We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
218
163
49
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
163
49
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle dark wood koi pond old city night market beautiful hotel small pool spa bath traditional lanna style south gate close to town small hotel tuk tuk sized bed few minutes walk loved chiang mai tea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two night and had a handful of problems. However, their management is impeccable and genuinely listened to my complaints and made an effort to better my experience. To provide detail- my room had a broken mirror on the floor and exposed wire from where it fell above the bathroom ceiling, my friend and I were placed second to non paying customers who interrupted us attempting to receive direction from the desk attendant on how to use their shuttle service to a massage (which ultimately led to us not even being able to get the massage because she continued to focus on the other customers who interrupted her assisting us), and we were certain both of our rooms would come with bath tubs and neither of them did.

Solutions: We understood that our misunderstandings of our room came from a misunderstanding on our end but also slight misrepresentation of photos from the booking site we used. The manager apologized for me even being allowed to see a room that needed repair and agreed that it was very unprofessional and potentially hazardous. She also listened carefully to our bad customer service experience regarding the massage and agreed that it is not the standard of service that the hotel advertises and can provide. It was important to her to know our entire experience so she could speak with her staff to ensure it doesn’t happen to someone else.

We felt that being listened to and then re-accommodated in this way by the manager was phenomenal. That is why I still think this is a wonderful hotel. Mistakes were made but they were also fully attended to and fixed.

And aside from our personal experiences this hotel is gorgeous and yet another hidden hem of Chiang Mai.

Special thank you to the manager Wii.

*We are American visitors*

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank WorldWoman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Had a really comfortable 3 night stay here last month. This small boutique hotel is adequate enough, for the traveller who plans on spending the greater part of the day exploring the sights and wonders of the fascinating city of Chiang Mai.
It was clean and very traditionally decorated, which was a refreshing change from the typical western decor. The location was good too, as most things were within walking distance. Breakfast also had a good choice.
The staff are really friendly, kind and helpful. We made the mistake of booking a tour through a travel agent, which went seriously wrong. The two receptionists went out of their way to help, and aided us in getting our cash back and organising another trip for us. I'm so grateful for that, and would advise others to organise their trips via the hotel to be safe and sure.
I would definately stay here again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Amazing hotel with great value. The decor is out of this world - ornate with dark rich wood. If you like the steampunk look, you will love this. The fan is an antique brass-looking one, and even the aircon unit is painted black. Bed is big and comfortable, and there is a large jacuzzi bathtub with changing coloured lights. It's within walking distance of the old city (about 10-15 min).

There is a nice garden at the back, with a reading room and computers for public use, but there were a lot of mosquitoes there.

We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SBL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

On our first trip to Chiang Mai, we stayed at the Thannatee. We were there for three nights.

Staff: For the most part, the staff was very nice and accommodating. The only complaint I have about the staff is a woman that works the restaurant part was not especially friendly and was coughing everywhere without covering her mouth.

Room: Our room was on the first floor just outside of the waterfall. The room was small, but quaint. Not much storage space except for the armoire in the room. The room and the bathroom was extremely dark. It has dark wood on the walls and ceiling and the lighting is VERY dim. The bed was comfortable and we had no problems sleeping. The bathroom is very small and the shower shares space with the toilet, which makes it a little tricky taking a shower and not getting water everywhere. We didn't see any bugs in our room, BUT the mosquitos are abundant. They do provide mosquito cream in the room, which helped. There was also a coffee maker, hair dryer, and shower gel, shampoo and conditioner dispenser in the "shower".

Restaurant: The restaurant is in the front of the hotel. We had lunch there two days in a row and it was very good. The breakfast is decent...not elaborate...but, good enough to start the day.

Mosquitos: There are mosquitos everywhere. They provide mosquito cream in the rooms, but I would suggest purchasing additional spray or cream. This is not a problem unique to this hotel. There are mosquitos anyplace you go in Thailand.

Overall, we had no major complaints about our stay. It is a dark hotel with not much lighting. The surrounding neighborhood does not provide much as far as restaurants or markets, however, the night market and other restaurants are only about a four minute tuk tuk ride away. Keep in mind this is a boutique hotel, and not a major chain. The staff tries very hard to make the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

It's got character and waterfalls and style. It doesn't have value, quiet, location, size, room, or doorways tall enough for six footers. Long walk to old central city.
Shower is low and not divided from bathroom.
No elevator.
They gave me a hard time about switching to a quiet room not on main road.
The price was higher then promised contractually agreed booked price. They used a terrible exchange rate to US dollars.
Did not include breakfast.
If you pay more then 1000 baht you're getting a bad deal.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank epicsaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews