We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic brunch”
Review of The Hideout

The Hideout
Ranked #7 of 2,584 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We don't serve fast food at our small, non-airconditioned restaurant. Sandwich, salad and breakfast restaurant serving locally-sourced coffee beans and fresh fruit for smoothies. Our bagels and baguettes are made by a bakery to our high standards and we make our own yoghurt. Use of high quality ingredients and skillful techniques gives you the taste of fine-dining without the fine-dining price. Find out where the flavour is hiding!
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Love this place. Relaxed atmosphere in a side road. Sandwich was excellent! I had the "Godfather" baguette with chicken, bacon, egg and avocado, I really liked the bread as well - delicious. Staff is friendly, prices are reasonable for the quality. Iced coffee was great. I'll definitely come back again.

Thank alphazueri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

It's wonderful news that you felt we deserve a repeat visit! Thank you for posting a review! You noticed one of the important parts of our mission – to serve high quality at a reasonable price. Fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018

We had brunch here. It's very small with limited seating so we had a wait. It was worth it.We both had sandwiches which were wonderful.It's not cheap by Thai standards,but you are paying for quality. We live near by and will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

We really appreciate it that you weren't in a rush so you could wait! Thank you for that and also for posting your review! It's great that you pointed out that the prices of our menu items are based on ingredient quality. We don't buy cheap stuff! Many travellers don't know that bread costs 10 times the price of rice here in Thailand. It means that a sandwich is automatically the price of a local food dish just because of the bread. I'll get off my soapbox now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

A straightforward menu with tasty options including lox, cream cheese and bagels! Excellent coffee drinks, divine eggs. Worth the hunt to find down the street. Small but, cozy.

Thank AudsJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor and for hunting us down! We're glad you enjoyed our wares!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

I've gone to The Hideout three different times and I've only ordered the veggie bagel because it's so good. The bagel is so delicious! My sister ordered the Greek salad and the dressing was good! The Thai staff is so friendly! I would recommend this place for breakfast!

Thank katiekhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for visiting us three times and for posting a review! It's lovely to hear that the Veggie bagel satisfied you to this level. We like to improve at every opportunity we get so, if you have time, I'd love to know what we could have done better or differently to receive that fifth star from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

I had the French toast. You better go on empty stomach as the portions is large. You can add any toppings that you like. Also had a coffee. Cool place and has wifi if you need it.

Thank alnoor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your visit and for posting a review. It's a good recommendation that those intending to eat the French Toast alone have an appetite. I'd love to know what we could have done better or differently to receive that fifth star from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideout also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Hideout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing