We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mercure Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$38
US$31
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Lanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$75
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$346
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$180
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$114
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,666)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
529
684
343
81
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
684
343
81
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary dinnernight marketgift bagwelcome giftfruit basketbreakfast buffetfree wifituk tukbit datedreception stafflarge hotelhotel is greatold cityhotel is locatedtour deskan upgradenice pool
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I've stayed here many times, and despite the Empress being one of the older hotels in Chiang Mai and is showing it a little, with slightly tired decor and noisy aircon, everything else is just brilliant.

The staff are some of the best in Thailand, speaking perfect English as well as treating you like royalty. Free gifts aplenty here, so you will need to save space in your suitcase!

Loads of excursions may be booked at the hotel too.

10 mins walk from the night bazaar so excellent location. Pool is nice and the bar staff at the pool are very attentive.

Note: this hotel is a large hotel and popular with Chinese tourists arriving on large coaches, so at times the lobby can seem incredibly busy so just be aware of this.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dsr58772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This was the first hotel on our recent trip and it set the standard food really the others. The staff were very friendly and the rooms large and comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance of the night markets and other attractions in Chiang Mai. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nola103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, clean, and great service! When I arrived there was a plate of fruit and a bag of snacks waiting for me. I liked all dark wood furnishings and it had a regal feel to it.

The pool was great, plenty of umbrellas and little bells to call if you wanted to order a drink. The sun didn’t hit the pool directly until after 11, but once it did it was quite hot and the shade felt nice.

Breakfast had a variety of Asian options, fresh waffles, omelets, fresh fruit, pastries, and more. I didn’t eat any meals other than breakfast but it was quite satisfactory.

Night bazaar was 10-15 min walk and most of the attractions of old city were about 30 min walking. In the immediate area there’s not a ton of stuff, but there are certainly a few massage places and restaurants. The closer you get to the night bazaar the more options.

As far as beds go most of my hotels in Thailand had very hard beds, either I got used to it or this one was less hard...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Thecadymich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Empress Hotel. The hotel itself was tastefully done, the service was good, the rooms were spacious and tastefully appointed. My only complaint has to do with the use of duvets as the only top cover on the beds. They are attractive and appropriate in cool climates, but we always end up removing the interior and using just the cover.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Me and my friends used to stay over at The Park hotel which is the chain hotel for The Empress and recommend by Mr.Paul so last month i had a trip to Chiang Mai again and stay at The Empress which i really liked, they had the best quality services and very nice room...Thank you Mr. Paul!!!!

Room Tip: Best service
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taylor555670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews