We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
50
96
52
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
96
52
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews person dorm common space cheaper places old town facilities backpackers stains temple
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Booked 3 nights here in an 8 bed female dorm after having our booking at our first choice of hostel cancelled last minute in mid-July 2016; this hostel is very large and had plenty of space in all options of accommodation.
The location is good- very close to the night bazaar and within walking distance of many busy bars and tourist attractions. The facilities are clean, and feature a large common space and great kitchen, laundry, and spacious bathrooms. The dorms are basic, although our mattresses were not the most comfortable.
I'd read in other reviews that this hostel was not a good place to meet people, and I can confirm this finding. The common room, while large, was empty most of the time, and our dorm never contained more than 4 people, most staying only 1 night before leaving. At times it felt like they were only filling each room to half capacity, as we saw that there were people in the other dorms on our floor, none of which seemed full. The staff, while pleasant, did not give the impression of going out of their way to improve your stay.
Perhaps in the high season, when it is more busy (there are 8 floors of this hostel!) it is easier to meet people, but considering no events or activities are facilitated by the staff of the hostel, I feel like this is a place to stay if you are only in transit and not trying to be social.

Room tip: Larger, mixed dorms may be a better option to meet people.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

For a hostel, So hostel is really good value for money. We booked a private room with a double bed and it was comfy and clean. They brought us new water everyday and hung it on the door for us. There's a good atmosphere, free tea and coffee facilities and the staff are really helpful. We booked a trip on the slow boat to Luang Prabang from them and also hired a scooter which was quick and easy. The hostel is along the same road as some cool and quirky bars and it has a nice, friendly atmosphere in the entrance area. Great value for money and we would stay again. Only one slightly annoying thing was that we were in room 204 next to the lift which for some reason has a bell attached to let you know everytime someone uses it. Apart from that though great stay, relaxed and easy.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AndyandNatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed in a Private Double Room for 4 nights - it was clean, spacious and comfortable (The bed was massive).

The Hostel was modern and really cool. The staff were ok, friendly and helpful enough and helped us with booking some tours.

It was in a good location - halfway between old town and the Night Bazar but in the middle of a number of clubs and pubs that turned into GOGO Bars as the sun went down. However the Thai ladies and ladyboys never bothered us as we walked past.

The only major issue we had was that the Hostel has a great common area downstairs with a kitchen (free coffee facilities), internet area, a little library and seating however we couldnt use it because there were SO MANY MOSQUITOES. There were hundreds of them. I got bitten multiple times down there. Such a pity.

Overall though it was great for the price.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I would say it is suitable for backpackers to stay. Good location with massages, bars, stores and restaurants nearby, clean and comfortable beds and love the design of the common areas on each floors very much.

I would only say the it would be better if their login system of the Wi-Fi can be fix, as it is very inconvenient to re-login every time when we stop using the phone few minutes.

Overall it is a good place for backpacker to stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nickcK138AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

I booked dormitory room for trips with my friends here. Great location, you can find lots of tour and restaurants nearby. It's not very far from the central also. The Staff is friendly and helpful. Bed is clean and neat. Quite pleasant to stay.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGOC ANH N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews