We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Philip Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thannatee Boutique hotel
Ranked #34 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This is our second night here, took a bit of finding,Thai sat nav not the best !! We Were greeted in a very friendly manner on arrival, our room is their top of the range and is top class, the attention to detail is thoughtful and makes all the difference, the staff have all got a smile on their faces and nothing is too much trouble, we ate out last night, but breakfast was plentiful and tasty, would recommend this place to people who want a quieter break who want peace and comfort, it’s not cheap by Thai standards, but it’s not expensive by ours and I think represents good value !! If we come this way again, we will stay here !!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two night and had a handful of problems. However, their management is impeccable and genuinely listened to my complaints and made an effort to better my experience. To provide detail- my room had a broken mirror on the floor and exposed wire from where it fell above the bathroom ceiling, my friend and I were placed second to non paying customers who interrupted us attempting to receive direction from the desk attendant on how to use their shuttle service to a massage (which ultimately led to us not even being able to get the massage because she continued to focus on the other customers who interrupted her assisting us), and we were certain both of our rooms would come with bath tubs and neither of them did.

Solutions: We understood that our misunderstandings of our room came from a misunderstanding on our end but also slight misrepresentation of photos from the booking site we used. The manager apologized for me even being allowed to see a room that needed repair and agreed that it was very unprofessional and potentially hazardous. She also listened carefully to our bad customer service experience regarding the massage and agreed that it is not the standard of service that the hotel advertises and can provide. It was important to her to know our entire experience so she could speak with her staff to ensure it doesn’t happen to someone else.

We felt that being listened to and then re-accommodated in this way by the manager was phenomenal. That is why I still think this is a wonderful hotel. Mistakes were made but they were also fully attended to and fixed.

And aside from our personal experiences this hotel is gorgeous and yet another hidden hem of Chiang Mai.

Special thank you to the manager Wii.

*We are American visitors*

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank WorldWoman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Had a really comfortable 3 night stay here last month. This small boutique hotel is adequate enough, for the traveller who plans on spending the greater part of the day exploring the sights and wonders of the fascinating city of Chiang Mai.
It was clean and very traditionally decorated, which was a refreshing change from the typical western decor. The location was good too, as most things were within walking distance. Breakfast also had a good choice.
The staff are really friendly, kind and helpful. We made the mistake of booking a tour through a travel agent, which went seriously wrong. The two receptionists went out of their way to help, and aided us in getting our cash back and organising another trip for us. I'm so grateful for that, and would advise others to organise their trips via the hotel to be safe and sure.
I would definately stay here again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Amazing hotel with great value. The decor is out of this world - ornate with dark rich wood. If you like the steampunk look, you will love this. The fan is an antique brass-looking one, and even the aircon unit is painted black. Bed is big and comfortable, and there is a large jacuzzi bathtub with changing coloured lights. It's within walking distance of the old city (about 10-15 min).

There is a nice garden at the back, with a reading room and computers for public use, but there were a lot of mosquitoes there.

We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

On our first trip to Chiang Mai, we stayed at the Thannatee. We were there for three nights.

Staff: For the most part, the staff was very nice and accommodating. The only complaint I have about the staff is a woman that works the restaurant part was not especially friendly and was coughing everywhere without covering her mouth.

Room: Our room was on the first floor just outside of the waterfall. The room was small, but quaint. Not much storage space except for the armoire in the room. The room and the bathroom was extremely dark. It has dark wood on the walls and ceiling and the lighting is VERY dim. The bed was comfortable and we had no problems sleeping. The bathroom is very small and the shower shares space with the toilet, which makes it a little tricky taking a shower and not getting water everywhere. We didn't see any bugs in our room, BUT the mosquitos are abundant. They do provide mosquito cream in the room, which helped. There was also a coffee maker, hair dryer, and shower gel, shampoo and conditioner dispenser in the "shower".

Restaurant: The restaurant is in the front of the hotel. We had lunch there two days in a row and it was very good. The breakfast is decent...not elaborate...but, good enough to start the day.

Mosquitos: There are mosquitos everywhere. They provide mosquito cream in the rooms, but I would suggest purchasing additional spray or cream. This is not a problem unique to this hotel. There are mosquitos anyplace you go in Thailand.

Overall, we had no major complaints about our stay. It is a dark hotel with not much lighting. The surrounding neighborhood does not provide much as far as restaurants or markets, however, the night market and other restaurants are only about a four minute tuk tuk ride away. Keep in mind this is a boutique hotel, and not a major chain. The staff tries very hard to make the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
577 reviews
3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
0.8 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
0.9 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
2.1 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thannatee Boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thannatee Boutique hotel

Address: 2/3-7 Raj Chiangsan Rd. | Haiya, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €41 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thannatee Boutique hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thannatee Boutique Hotel provides free shuttle service to Sunday Walking Street and Night Bazaar, a 5-minute walk away. Offering stylish rooms with free Wi-Fi, the hotel features a pool, tour desk and restaurant. The property is 100 metres from Dao Wa Dung Temple. It is a 15-minute drive to Chiang Mai Airport Rooms are furnished with modern Lanna decor. Each room comes with a flat-screen cable/satellite TV, minibar and electric kettle. It also comes with a safety deposit box, slipper and bathrobes. Free toiletries and hairdryer are included in an en suite bathroom. For guests' convenience, the hotel has laundry and airport shuttle services. Free private parking is possible on site. Guests can enjoy a great selection of Thai and European dishes at Ton Kao Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thannatee Boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing