We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$38
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$53
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$244
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$107
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$153
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
267
113
41
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
113
41
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstartarerooftop jacuzzifan roomgave us a mapold cityown bathroomfelt like homerecommend staying hereelephant sanctuarypad thaitataguesthousetoursthailandmotorbikebackpackerslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016

For a basic budget hotel, you do get exactly what you pay for. It is mostly clean and comfortable and has air con rooms for when the heat gets too much for you. Breakfasts are good and it is in a great location to explore the city. We enjoyed our stay and it was definitely better than some of the other guesthouses we stayed in Chiang Mai for the same price.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

though i requested a quiet room....they gave me the room on the first floor at the stairs going up with lots of noise at night. i even could hear them talking in the reception from my room. staff is super friendly and should guest tell to be quiet at night and not only make signs "dont make noise after 10pm" and then dont enforce them. we paid 7.5€ per night.

Room Tip: dont live near the staircase....
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OliverMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The rooms were basic (we paid about $8-10 a night for a private room with a fan) but the atmosphere was great. They allowed us free use of the PC / Internet and the owners got right involved with the planning of trips and partying on the evenings! Tartar and his wife were so friendly and welcoming they truly helped make our holiday. We were at the Guest House for 4 days and in that time we planned for around 21 days of our month long visit. I really couldn't recommend this more even if the dwellings were basic.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This review is long overdue. My family & I have stayed here twice and have no need to stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai. Our most recent trip was 6 nights in Feb/Mar 2016 with a group of 5 (4 adults & 1 5 year old). Our last trip was 3 nights in Feb 2014 (my wife, 3 year old & I). Fortunately the place hasn't changed these last 2 years. The Junior House has everything we need and more. Jeff, Tartar, Fine and the rest of the staff are absolutely amazing and the best team I've ever seen.

Jeff greeted us at the airport with a sign with our names on it...now that's special. Tatar's knowledge of everything Chiang Mai & Thailand helped us with anything and everything we wanted to do. He helped us find the best deals for tours, book our bus tickets by phone (with tickets delivered right to the guesthouse), and even pre arrange reputable taxi/songthew transportation at honest fares (which can be a challenge at times for us non-Thais). Every restaurant Tatar, Jeff or Fine recommended was absolutely amazing and places we wouldn't have ended up trying on our own. They all played with our son and he still talks about when he'll be seeing Tatar, Jeff & PJ (Jeff's daughter) again. The team at the Junior House has a way to make all their guests feel extremely welcome and right at home.

Both trips we rented scooters from Jeff and we did the 800km Mae Hong Son loop on them. He has a small fleet of cool little Honda Clicks and they are a blast to drive. Jeff is very honest and trustworthy. He ensured all damages were properly documented in the pre-inspection...even the ones I couldn't see. The 200 Baht/day/scooter cost is very reasonable and unlike any other scooter rental places we saw, he was willing to accept a cash deposit for them (which we all received back with no issues) rather than make us leave our passports. This trip we rented 4 scooters from him and on our last trip, my wife wanted a smaller one, so he arranged a scooter from his friend with the same terms. Super accommodating. Jeff also made sure we all had helmets that worked for us...even one for our small child and my enormous head.

This trip we stayed right on the bottom floor near the lobby. We spent a lot of time just hanging outside our room at the tables and chairs in the lobby having drinks. There is a fridge with pop, water, beer & wine for purchase in the lobby and we were able to get rum & ice right next door. On our 2014 trip we stayed on the second & third floors.

We utilised the laundry service, which was decently priced and our clothes cleaned and nicely folded for us within a day.

The rooms are basic, but clean. It's not a luxury place, so don't expect that. Both fanned & air conditioned rooms are available. Rooms have individual bathrooms and showers and free wifi, which was good enough to Facetime home to Canada. Our nice cheap 400 Baht/night fanned rooms were all we needed.

The location is also amazing. It's in the north central end of the Chiang Mai square next to Wat Chiang Man (aka the Elephant Temple), a really neat place to spend some time. We walked absolutely everywhere, including the Friday & Saturday markets. Everything seemed close.

The place also serves really good food throughout the day. Unlike us, our son tired of Thai food pretty quick, so the giant pancake he had for breakfast every day at the Junior House filled him pretty good.

This place is the definition of a one stop shop. Everything you need. It really makes it hard to leave. We can't wait to return to the Junior House.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Loved this place, ended up staying an extra 2 nights. Basic but clean room, cleaned daily. Prime location in the old town but just off the main road so no noise pollution. Food served was delicious and very reasonably priced!(curry and rice 80baht, 2 croissants and jam 50baht) room service available at no extra change. Very good wifi, and the rooftop was lovely to chill. The staff were the highlight though, Tata went above and beyond from the moment we arrived, we could not have felt more welcome. He not only gave us advice and directions but also chatted to us like old friends. Would 100% go back and recommend!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nsyme1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews