We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
331
90
42
17
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
331
90
42
17
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city dao libre elephants guesthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Libra guesthouse is perfectly located in Chiang Mai and has a range of rooms for every budget. But what really made our trip to chiang mai was the staff. We had limited time but by talking with the amazing staff who run the guesthouse we were able to arrange everything easily. They even booked our bus while we were away on our trek so that we were sure of a seat. Amazing local knowledge and truly lovely people.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LazLeRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had a nice week long stay at the Libra Guesthouse, was recommended by a lady we met on the train journey there! The owners are very friendly, the rooms spacious and very cheap for what you get. Good location too. Thanks for a nice stay.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've stayed at several places in Chiang Mai, Libra has been my favorite. Perfect location in the calmer northeast corner of the old city. The owners are great, super helpful and very funny. Be aware that it's high season plus the flower festival, so most places are booked or only have one night available at a time, it's difficult to find multiple nights by walking around, you'll see lots of people trying... Libra's less expensive 400-800 baht high season rate rooms were full, but they had a large 1000 baht room available for several nights, good value, it's just as nice as one that I had paid quite a bit more for in the noisy center of town. Mostly young backpackers but also some families. Nice garden areas and good food. Room 108, so quiet, the only sounds were the birds outside and the refrigerator. I'll be back in a couple weeks to go on their 3-day trek, looks like fun and good reviews.

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is a nice family run guest house in a chilled area of Chiang Mai. The family were nice, washing service was fast and cheap. I only ate breakfast there once but it was pretty good. There's a garden out the back. WARNING don't book Room 4, or insist upon not having it. The room is simple but nice but the water from the tap smelt so strongly of rotten eggs it made me feel sick every time i turned it on. Also the owners have put a smoking area/bench outside the door/window of the room which means other people's smoke wafts in.
I'd stay here again but in a different room.

Room tip: Don't choose room 4!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhik_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Libra was basic but it dont matter because in chiang mai your always doing something it was perfectly fine for a bed to stay in ! frendly staff and close to most things in Chiang mai !! You deffo have to go to the ibra guesthouse and book their elephant trekking trip with them its the best and the tour leader toto was the best :) also book a cooking course through libra but make sure you choose 'Thai secret cooking school' thats by far the best :)

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews