We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money. Excellent place to stay”
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #89 of 385 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for the money. Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at the mansion for 5 nights. The staff was extremely nice. Place was very clean. Rooms were perfect for 2 people, and included a small sitting area. Great rate. They even let us switch one of our reservation to another night when we decided to go to chaing rai last minute and volunteered to hold our bags for us. The hotel is a bit outside the city but it only cost 100 baht for our family of four to get into the city. Great cheap local market around the corner. Would definately stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swasilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    74
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
59
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My wife and I stayed for a month at Viangbua Mansion in Chiang Mai. We were a little wary after not enjoying Bangkok but all our fears were allayed virtually as soon as we walked through the front door. Reception staff were welcoming (and remained friendly and helpful over the 30 days-spending a not inconsiderable time answering our questions about the way of life here, cultural differences, how to find tourist destinations etc ).
Our apartment was spacious and located with a view from the 7th floor. A hot plate, microwave, fridge and urn allowed us to self cater when we wished. Being serviced 3 times a week meant the apartment was always clean and tidy. The housekeepers were pleasant and hardworking. Perhaps the only improvement would be an updated TV.
In the area is a market (where in Thailand isn't there one?), several restaurants, cafes and coffee shops that provide a variety of food that is always cheap. Our favourite was Spirit House virtually across the road where the specials menu changed every week and both Thai and Western foods were available. Steve was a gracious and knowledgeable host.
The perhaps unofficial taxi driver across the road loves and cares for his car. He is a cautious driver and we always felt safe with him whether it was on the mountainous road to Doi Suthep or around the city in the crazy traffic.
Visit one of the elephant farms, Tiger Kingdom was interesting-although I haven't made up my mind about the ethics of their organisation-and the snake farm was interesting.
We took the opportunity to use the services of Grace Dental 10 minutes away for excellent dental work.
Finally, it is the people who work at Viangbua thta make it what it is and the place is a credit to manager "A".

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountains are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AussieOseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in February.
I loved the room - beautifully furnished, comfortable bed, and so much space. A whole other sitting room with a TV so we could thoroughly spread out, and a balcony to watch the Chinese New Year fireworks and look at the mountain in the distance. The bathroom had an awesome big shower.
Free Wifi - super handy. Good breakfast included.
However I did find our walls to be a bit thin, and so our sleep was interrupted by the TV next door that was on all night.. We could hear people talking fairly clearly in the adjacent rooms, but this wasn't a huge problem as noone was staying up late and partying.

Also, it is about a brisk 30-40 minute walk into the centre of town. This isn't a bad thing, as I think the area around the hotel is equally as interesting as downtown. There are some great markets, food and clothes, that are worth exploring.

If we hadn't stayed at Viangbua we wouldn't have eaten at Spirit House, which is across the tiny street and made Viangbua Mansion an even better option. Probably one of the best restaurants we ate at in 2 months of travelling. And the owner is an excellent host. Be prepared to spend a little more if you're on a backpacking budget. Worth every penny.
He also told us about a pool in the area, if it's really hot and you need some relief.

All up - well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maaskant23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Wow! This is a great place to stay in Chiang Mai. The rooms are fantastically clean and the staff are friendly and super-professional. It is located a little out of the centre, but you can always catch a taxi or tuk-tuk to where you want to go. Opposite the hotel is a great restaurant, the Spirit House, run by a guy called Steve. If you want a decent, comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay, then Viangbua is a great choice. I heartily recommend it and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The staff (if you have seen the video clips) do dance when no one is around, my son spotted one!Very friendly staff, they all smile all day, you don't see that in the other 5 or 4 star hotels. Beds were a little firm but we quickly got used to that. Rooms were cleaned well and the staff were very helpful with any additional rooms needs when asked. The hotel was quiet and didn't have any smoke smells as someone else claimed.Whilst free the in house internet was slow so we used the cafes just across the road for 4 baht for 30 mins. Breakfast menu was okay, you can order bacon and eggs which isn't on the menu, but there was allways plenty of fruit and they make a good fresh coffee. As mentioned by others it is a little way out of the mainstream but that is what makes it so good, you get up close to the locals and where they live. Hotel security was excellent and even the local police drop in to the cafe in reception for a coffee during the night. The Spirit House across the road from the hotel has fine thai cuisine but a little expensive by Thai standards, they also have talent scouts who approach good looking young caucasian boys to model clothes and will approach minors directly, we really didn't appreciate that so parents be on your guard. We didn't go back there again after that experience. There is a great restaurant across the road from Spirit House 20 metres on the right hand side of the road as you leave the hotel, Nu and his family run it. Nu trained and worked in a Sydney (Australia) Thai restaurant for 8 years so he has a good understanding of food hygiene standards. His runs it with his Mum and other family members, excellent food and for 300 baht you can feed a family of 5 which includes drinks. Can't speak more highly of the place! It doesn't have the atmospere of the Spirit house but at a third of the price I can live with that. We made Nu's restaurant our main spot to eat when we could.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 km away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 385 in Chiang Mai
552 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#115 of 385 in Chiang Mai
65 reviews
1.1 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 385 in Chiang Mai
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
0.1 km away
Tarntong Boutique
Tarntong Boutique
#168 of 755 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
0.4 km away
Banilah
Banilah
#37 of 755 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Property: Viangbua Mansion
Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing