We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woody's Elephant Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$460
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$442
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$121
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$148
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$184
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
34
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoodle souphalf day tourelephantsbarebacktowels
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Amazing experience with this company. Couldn't fault anything at all. The day was perfect!!!!
Mr Big (our guide) was lovely and very helpful with the whole group.
The elephants are AMAZING - they're well looked after and treat very well.
You get to feed and stroke them, before you climb on board for your trek down to the river where you get to bathe alongside them.
On heading back you get to make your own noodle soup - after some direction.
Truly wonderful day out and great memories to take away from it.
The price is very reasonable for what you get to do and you can also purchase photos from the company as they take them throughout your visit

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thedistancekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Simple, ethical and very worthwhile, this trip is run by the chatty and cheerful Big, the mini bus was on schedule and gave us a comfortable run out to the river area with all the other sanctuaries. They only take a limited number per day ...... we were only six.
Simple tuition and practice before the provided lunch which was delicious ............ afterwards an amble down the hill with two bareback on each elephant to the river for the excellent experience of scrubbing them. Good fun, good photographer, elephants enjoyed the scrub.
Clothing all provided, take a towel, loved the day.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anglosearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We took half day tour package to Woody's Elephant Camp by Chiang Mai Local Tours. The place is a little bit far from Chiang Mai but the experience is really amazing! You got your own big elephant, you ride it directly on its body (without any chair which maybe painful to the elephant), and you even bath the elephant at the river nearby. The tour finished with noodle soup lunch, and the photos they took for us is really great! (you must pay for the photos but it's worth the price)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I planned to go to Chiang Mai to see and ride elephants and as there are so many companies offering this, we did a lot of research.

We were not disappointed by Woody's at all! We got picked up in a minivan from our hotel and it took about an hour to get to Woody's.

The day consisted of:
Meeting elephants for first time (can be quite daunting as they are so big).
Feeding them.
Learning the commands (leg up, higher, forward, backward, left, right and how to tell them they are doing a good job.
Lunch - we got to make our own noodle soup which was fun and the watermelon was delicious.
Got changed into Suitable clothes for getting wet and mucky.
Practised moving the elephants and learning how to climb on.
Rode the elephants to he river and then played with them Splashing water!

Although some people have their views on whether to ride elephants and animal cruelty; this was truly an amazing experience and all the elephants were happy and looked after.

We took our mobile in a waterproof case which was great as we got lots of photos! You can buy a disk from them but it's worth taking your own!

It's also worth noting that Woody's appeared to be cheaper than competitors and it was worth every penny.

You will have a fantastic trip!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The farm is fair distance from chain my around an hour and a half drive. Experience over is very nice. The kids really enjoyed it. Just about the right length of time with the half-day experience. It's fun interacting with the elephants who are very friendly. My daughter now has her best friend "jumbo."

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Medtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews