_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The food - especially South Indian staple like Dosa, Idly etc are very good here. Overall, a clean place that serves decent Indian food. Likes the masala dosa here - not too much different from what i had in Chennai. Prices also are reasonable.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Prasanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madras Darbar also viewed

 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Madras Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing