We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$38
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$244
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$53
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$381
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$153
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$107
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
267
113
41
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
113
41
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstartarerooftop jacuzzifan roomgave us a mapold cityown bathroomfelt like homerecommend staying hereelephant sanctuarypad thaitataguesthousetoursthailandmotorbikebackpackerslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Not sure how this hotel gets any reviews above 1 star. The only good things about this hotel is location (though there are several other hotels on the same street and around the corner and across the street) and the air conditioner.
Now the bad:
* very dirty, the bed is only bottom sheet, pillow and a blanket that I do not think has been washed after every guest
* we stayed 4 nights and they didn't clean the room once (we had to dispose of the garbage)
* forget any decor, the walls are covered with squashed mosquitoes which should be a warning -- no matter what we tried to do (covered all the windows, killed mosquitoes) the morning was abuzz with mosquitoes and we were covered in bites
* the "balcony" houses some huge machine that would loudly turn on and any time of the day or night
* free pick up is offered, but our acquaintance had to wait 45 minutes and call multiple times to get it. We paid for our tuk-tuk ride here, but were hoping to get a free drop off at the airport (15 min ride) instead; they refused, saying no, there are rules and they do not accommodate.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alexru2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior_House, Manager at Junior Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Thank you very much for your argument. We will bring your opinion to improve our guesthouse to be better in the future.
We would like to inform about our set of regulations:
1. We clean the room and our housekeeper bring the sheet, pillow case and blanket to wash and dry every time after guests check-out as we have our own washing machine and clotheshorse on the roof top.
2. We have door knob sign in every rooms. Guests can hang on the cleaning sign side at the door knob and the housekeeper will know that guests allow to go inside and cleaning.
3. We decor the mosquito wire screen at balcony door and windows in every rooms to solve a problem of mosquitoes because we realize that we have many mosquitoes in Thailand.
4. We provide in every web sites to book the room with Junior House that we have free transportation service pick up at the airport, bus station and train station on the first day arrival start from 08:00 AM. until 19:00 PM. under the rule that guests have to inform us one day(at least 24 hours) before in advance about the pick up service. So we can arrange the transportation schedule for every guests on that day.
We would like to apologize you that we couldn't pick you up at the airport because we didn't receive any request via e-mail and phone ring from you. So we couldn't find the way to pick you up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Such a welcoming and friendly place to stay. Tata was so helpful and friendly, anything we needed he made sure to be at our service. Gave us so much advice and anything we needed to book he would sort it. Really good area- quiet but only 2 minute walk to restaurants and bars. Also hired a scooter from him and went through everything with us in case of damage or accident. Very trustworthy. Room was basic but very clean. Beds could be comfier but that's minor. Air con was good. Wifi was good. No complaints at all. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

My parents and l stayed for 4 nights n each day there is fresh towels n 2 bottles of water n at least one roll of toilet paper .There is no tea making facility in the room but the staff is ever willing to get us hot water when we requested for it. Every time we reached home we are always greeted with great smiles n welcome back - so much like coming home . The place is very well located n convinent across is a coin (20 -30B) operated laundry n if you require more there is full laundry service at 40B per kilo including ironing . It is near many restaurants and cafes within walking distance - just turn right as you walk out n you will find masseurs, cafes n at the crossroads turn left to find more masseurs with manicure n pedicure services n more restaurants n eating places . If you turn left as you go out at the end of the road there is a nice shack -football fan of Liverpool who has a nice breakfast , Across the road there is a shop that has good pork bone noodles at only 40B per bowl . There are many red Tuk Tuk in this area which will cost 20B per person to go to the town centre and various markets .

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank sushsf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

We can't rate this place highly enough! The staff make the guesthouse, super friendly and helpful, going out of their way time and time again to make your stay in Chiang Mai perfect. We booked our elephant trek and cooking class through Junior too. The room way nice, food was good and they have a Sun roof Jacuzzi too (which we took full advantage of after a day of exploring the city!).
We would only stay here on our return to Chiang Mai.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank louisesummers969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

I have never felt so welcomed into a hostel before! Stayed here with my bf for a quick stop over from Pai to the Islands and the staff from the moment we left the Tuk Tuk were fantastic! So friendly and helpful. The room was a little shabby and the fan on the ceiling did little to cool the room down but we only really used the room to sleep in. Great location too - very close to the 3 kings monument, the Sunday market, as well as the lovely Fern Forest Cafe! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catsymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews