We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #69 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, initially given room 209 which was very dated and tired looking, but the toilet flush ran continuously which meant the cistern was filled every few minutes through the night so we were moved to 407. This seemed a more modern room, better tv, air-con and bathroom even if a little dated. Comfortable bed, good breakfast and brilliant location in the old town. All of the staff were helpful and was only about 10 minutes from the airport. Other than breakfast didn’t eat in as lots of choices nearby. Small swimming pool and limited sun loungers but we were too busy to sunbathe. When checking out we had to wait at the desk while they checked that nothing was missing from the room, or broken, so unnecessary and they had asked if we wanted a breakfast box as we left at 5:30 am but then denied we had asked for one.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BudgeLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

To me, this feels more like a motel than a hotel since you walk out of your room onto an outside corridor shared with other rooms - and which also serves as a "balcony" for some rooms. Consequently, most rooms are very visible and privacy depends on location - which is why we moved from the first room assigned to us. While the room we ended up with had a bit more privacy and a relatively private balcony, it did not get dark at night for a couple of reasons: 1) the master electric switch had a bright, flashing blue light and the a/c had a bright light (both of which I tried to tape up, which only dimmed them but did not black them out); 2) the bathroom was separated from the sleeping area by a glass wall and also had a window to the exterior corridor, which had a light right outside the window. Consequently, even though we had blackout drapes, the room was quite bright at night. The room itself was comfortable enough (except for the foam pillows, which were a bit too hard for me) and the desk was adequate to work at, but the whole thing could use a bit of renovation and sprucing up. The room was clean and relatively quiet, although we could occasionally hear traffic at night. The wifi/internet provided was free, but the connection varied in strength and kept booting me off, which required me to sign in frequently. Breakfast was plentiful with omelets that were fresh and not dried out. Staff was professional but it was sometimes not easy to communicate in English. The best thing about it was the location in old town, so we were able to walk to several attractions we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The breakfast was great, lots of buffet choices. Staff went out of their way to ensure we met our connecting buses, and looked after our luggage for free when we went out of town for a few days. Quieter area but not far to walk to most things

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Alex & Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I have stayed in Chiangmai many times. We had been staying at one of the larger hotels but want to spend a couple night in a "nicer" place. So based on rating and photos on the internet we selected De Lanna. We paid over $60USD on hotels.com. It is "boutique hotel". We found out this means there is not central AC, it is kind of old, lots of teak. We had mice/rats get into our food. I mentioned this to the staff and they felt bad.....but did not offer to do anything about it. The location is find but not great. In Chiangmai there are many other options I would recommend. Our friends paid over $110 usd for a "super room" which was basically the same things with a tub. The staff was nice and the breakfast was fine. They seemed to have a lot of rules (no early or late check-in) and did not seems to want to flex. If it was $40 usd in Chiang Man I would recommend it.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear lovely guests,

Sorry for your food that got eaten by something, but after you reported to our staffs on your check-out time, we did ask you for caring, but you said it was o.k. However, you mentioned to them that you heard the noise in the earlier night and thought something was eating your chocolate bar at night (1st night). If you have told us about this after your first night, we would ask you to relocate to the other room instead of staying in the same room. We will clean and clear the room to find and hole or place that rats or animal can hide in the room for you. But you just told us for on your check-out time and we could not do anything about that for you. After you reported this (Chocolate got bitten on the first night and a banana got bitten on the second night) on your check out date, we did investigate this right away to find that animal in that room. However, after search and find in every inch of the room, we could not find anything. There is no hole to access into the room from the outside and no place to hide. We wonder whether you left your food outside the room at your terrace or not. If you left your food at the table sit at the terrace outside the room overnight, it could have some bats come to eat your food (such as a banana in your case). We are sorry that this incident happened to you and hope we can get more information to you where exactly you left the food in order to improve our facilities and to inform other guests to prevent this kind of incident. For our price, it depends on how you feel about it. If you compare our price to other places that have the same facilities with us, we believe that our price is much lower than other places in this old city area. We receive "Best value hotel" award in 2015 from voting from Chinese tourists and conduct in Weibo website (Chinese renowned website). That means we gave most of everything we have to our customers and with this price, you cannot get better than this in other places. Every hotel has rules and we do the same most hotels have. We do very flexible on the check-in and check-out time. It's up to our room availability and we ease customers to do the best as they want on time that not conflict with our room availability. Hope you understand us in all aspects that we mentioned and hope to service you again in your next Chiang Mai visit.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The hotel is situated in the center of Chiang Mai close to good thai restaurants. It has a nice pool and a small restaurant where you can order drinks.
We had a honey moon suite but were not on a honey moon. We got the room simply because everything else was fully booked. The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated with Swan folded towels. We had a shower and a Jacuzzi tub. Water was provided for free in glass bottles.
The room was tidy and clean, but not extremely clean. But taking into consideration the rest, for me it was ok.

The staff was very nice and pleasant.
The thing I didn't like, was the breakfast. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, but I would have expected something more, a bigger variety of bread (not just toast) I had better before... and maybe I am spoiled.
The breakfast starts at 7AM and one morning, we had to leave at 7:30, so we were present at 7AM. There were plenty of things missing, like butter and there was no pancakes, no bananas .... and no fried eggs. However they had enough croissants, which tasted good if you let them go through the toaster.
On the next day, we went at 9 AM and there was only one croissant left but plenty of toast. They had plenty of fruit including bananas. Maybe I should have asked for more croissants.... and maybe they would have brought more. The fried eggs had a funny taste, but were freshly made.
So overall, apart from the breakfast, I would come back as I really like the vibe of the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor have direct access to pool, but have a full window and may be visible to others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tati R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paokung, Owner at De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear lovely guests,

Thank you for your valuable reviews. We will improve our breakfast services and other aspects to meet the high standard quality and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,022 reviews
1.4 km away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#31 of 403 in Chiang Mai
536 reviews
1.3 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#61 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,030 reviews
0.1 km away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#47 of 403 in Chiang Mai
530 reviews
4.7 km away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Intavarorot Rd. | Tambol Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €54 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Lanna Hotel is a newly 4-star boutique hotel located in the inner center of Chiang Mai old city. The hotel is closed to many cultural sites and markets such as Wat Phra Sigh Temple and Sunday Walking Street Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing