We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smile House Guest House
Ranked #579 of 807 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2014

This hostel is friendly and welcoming but not the best we met in our trip. We choosed it for the swimming pool but check better first, because it was not possible to swim because it was green water with leaves and mud. During rainy season, it is not the best moment to enjoy the pool. You can meet a lot of friendly people at the bar. Don't have breakfast there, it doesn't worth it. You need a lock to close your room. Sanitaries are not that modern and clean but we've seen worst. For the price range it is not bad, but you can surely find better. A big plus : it is realy wel located. But there are a lot of hostels like that in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2014

Smlie house - I couldnt smlie in here. The fan room is poor, there is no door between bathroom and the bedroom, the room is very smelly, moreover, there are many cockroachs and mosquitoes. The staff were not friendly or enthusiatic.... I couldnt use GH wife.
There is Parking lot, I think it is a good thing.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thuanhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Staff are rude, unhelpful and unfriendly. The name smile house really does not fit this accommodation!! Upon arrival we were asked to pay up front. Every single place we have stayed so far we pay on check out. We arrived at 11pm from the airport with little cash and they did not accept card. Man was rude and spoke little english. When we got in the room we were greeted by a massive cockroach and there were plenty of Mosquitos throughout our stay. Wifi only works in the lobby and tv didn't work and shower was cold. Had to use shower in another room. We stayed four nights and not once did someone come to tidy room or bring fresh towels. We had to ask for loo roll when we ran out. We bought all of our excursions through another agent because the staff in our hotel were not interested. Overall the staff were the worst part of our staff. We booked because of the pool but actually it gets no sun anyway and we didn't use it during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellenmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for a few days in Chang mai,Loved it,very clean and comfy room with access to a balcony and pool view. It's a converted colonial house as far as I remember so had a bit of character. we requested breakfast after it had finished as we didn't realise,but this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was in a nice location and looks pretty nice when you first enter the Guest House. However, upon entering our room, we found 6 giant cockroaches. The staff cleaned them up, but this place had more cockroaches than any other hotel/home/apartment I stayed in during my 5 months in Thailand. Despite the bugs, the Guest House was quiet and had a pool (which was great for the 115 degree F weather!). The staff was approachable. We stayed in three different rooms, partially because the staff would put us in one room and then tell us we had to move to another room the next night. Overal-- not a great experience but not bad for the great price.

Room Tip: I'd say splurge the extra 100 Baht and get air conditioning... it really does make a difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#313 of 393 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
0 km away
Smile House Chiangmai
Smile House Chiangmai
#524 of 807 in Chiang Mai
31 reviews
1.2 km away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#217 of 393 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Gap's House
Gap's House
#344 of 807 in Chiang Mai
191 reviews
0.8 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#24 of 807 in Chiang Mai
486 reviews
3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Guest House

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, 83000 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 807 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €4 - €6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House Guest House, in the true Lanna lifestyle, is located in the heart of old city, within walking distance of all major Wats and night life attractions. We are a 3-minute-walk from the moat so as to optimize the fun and joy of Loi Kratong and Songkran festivities. Our guest house offers large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with convenience of community room for social gatherings. Our swimming pool sits adjacent to our cocktail and food service so as to provide comfort and refreshments while lounging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smile House Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing