We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total mistake”
Review of SOHOstel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SOHOstel
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Wish i would not have stayed here, the staff was dry and cold, my bed matress was broken they never bother of switching me as i would leave in two days, it is very quiet hostel, you not allowed to do anything, the location its good and it is pretty clean, but has no good vibe, its funny because they have such a potential to be a great place, also the staff wasnt much in the mood to help you go over in the map or give the wifi password which expires you have to keep log in all the time.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKGEBRAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016

Booked 3 nights here in an 8 bed female dorm after having our booking at our first choice of hostel cancelled last minute in mid-July 2016; this hostel is very large and had plenty of space in all options of accommodation.
The location is good- very close to the night bazaar and within walking distance of many busy bars and tourist attractions. The facilities are clean, and feature a large common space and great kitchen, laundry, and spacious bathrooms. The dorms are basic, although our mattresses were not the most comfortable.
I'd read in other reviews that this hostel was not a good place to meet people, and I can confirm this finding. The common room, while large, was empty most of the time, and our dorm never contained more than 4 people, most staying only 1 night before leaving. At times it felt like they were only filling each room to half capacity, as we saw that there were people in the other dorms on our floor, none of which seemed full. The staff, while pleasant, did not give the impression of going out of their way to improve your stay.
Perhaps in the high season, when it is more busy (there are 8 floors of this hostel!) it is easier to meet people, but considering no events or activities are facilitated by the staff of the hostel, I feel like this is a place to stay if you are only in transit and not trying to be social.

Room Tip: Larger, mixed dorms may be a better option to meet people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

For a hostel, So hostel is really good value for money. We booked a private room with a double bed and it was comfy and clean. They brought us new water everyday and hung it on the door for us. There's a good atmosphere, free tea and coffee facilities and the staff are really helpful. We booked a trip on the slow boat to Luang Prabang from them and also hired a scooter which was quick and easy. The hostel is along the same road as some cool and quirky bars and it has a nice, friendly atmosphere in the entrance area. Great value for money and we would stay again. Only one slightly annoying thing was that we were in room 204 next to the lift which for some reason has a bell attached to let you know everytime someone uses it. Apart from that though great stay, relaxed and easy.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyandNatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed in a Private Double Room for 4 nights - it was clean, spacious and comfortable (The bed was massive).

The Hostel was modern and really cool. The staff were ok, friendly and helpful enough and helped us with booking some tours.

It was in a good location - halfway between old town and the Night Bazar but in the middle of a number of clubs and pubs that turned into GOGO Bars as the sun went down. However the Thai ladies and ladyboys never bothered us as we walked past.

The only major issue we had was that the Hostel has a great common area downstairs with a kitchen (free coffee facilities), internet area, a little library and seating however we couldnt use it because there were SO MANY MOSQUITOES. There were hundreds of them. I got bitten multiple times down there. Such a pity.

Overall though it was great for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I would say it is suitable for backpackers to stay. Good location with massages, bars, stores and restaurants nearby, clean and comfortable beds and love the design of the common areas on each floors very much.

I would only say the it would be better if their login system of the Wi-Fi can be fix, as it is very inconvenient to re-login every time when we stop using the phone few minutes.

Overall it is a good place for backpacker to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nickcK138AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 km away
Kikie's House
Kikie's House
#444 of 992 in Chiang Mai
146 reviews
3.3 km away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#127 of 992 in Chiang Mai
25 reviews
0.5 km away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#8 of 992 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Gallery 24, Art Cafe Guesthouse
0.9 km away
House No. 11
House No. 11
#29 of 992 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
1.4 km away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#24 of 992 in Chiang Mai
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOHOstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOHOstel

Address: 64/2 Loy Khro Rd Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 992 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €11 - €32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SOHOstel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SOHOstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing