We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but lacking in many things”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smile House Guest House
Ranked #580 of 809 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This place is very central and not expensive for the actual rooms. However they charge to use the lockers and 150 baht to have breakfast (looks like just toast and cereal, you can get a full fry up for the same price locally!). The service is not amazing either, perhaps the name is making up for the lack of smiles on their faces...! The beds are a bit hard and the sun hardly reaches the main pool all day (but there is small pool that does however). The bathroom had lots of ants which sometimes made their way into the bedroom area.... Also there are big gaps on the doors so not soundproof (nor very insect proof!).

Also 36 hours before we were due to check out, we put our laundry in after asking if it should be done in time and they said it would be done the next night. Turns out the next day was cloudy and it wasn`t dry. When we asked about it they gave it to us unfolded and still damp. We asked for it to be hung up again for the night. We got it back the next morning folded, but we were missing lots of underwear and socks (we didn`t realise until our next stop on Koh Tao...).

Ok for a couple of days maybe, but they need some work on their service!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tomuknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Walked in when we arrived to chiang mai going by lonely Planet book, they had only one room left for 2 nights, which turned out to be a good thing. The bathroom was not clean, and had at least 20 little fly bug things in it, and mold . TV and wifi reception were both bad. The pool I think is the lifesaver for this guesthouse, other than that there is not much going for it . Will overlook this one on next trip to chiang mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyDuece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning after a night in the bus from Ayhutthaya so we quickly wanted a room. Our room was spacious but dirty, the shower was falling apart and the sheets were not clean. At night many scooters come by, no idea why. Plus many dogs were barking close to our window during the night. The best and only good part of this place is the pool!! We heard from others, staying at Julie's Guesthouse, that they payed less per night and had were happy with their choice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank daphneleonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

A very cosy place located perfectly in a Quist street in the old town. Lots of great restaurants nearby. The room was not very nice though. Dirty, dark and dirty towels. The other guests were quite noisy at night. Fine pool area. Only stay there if the room standard is not important to you.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sallydorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Reception is open all night which is handy Note that this guesthouse tends to attract families and people with kids due to the pool. The wi-fi is decent, none of the 4 advertised computers work (which they failed to mention until after check in). They keep a cat which has no feeling in it's legs, and it tends to cry a lot and several guests mentioned they had been woken by it in the morning. That said it iss off the main road so there is very little traffic noise. Some of the lower end rooms feel a bit 'motel' but they're clean and functioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethanjstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#313 of 394 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
0 km away
Smile House Chiangmai
Smile House Chiangmai
#525 of 809 in Chiang Mai
31 reviews
1.2 km away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#218 of 394 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Gap's House
Gap's House
#345 of 809 in Chiang Mai
191 reviews
0.8 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#24 of 809 in Chiang Mai
486 reviews
3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Guest House

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, 83000 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 809 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €4 - €6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House Guest House, in the true Lanna lifestyle, is located in the heart of old city, within walking distance of all major Wats and night life attractions. We are a 3-minute-walk from the moat so as to optimize the fun and joy of Loi Kratong and Songkran festivities. Our guest house offers large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with convenience of community room for social gatherings. Our swimming pool sits adjacent to our cocktail and food service so as to provide comfort and refreshments while lounging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smile House Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing