We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,amazing amazing amazing people,delicious food.”
Review of Junior Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Junior Guest House
Ranked #40 of 805 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Hotel owners are amazing amazing people. They helped us with everything,i mean everything. They even helped me with my booking to koh samet and arranging ferry for the same.
Food was amazing.
IF i ever visit chiang mai again(and i will) i am definitely going to stay with them.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the stairs are less noisy (for obvious reasons)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MohitBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016

For a basic budget hotel, you do get exactly what you pay for. It is mostly clean and comfortable and has air con rooms for when the heat gets too much for you. Breakfasts are good and it is in a great location to explore the city. We enjoyed our stay and it was definitely better than some of the other guesthouses we stayed in Chiang Mai for the same price.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

though i requested a quiet room....they gave me the room on the first floor at the stairs going up with lots of noise at night. i even could hear them talking in the reception from my room. staff is super friendly and should guest tell to be quiet at night and not only make signs "dont make noise after 10pm" and then dont enforce them. we paid 7.5€ per night.

Room Tip: dont live near the staircase....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OliverMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The rooms were basic (we paid about $8-10 a night for a private room with a fan) but the atmosphere was great. They allowed us free use of the PC / Internet and the owners got right involved with the planning of trips and partying on the evenings! Tartar and his wife were so friendly and welcoming they truly helped make our holiday. We were at the Guest House for 4 days and in that time we planned for around 21 days of our month long visit. I really couldn't recommend this more even if the dwellings were basic.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This review is long overdue. My family & I have stayed here twice and have no need to stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai. Our most recent trip was 6 nights in Feb/Mar 2016 with a group of 5 (4 adults & 1 5 year old). Our last trip was 3 nights in Feb 2014 (my wife, 3 year old & I). Fortunately the place hasn't changed these last 2 years. The Junior House has everything we need and more. Jeff, Tartar, Fine and the rest of the staff are absolutely amazing and the best team I've ever seen.

Jeff greeted us at the airport with a sign with our names on it...now that's special. Tatar's knowledge of everything Chiang Mai & Thailand helped us with anything and everything we wanted to do. He helped us find the best deals for tours, book our bus tickets by phone (with tickets delivered right to the guesthouse), and even pre arrange reputable taxi/songthew transportation at honest fares (which can be a challenge at times for us non-Thais). Every restaurant Tatar, Jeff or Fine recommended was absolutely amazing and places we wouldn't have ended up trying on our own. They all played with our son and he still talks about when he'll be seeing Tatar, Jeff & PJ (Jeff's daughter) again. The team at the Junior House has a way to make all their guests feel extremely welcome and right at home.

Both trips we rented scooters from Jeff and we did the 800km Mae Hong Son loop on them. He has a small fleet of cool little Honda Clicks and they are a blast to drive. Jeff is very honest and trustworthy. He ensured all damages were properly documented in the pre-inspection...even the ones I couldn't see. The 200 Baht/day/scooter cost is very reasonable and unlike any other scooter rental places we saw, he was willing to accept a cash deposit for them (which we all received back with no issues) rather than make us leave our passports. This trip we rented 4 scooters from him and on our last trip, my wife wanted a smaller one, so he arranged a scooter from his friend with the same terms. Super accommodating. Jeff also made sure we all had helmets that worked for us...even one for our small child and my enormous head.

This trip we stayed right on the bottom floor near the lobby. We spent a lot of time just hanging outside our room at the tables and chairs in the lobby having drinks. There is a fridge with pop, water, beer & wine for purchase in the lobby and we were able to get rum & ice right next door. On our 2014 trip we stayed on the second & third floors.

We utilised the laundry service, which was decently priced and our clothes cleaned and nicely folded for us within a day.

The rooms are basic, but clean. It's not a luxury place, so don't expect that. Both fanned & air conditioned rooms are available. Rooms have individual bathrooms and showers and free wifi, which was good enough to Facetime home to Canada. Our nice cheap 400 Baht/night fanned rooms were all we needed.

The location is also amazing. It's in the north central end of the Chiang Mai square next to Wat Chiang Man (aka the Elephant Temple), a really neat place to spend some time. We walked absolutely everywhere, including the Friday & Saturday markets. Everything seemed close.

The place also serves really good food throughout the day. Unlike us, our son tired of Thai food pretty quick, so the giant pancake he had for breakfast every day at the Junior House filled him pretty good.

This place is the definition of a one stop shop. Everything you need. It really makes it hard to leave. We can't wait to return to the Junior House.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 805 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
1.5 km away
Banilah
Banilah
#33 of 805 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
0.2 km away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#46 of 805 in Chiang Mai
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#6 of 938 in Chiang Mai
342 reviews
1.8 km away
Nonni Guesthouse
Nonni Guesthouse
#37 of 805 in Chiang Mai
129 reviews
1.2 km away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#9 of 805 in Chiang Mai
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junior Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junior Guest House

Address: 21 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 805 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: €9 - €15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Junior Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Junior Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sk House Junior Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing