We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travel”

The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #19 of 2,543 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$38
Description: The Service 1921 is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Enjoy contemporary Thai, Chinese Szechuan and Vietnamese dishes created by expert chefs from each cuisine, either soaking up a sociable scene in the communal dining rooms, or reserving the private dining room which is accessed through a secret book shelf door in the library wall. On every Saturday, we will provide Asiatique Night from 19:00 to 22:00. It is an All You Can Eat style. Order unlimited dishes from a special à la carte menu of Chinese, Vietnamese, Japanese, Indian and Thai cuisines. Create your own celebratory journey from our chefs' top secret recipes. Meanwhile, A la carte is unavailable on Saturday.
Restaurant details
Description: The Service 1921 is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Enjoy contemporary Thai, Chinese Szechuan and Vietnamese dishes created by expert chefs from each cuisine, either soaking up a sociable scene in the communal dining rooms, or reserving the private dining room which is accessed through a secret book shelf door in the library wall. On every Saturday, we will provide Asiatique Night from 19:00 to 22:00. It is an All You Can Eat style. Order unlimited dishes from a special à la carte menu of Chinese, Vietnamese, Japanese, Indian and Thai cuisines. Create your own celebratory journey from our chefs' top secret recipes. Meanwhile, A la carte is unavailable on Saturday.
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant, great service! Very beautiful, the location of the film of Andy Lau. It is worthwhile!

Thank 236,425,073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilaiporn P, Manager at The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear 236425073

Greetings from our riverside colonial house!

Our field agents and top secret chefs are delighted for such a positive review and on behalf of the entire section, I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor.

Thank you as well for your recommendation, we indeed suggest to anyone visiting Chiang Mai to experience our unique atmosphere, food and service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon for another successful top secret mission.

Confidentially yours,

Wilaiporn Pansuwan
The Service 1921

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

My husband and I visited The Service 1921 during our honeymoon and we were blown away by the service, decor, and food! We visited on an Asiatique night and loved getting to try everything on the menu! The food and drinks were delicious (especially the Khao Soi) and the night ended with a complimentary dessert for our honeymoon and roses for me. Our server then showed us around the restaurant (private room, bar area, and more). We could not have had a more perfect night!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilaiporn P, Manager at The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Harper S

Greetings from our riverside colonial house!

Our field agents and top secret chefs are delighted for such a positive review and on behalf of the entire section, I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor.

Thank you as well for your recommendation, we indeed suggest to anyone visiting Chiang Mai to experience our unique atmosphere, food and service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon for another successful top secret mission.

Confidentially yours,

Wilaiporn Pansuwan
The Service 1921

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Nice view and hotel but only average food. Nice place to impress someone. Still would recommend but not especially for the food. Nice cocktails however.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Micky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilaiporn P, Manager at The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Micky M
Having read the constructive criticism in your recent Trip Advisor review, on behalf of all our team members I would like to apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction you experienced at The Service 1921

Providing all of our valued guests with excellent customer service and the very best experience possible is of the utmost importance to us, and I thank you for your valuable feedback, all of which to improve the services we offer.

I will certainly discuss your feedback with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our food and service and look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your meal even more amazing in any way we can.

I do hope that you will return to our resort so that we can provide you with a satisfying and enjoyable experience. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch should you have any further queries and I will be delighted to assist you

Yours faithfully,

Wilaiporn P
The service 1921

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This is the place who love International foods of good quality. The wood building was in the past the British Consulate General. It was sold to raise funds for a war. Try the Peruvian or Indian dishes and one is most likely to return!

Thank Agkarajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilaiporn P, Manager at The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Agkarajit

Greetings from Anantara Chiang Mai Resort and thank you for sharing great review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to hear about such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our team members to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s meal.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Yours sincerely,

Wilaiporn
The service 1921

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We had a delightful meal here. The chicken and tamarind dish was just right proportions with the tamarind just enough to add zest without overwhelming the chook. The sea bream in banana leaves with turmeric was equally subtle. Finishing off with passion fruit sorbet and coconut ice cream sent us off with a spring in our step.

Thank Piripi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilaiporn P, Manager at The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Piripi P

Greetings from our riverside colonial house!

Our field agents and top secret chefs are delighted for such a positive review and on behalf of the entire section, I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor.

Thank you as well for your recommendation, we indeed suggest to anyone visiting Chiang Mai to experience our unique atmosphere, food and service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon for another successful top secret mission.

Confidentially yours,

Wilaiporn Pansuwan
The Service 1921

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Service 1921 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing