We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (2min walk.to Tae Pae gate), decent enough rooms.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smile House Guest House
Ranked #579 of 806 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Reception is open all night which is handy Note that this guesthouse tends to attract families and people with kids due to the pool. The wi-fi is decent, none of the 4 advertised computers work (which they failed to mention until after check in). They keep a cat which has no feeling in it's legs, and it tends to cry a lot and several guests mentioned they had been woken by it in the morning. That said it iss off the main road so there is very little traffic noise. Some of the lower end rooms feel a bit 'motel' but they're clean and functioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethanjstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

So close to everything!! Beds were very uncomfortable and rooms had bug problems but the staff were very kind. Pool was very nice and chill. 500 baht a night for a fan room and 700 baht for AC room. Just a really basic room good for backpackers.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Pool was nice, and they were flexible with my dates as I traveled the region (and came and went). Otherwise I feel like there might be better value elsewhere. Shower pressure was minimal, toilet struggled to flush, a/c didn't work too well. Additionally for some reason there was constantly mosquitoes in the room at night. Overall pretty shabby. As a solo traveler/backpacker I don't exactly have super high standards, but I just thought it wasn't much for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I loved having the pool and the location is awesome. Wifi was really bad though. No food served here, which was a bit annoying. Good place to meet people. Staff is really friendly. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corsicacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Really loved this hotel. There are plenty of drawbacks - a lack of elevators and curtains, which means the sun will interrupt your sleep every morning - but these were more than compensated for by the lovely staff, the chilled-out pool area and the fact that it's about two minutes from the centre of Chiang Mai. It's probably overpriced, but I felt very comfortable there, which was worth paying a premium for.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the west side of the building, if possible, to shield yourself from the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#313 of 393 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
0 km away
Smile House Chiangmai
Smile House Chiangmai
#524 of 806 in Chiang Mai
31 reviews
1.2 km away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#217 of 393 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Gap's House
Gap's House
#336 of 806 in Chiang Mai
191 reviews
0.8 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#24 of 806 in Chiang Mai
486 reviews
3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Guest House

Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, 83000 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 806 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €4 - €6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House Guest House, in the true Lanna lifestyle, is located in the heart of old city, within walking distance of all major Wats and night life attractions. We are a 3-minute-walk from the moat so as to optimize the fun and joy of Loi Kratong and Songkran festivities. Our guest house offers large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with convenience of community room for social gatherings. Our swimming pool sits adjacent to our cocktail and food service so as to provide comfort and refreshments while lounging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smile House Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing