We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very adequate reasonable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #52 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
new plymouth
Level Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very adequate reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Rooms were fine, had air con. Pool adequate, American breakfast is excellent and includes some thai dishes too. Very good value. Gym a bit basic, but hotel a fraction fo some others nearby. Position is right in the night market, got rooms facing away from it so noise not an issue.

Room Tip: pick side away from night market
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    574
    244
    53
    39
See reviews for
236
516
114
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel does not look as grand as the other hotels occupied by our fellow travellers in the same tour group. We were slightly disappointed when we first saw the hotel as we had paid more to 'upgrade' to this hotel as the first hotel of our choice was not available.

The first obstacle we met was the flight of steps up to the hotel lobby. It usually does not concern me but I was travelling with my aunt who uses walking cane. While there are only about six-seven steps but the steps are slightly higher than normal. Plus there is no grip for my aunt to hold on while climbing the steps. But we managed in the end, slowly... The hotel does have luggage ramp but it is really steep. We saw a lady on wheelchair being pushed up the ramp on the day we checked out. Wonder how exciting the way down will be...

The good thing about the hotel is its location. Turn right from the hotel is a stretch of shops including "Le Best Massage" (400 baht for 2 hours of thai massage or 600 baht for 2 hours of foot flexology. Simply wonderful), 7-11, a drug store and at the far end, panthip plaza which has an aircon food court on its fourth floor (we bought 500 baht food vouchers and had a very well spread and full lunch for eight pax). Turn left and you'll get Haagen-Dazs, Starbucks and further down after Le Meridien hotel, "boots". At evening time, the streets come to live as it become the night market. There is a zebra crossing right in front of the hotel and the hotel bell boy will provide assistance when crossing the road. Not that we needed the help as the traffic is relatively slow but it did make me feel safer when crossing the road at night with the elderlies.

Buffet breakfast is provided on the first floor. There is a decent spread of food comprising fried rice, pad thai, congee, cereal, bread, salad, fruits and an egg counter. But late comers may need to wait quite a while for tables, especially when the hotel is fully occupied.

The rooms are well lit. There is a welcome fruit basket. They provide bathrobes, extra pillow, hair dryer, weighing scale, hot water flask, coffee, tea, bottled water, safe in the room but you need to call housekeeping for toothbrush and non-slip bath mat. There is also a full length mirror near the window which is useful when we tried out our tailor-made clothes.

There is also free WIFI but you need to get the ID and password from the front desk which issued them in slips of 15 minutes, 30 minutes, an hour or three hours.

The hotel may need another maintenance soon. On our second night, the main water pipe broke, water cascaded down the emergency stairwell and we had no clean water for close to two hours. The hotel staff handled the matter quite well though providing up to date information whenever we called.

Overall, dun mind staying there again. But I will make sure I book the next door's massage in advance so that I can have a good night sleep immediately after the massage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I came to have seminar with our company, the hotel had very good services including good taste atmosphere surrounded if we compared with any same size hotels. I appreciated the Italian restaurant with satisfied service and the jazz band nearby the hotel that I've ever tried to see. Foods and drinks are fantastic, there are International buffet, Chinese, Italian food and Coffee shop and bar. And if you need to buy somethings at convenient store there is 7-11 shop opposite the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirawtap A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a great small hotel for its price range. Good value and the rooms are clean and have all the key facilities you need. Best of all is its location in the heart of the night market and also not far from the lovely riverside bars and restaurants.

Breakfast is simple, but fine and plenty of choice. lovely staff, so friendly and helpful. A great place to start your visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterAjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay because of the very friendly helpful staff and the good location in the middle of the Night Market. The transfer from the airport was included in the price, which was very reasonable anyway.
Our room was fairly small but comfortable. My only gripe would be about the shower which had no door meaning that the water tended to spread over the bathroom floor. The bed was quite hard which seems to be the norm in Thailand but we slept well and the room was quiet.
Breakfast was good with a wide choice of food and very pleasant service. We ate in the hotel on our first night and the food was good and not expensive although hardly anyone else was eating there.
We booked excursions through the hotel excursion desk and, again, these were not expensive and enjoyable.
Another plus was the free internet in the lobby.
Altogether a good value hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.1 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.6 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant business. We are a member of Dusit International and going to change our hotel name to Dusit Princess Chiangmai Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing