We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great!”
Review of SOHOstel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SOHOstel
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed here back in January for a couple of nights, as we were going to Elephant Nature Park and were being picked up on the Monday AM. It is a hostel, but has a few rooms that sleep 3 people and have your own ensuite aka a wet room. Great location, not too much of a busy road. Would stay again and great value for money. There is a temple opposite which we woke too a few times with its bell, but wasn't no biggy!

Room Tip: We used booking.com as you can pay on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandilionaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Staying here was a big mistake. Hostel is located in a decent position but other than that is pretty orrible. Rooms and bathrooms are dirty and were never cleaned during out stay. The whole place is full of bugs and small animals. Staff is friendly but doesn't speak english and therefore not helpful at all. Not recommended.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank valew91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Were meant to stay here for two nights but left after a few minutes! Bathrooms were full of bugs, showers were small and very dirty and we saw a rat in a window of the kitchen area! Language barrier also proved a problem as we had issues trying to check in originally! Steer clear!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Wish i would not have stayed here, the staff was dry and cold, my bed matress was broken they never bother of switching me as i would leave in two days, it is very quiet hostel, you not allowed to do anything, the location its good and it is pretty clean, but has no good vibe, its funny because they have such a potential to be a great place, also the staff wasnt much in the mood to help you go over in the map or give the wifi password which expires you have to keep log in all the time.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKGEBRAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Booked 3 nights here in an 8 bed female dorm after having our booking at our first choice of hostel cancelled last minute in mid-July 2016; this hostel is very large and had plenty of space in all options of accommodation.
The location is good- very close to the night bazaar and within walking distance of many busy bars and tourist attractions. The facilities are clean, and feature a large common space and great kitchen, laundry, and spacious bathrooms. The dorms are basic, although our mattresses were not the most comfortable.
I'd read in other reviews that this hostel was not a good place to meet people, and I can confirm this finding. The common room, while large, was empty most of the time, and our dorm never contained more than 4 people, most staying only 1 night before leaving. At times it felt like they were only filling each room to half capacity, as we saw that there were people in the other dorms on our floor, none of which seemed full. The staff, while pleasant, did not give the impression of going out of their way to improve your stay.
Perhaps in the high season, when it is more busy (there are 8 floors of this hostel!) it is easier to meet people, but considering no events or activities are facilitated by the staff of the hostel, I feel like this is a place to stay if you are only in transit and not trying to be social.

Room Tip: Larger, mixed dorms may be a better option to meet people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 km away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#8 of 974 in Chiang Mai
229 reviews
1.4 km away
Kikie's House
Kikie's House
#476 of 974 in Chiang Mai
144 reviews
1.9 km away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#6 of 974 in Chiang Mai
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#122 of 974 in Chiang Mai
24 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gallery 24, Art Cafe Guesthouse
1.4 km away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#24 of 974 in Chiang Mai
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOHOstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOHOstel

Address: 64/2 Loy Khro Rd Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 974 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €11 - €32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SOHOstel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SOHOstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing