We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but still a good hotel with nice breakfast.”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #50 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The hotel is at least 25 years old, but it is still nice. We booked a standart room but we got an upgrade to a suite. The breakfast is nice with a lot to choose from. Staff is very friendly and the location is near the night market.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PeC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

I've stayed here many times, and despite the Empress being one of the older hotels in Chiang Mai and is showing it a little, with slightly tired decor and noisy aircon, everything else is just brilliant.

The staff are some of the best in Thailand, speaking perfect English as well as treating you like royalty. Free gifts aplenty here, so you will need to save space in your suitcase!

Loads of excursions may be booked at the hotel too.

10 mins walk from the night bazaar so excellent location. Pool is nice and the bar staff at the pool are very attentive.

Note: this hotel is a large hotel and popular with Chinese tourists arriving on large coaches, so at times the lobby can seem incredibly busy so just be aware of this.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dsr58772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This was the first hotel on our recent trip and it set the standard food really the others. The staff were very friendly and the rooms large and comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance of the night markets and other attractions in Chiang Mai. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nola103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, clean, and great service! When I arrived there was a plate of fruit and a bag of snacks waiting for me. I liked all dark wood furnishings and it had a regal feel to it.

The pool was great, plenty of umbrellas and little bells to call if you wanted to order a drink. The sun didn’t hit the pool directly until after 11, but once it did it was quite hot and the shade felt nice.

Breakfast had a variety of Asian options, fresh waffles, omelets, fresh fruit, pastries, and more. I didn’t eat any meals other than breakfast but it was quite satisfactory.

Night bazaar was 10-15 min walk and most of the attractions of old city were about 30 min walking. In the immediate area there’s not a ton of stuff, but there are certainly a few massage places and restaurants. The closer you get to the night bazaar the more options.

As far as beds go most of my hotels in Thailand had very hard beds, either I got used to it or this one was less hard...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Thecadymich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Empress Hotel. The hotel itself was tastefully done, the service was good, the rooms were spacious and tastefully appointed. My only complaint has to do with the use of duvets as the only top cover on the beds. They are attractive and appropriate in cool climates, but we always end up removing the interior and using just the cover.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,745 reviews
0.9 km away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
0.8 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#74 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#59 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,364 reviews
0.9 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,426 reviews
1.2 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 199/42 Chang Klan Rd, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €47 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing